We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveller rating
341
19
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
341
19
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla perlitarental carclose to the airportboutique hotelroom hotelgarlic shrimptaco standking roomwonderful stayour home away from homesmall poolfishjoliedanislandmexicopesos
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 366 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Dan at Casita de Maya. He helped us with any issues we had (calling the scuba diving company, renting a car) and showed us great restaurants around town. The rooms are perfect, very beautiful and comfortable. The hotel is not on the main strip, but this was actually something we enjoyed about it. The restaurants we went to were local, great prices, and great food.

We plan to come back to Cozumel and will definitely be staying at CDM again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Casita De Maya is our home away from home. It is just a short walk from the airport, no need for taxis or shared vans. As you walk through the entry you are greeted like you are family coming back home. Casita De Maya is a beautiful small hotel. Four very unique rooms that are well kept and very clean. Dan the owner is always willing to assist with any questions and has helped in planning various adventures that we wanted to do while on the island. Get out of the AI's and truly experience what this hotel has to offer! Short walk to neighborhood restaurants and local stores. Thanks again Dan for making Casita De Maya the true "gem" that it is.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JackSandyCfurMaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I truly cannot say enough good things about Casita de Maya. The owner, Dan, is a consummate host and goes out of his way to make sure that you will have a pleasant stay on the island. My wife and I stayed here for about 9 days in October of this year. The hotel is just a short walk from the airport terminal and Dan was great at helping us get set up with a rental car. While the hotel is not on a beach, my wife and I found that the best beaches are actually on the other side of the island away from the hotels (around a 20 min drive).

The rooms at Casita de Maya are well thought out and spacious. If there was anything that could possibly want or need, Dan was always there to take care of us.

Dan has a cook, Danielle, who made us wonderful meals every morning and even cooked a delicious lobster dinner for us one night.

Casita de May is a gem worth considering. I've stayed at many expensive hotels all over the world, but I can't think of one that I enjoyed more than Casita de Maya.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank RyanTarkington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My husband and I arrived at Casita De Maya on October 9th, 2013. As soon as we got out of the cab Dan, Daniel, and Dan's little helper guy met us at the curb. Dan had our bags taken, ordered drinks for us, and proceeded to walk us to our room. Service from the start! Our room was very nicely decorated and equipped with everything we needed. The bed was soooo comfortable. Dan has gone the extra mile to make sure guests get a good nights sleep! Dan and Daniel worked very hard to make certain our every need was met while we were in Cozumel. Everything from helping with a car rental, to connecting us with a very reputable place for pasa-sailing, to snorkel gear was available just at the mention of it. Daniel made delicious breakfasts for us every morning and many dinners as well. You will find no better chef on Cozumel. We were pampered and spoiled rotten to the point that we wanted to bring him home with us.

Daniel also took time to teach us as much Spanish and Maya as possible in the week we were there.

The Casita De Maya is a beautiful little slice of heaven tucked neatly away in a residential area of Cozumel very near the airport. Even so I don't think we heard planes our whole time there. It has 4 rooms right now with 2 more being added on the roof of the existing building. Once you walk through the gates you forget you are in the middle of a busy neighborhood. The bar area and pool are landscaped nicely with palm trees and other tropical plants that give you almost a jungle feel. Pictures really cannot do it justice. It's one of those places you have to experience for yourself to fully appreciate. We spend a LOT of time in the pool.

This is our 3rd trip to Cozumel and the first time we have stayed at a "non-resort" hotel. As long as Casita De Maya is available... we will never go to a resort again!

Much love to Dan and please send Daniel to Missouri!

Lourie and Darren

Room Tip: There is currently only 1 king room and it has a terrace with a nice table and chairs at which to have meals and drinks. If it is available GET IT! It's not much more but the terrace and table are worth a LOT!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DDreamsOfIsla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This place is an incredible hotel. Dan is awesome. The hotel really pays attention to details and is the perfect place to stay. When we come back to Cozumel I wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else! The food here is great also. This is the perfect hotel and there is a reason it is #1 on tripadvisor even over all the super expensive hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mauraholcomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews