We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveller rating
341
19
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
341
19
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla perlitarental carclose to the airportboutique hotelroom hotelgarlic shrimptaco standking roomwonderful stayour home away from homesmall poolfishjoliedanislandmexicopesos
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 366 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Neighborhood was safe and authentically Mexican, not touristy- we loved it. Great host and cook, there for our Every need. Clean, pretty rooms and small, pristine fresh water pool. A home away from home. More opportunity to really learn about the real Cozumel. Reasonable prices made our stay perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia4141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

That phrase is one of owner Dan's favorite. There are many reasons to love Casita de Maya, but Dan is number one. Dan is a caring, generous, intelligent man with a great sense of humor. He will help you with anything. He walked with is to stores in town, helped us rent a car, upgraded us to the king room at no charge for six nights because it was empty, told us the best ATM to use to get pesos (a short walk to the airport), set us up with a reputable, safe dive shop (Deep Blue), gave us sunscreen when we ran out,...... the list is endless. I consider Dan a good friend. It really is like staying at a friends place.
Daniel, who lives nearby, comes every morning, puts the coffee on and will cook breakfast for any guests who want it. He will also come back and make dinner if anyone wants it. A great cook, I enjoyed him even more for the chats in Spanish every morning. I would get up before anyone else, grab a coffee and practice my espanol with him, all the while laughing at his 'bromas' (jokes). I miss him already.
Jolie ( sorry if it's miss-spelled ) cleans the rooms and also is very helpful. She called us a taxi one day when Dan was busy with other guests.
The Casita is charming and comfortable. A new room is opening very soon up on the roof, with a cool bar area up there as well.
We actually enjoyed the location of the Casita. Airport noise is not a factor. The airport is tiny. We walked through town a lot and it's very safe. The people there are friendly and welcoming. And no matter where you stay in Cozumel, the only way to see the sights is either rent a car or take cabs. They have both covered at Casita de Maya. They call a cab for you and it's there in five minutes, and a good price on a car rental is right next door. It's all good!
Thanks again to Dan, Daniel and Jolie for a wonderful 10 days in Cozumel at Casita de Maya! No adios, solamente hasta pronto!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StPaulMnBeachbum32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

It is difficult to say anything bad about Casita de Maya. We arrived on foot (it's a very short walk from the airport) and forgot to get cash from the ATM machine. The owner Dan walked back to the airport with me to assist with the ATM machine - what a great host! With every turn, Dan went out of his way and assisted us with restaurant recommendations, getting a rental car, driving us in our rental to show us the way to easily get around to the other side of the island, and suggesting places to stop along the way. He is without a doubt dedicated to his customers!

And his chef Daniel - what an incredible gentleman and accomplished cook! He tried to teach me Spanish in order make me feel more comfortable with the language. I was grateful to him for many things he did during our stay. We usually gave him notice about what we wanted for breakfast and/or dinner - and each meal he prepared was delicious. One meal however we did not give him notice at all and yet he managed to serve us a delicious meal anyway. His drinks were wonderful ... I even started making margaritas at home with the excellent tequila he purchased for us. He offered to buy Tequila for us at better prices than the duty free shop at the airport.

One recommendation I would make to is replace some of the pool side furniture (although they functioned quite well). Some of it is a little outdated in style and the chairs are worn and faded, maybe from the hot sun. Other than that small improvement, Casita De Maya is a great place to stay and very reasonable in price. Like I said - it felt like a home away from home!

Room Tip: The king size room at the end of the hotel is lovely! There are two more rooms under construction overlooking the pool on the second floor, which will be very private as well.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel33871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Casita de Maya is a sweet and characterful little place to stay - it's more like staying in someone's home than a hotel, in a good way! Dan, the owner, takes great care over all the little details that make for a comfortable stay - and couldn't have been more helpful or friendlier, giving us excellent recommendations for local restaurants and places of interest. We're very grateful to have met Dan and stayed in the Casita de Maya.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ThomasandLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This was our first week in Cozumel for our first scuba outing and, assuming that this island was a bit of a tourist trap, we were very pleasantly surprised. The tourist area is actually quite limited and there is still a lot of authentic Cozumel left once you pass the first few streets off the main waterfront area. This is where the Casita de Maya is located, away from the crowds yet within walking distance from the airport. We chose it for our stay because of the recommendations in Tripadvisor and we came to find out that our experience fully supports the glowing reviews. Dan is a great host who was there for all our questions and more: he even gave my husband a pair of readers after he told him he lost his glasses! Daniel cooked our breakfast in the morning and delivered it on his motor bike in the pouring rain. And (if you remember the last line of Sendak's "Where the Wild Things Are") - it was still hot! We also enjoyed the fact that this hotel only has 4 rooms (soon to be 6) and that you get to socialize a bit with the other guests. In sum, if you like a personal touch in an intimate environment, look no further.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank reintje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews