We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Their motto "Welcome to paradise"”
Review of Casita de Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casita de Maya
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Alamo, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Their motto "Welcome to paradise"”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

There is so much to say! From May 4th thru May 16th Casita de Maya was my home. I was travelling alone for the first few days and my family was concerned. They learned when they arrived that their concern was unwarranted.
I arrived about noon. As I walked into the courtyard I was greeted by Daniel who scolded me for not calling him for help in pulling my luggage from the airport. I had not considered such service a possibility. Daniel was warm and welcoming and said my room was ready. He made me a great margarita and said to sit & relax. I did just that as he had my luggage taken to my room.
When he returned, he handed me a lanyard with two keys which I placed around my neck. I never misplaced or had to look for keys during my entire visit. That was a first.

Casita de Maya is located on a quiet street which is bordered on the other side by a cement wall.
There was very little traffic. All of the rooms except the upstairs "KING" room are situated along an open courtyard which is appointed with a pool, well maintained foliage, a rattan seating area next to the bar and many tables for either dining, playing games or conversing. Very relaxing with a great breeze.

Daniel and his chef son and family are excellent cooks. He has a menu you can order from and you give him your order for the current or next day and tell him what time. There are no set eating times. The lobster and shrimp are fantastic along with the guacamole and pico de gallo.
Also the vegetables are cooked to perfection. Lobster, shrimp, baked potato & vegetables were
my choice more than once. The lobster was perfect, not dry or rubbery as I have sometimes had in your better seafood restaurants in the states.

Before leaving in the evening, Daniel prepares the coffee pot in the courtyard for the next morning. You just "hit the red button" when you get up. Gotta love it!

The rooms are a good size with plenty of storage for sports equipment. The A.C. is mounted close to the ceiling, very quiet and remote controlled. There is also a frige, microwave, iron, ironing board, clock, hair dryer and a dispenser full of body wash, shampoo and conditioner mounted on the wall of the shower. In the courtyard, there are shelves of movies in both English and Spanish and an array of board games and cards for their guests enjoyment.


Dan was such a host. Always willing to provide information and suggestions to help you customize your trip. When we asked about scuba, he recommended we talk to Gary, his long time friend, at Blue Wave. Dan called Gary, we set an appointment for that afternoon and went on a scuba dive the next morning. Because we were inexperienced divers, Gary set us up for the first dive with Chaki as our divemaster. She was absolutely wonderful with all four of us. My son went on a 2 tank dive with her 2 days later.

When we decided to rent a car, Dan put us in touch with Mario at Blueway car rental next door.
Mario was attentive to our needs and the rental was smooth and without surprises. Mario got our car switched when we decided we needed an automatic instead of a straight shift.

We decided to try the fish foot spa. Again, Dan had a friend in the business close to where we would be snorkeling that day so it was an easy deal. I think Dan knows just about everyone on the Island and the benefit of his experience was such a big help in our planning. Dan is a busy man but never to busy to help with a suggestion or directions and guidance.

In addition to Dan, Daniel and Mario, there was Jolie who takes care of the rooms always there to ask if you need anything. And wonderful Elvis who shows up to work in the afternoons on his scooter and is sometimes available for an occasional errand or tour.

Before my daughter arrived, she asked me if Casita de Maya met my expectations. I laughed and told her it surpassed my expectations...I joked that I thought if I asked for the moon, someone at Casita would try to provide it. I took comfort in feeling that regardless of where I was on Cozumel or what I was doing, I had friends & advocates in "Paradise".

I can't thank ALL of them enough for their kindness, consideration & patience. I hope to see all again in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: All of the rooms here are great, the biggest one being upstairs where there is another bar and sunde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mazie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    18
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
184
30
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kentucky
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We walked from the airport to the Casita. Daniel greeted us and our 2nd floor room was ready on arrival. We enjoyed the patio above the pool for wifi (poor reception in the room). What is not to like about Daniel? He treated us like family and guests. We chose La Perlita for dinner--nice stroll in the local neighborhood. We took a taxi to Mega Store for some wine and got back just in time for the rain. I never got to use their pool but it was fine for a little foot dangling. The rooms are well-tended and my favorite lazy [useless] cat was there for me to pet on demand. We could hang out in the courtyard or up on the patio. Watch those steps to the 2nd floor--just a bit tricky at the top. Beware that if it rains, the tile up there could be very dangerous. Just enjoy the atmosphere and definitely get one of Daniel's margaritas--WOOHOO!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

In short, yes it can! "Island Dan" has brought Casita de Maya to a new level, both literally and figuratively.

A new Suite has been added at the hotel that adorns the second level. This room is just outstanding, not to mention the best bargain on the Island. The room, which I affectionetly call the "Ritz" may be Dan's crowning achievement. In addition, a bar and lounging area has also been added to the second level, and there is a rumor that a hottub may show up in the future. The second level addition is all about romance, fun and privacy if you desire. Now add Daniel's mastery in the kitchen, with Casita's new menu topped with Daniel's special Marguritas, plus Jolees's special and maticulous touch, and the best just got better.

A few years back CNN named Casita de Maya one of the top romantic getaways in the world, well they need to return to give the Hotel its just do, and name it, "The Best Romantic Getaway in the World" for it truley is.

Lastly, read the other reviews and you will see the affection that the guests have for Dan and the staff. This was my ninth stay in five years and I can't wait to get back.

Room Tip: Try the new Suite on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doctormike60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Dan (Canadian) and Daniel (local chef) are fantastic hosts of this small B&B. They go out of their way to make you feel comfortable, safe, and with all the insider information to make the most of your trip.

Everything is excellent in terms of the room - big, clean, comfy bed, strong internet & AC, unlimited water, modern bathroom, clean pool. The breakfast is wonderful. The common spaces are a bit cluttered and host pets... Probably just like your house. The staff are paid very well it seems, really treated like family. You can feel good supporting local, hard working families rather than a foreign owned giant travel corporation.

The key drawback for me is the location. Yes, conveniently by the airport and out of the tourist areas or the main town -- but a car or taxi is required to get around, really nothing in terms of beaches or restaurants is in convenient walking distance. Especially given the price relative to other small hotels (on the beach or closer to town), it's a little to far/much for me.

Overall, an excellent choice if you prefer a B&B with excellent service, no hassles, and a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Stay in the back or top floor for more privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank citymusiclover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Our first stop in Mexico, a perfect place to unwind.
Located near the airport it is easily reachable by foot so don't waste your money on a taxi!
The staff is friendly and helpful and love to chat and joke with you.
The rooms are spacious, neatly decorated, and clean.
We only ate breakfast there but enjoyed it quite a bit.
They have a deal with the car rental right next door which is very convenient as you can walk out of the hotel and sit in a vehicle within 5 - 10 minutes.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pontuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Thanks Dan and Daniel for providing my boyfriend and I an incredicly relaxing and supportive trip to Cozumel. We couldn't have done it without your advice on where to go and how to get there. Also, Daniel's breakfasts and cocktails were amazing! The place is so peaceful and everyone that stays there appreciates Casita as much as we did which made it such a great experience. The nightly dips in the pool and the clean and organized rooms made it that much more special. We will definitely be back some day!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ksaphir27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I booked this hotel based on the previous reviews. They were spot-on! The folks who "care" for this place don't just "work there," they do their individual best every day. Eight days flew by. If you want genuine friendly, authentically laid back, with a sense of humor, a lump of understanding, and consistently helpful . . . this is the place. If you're a party animal....go book an all-inclusive, we'll all be happier.
We booked the NEW room, and thoroughly enjoyed it, the folks, the dog and cat, the views, the advice. We sincerely appreciated the tips and advice from Dan, from Daniel, and from Mario next door at Blueway Car Rental. We loaded up in a little rental car, took the Map from our balcony and set off for adventures EVERY day. And every day when we returned, it felt like home. Our balcony was amazing, the coffee terrific, beer cold. The room was kept spotless because Jollie is an angel on earth. . . clean, folded laundry waiting on the bed. wow!
I rated 4 stars because there were no bathtubs/hot tub. I get cold easily, and really like a hot bath...every night.
Don't forget to visit Playa Azul! And yes, we walked to the hotel from the Airport...with our luggage-piece of cake!

Room Tip: It's close to the airport....but we're not there during the day, and there are no night flig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank azCelestina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.4 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,041 reviews
4.5 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Villas Las Anclas
Villas Las Anclas
#2 of 52 in Cozumel
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel B Cozumel
Hotel B Cozumel
#21 of 52 in Cozumel
769 reviews
1.0 mi away
Flamingo Hotel
Flamingo Hotel
#19 of 52 in Cozumel
498 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 52 in Cozumel
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casita de Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casita de Maya

Property: Casita de Maya
Address: 65 Ave. Bis x Blvd. Aeropuerto | Quintana Roo. #420, Cozumel 77620, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casita de Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casita de Maya is the only hotel within walking distance from Cozumel International Airport, yet far enough to enjoy the quiet splendor of Cozumel. Providing the elite and casual traveler with clean, safe, and comfortable air conditioned accommodations. Our guest can enjoy easy access to Taxi Service, Rental cars, Tours and Island Excursions, conveniently located to fine Local Dining. We provide our Travaler's a unique experience into the real Mexican culture. Now Free Internet/Phone calls to USA/Canada ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casita de Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casita De Maya Cozumel
Casita De Maya Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing