We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casita de Maya
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Cozumel and Resort(Cozumel)
US$116
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Suites Colonial(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$169
US$126
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Allegro Cozumel(Cozumel)
US$148
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$69
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Mexicana Cozumel(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cozumel Palace(Cozumel)
US$456
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$284
US$266
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$340
US$164
bedfinder
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (355)
Filter reviews
355 results
Traveller rating
331
19
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
331
19
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla perlitarental carclose to the airportreal cozumelboutique hotelowner danroom hoteltaco standgarlic shrimpking roomhome away from homeother guestslobster dinnerwonderful staysmall poolthe entire stafffish
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
267 - 272 of 355 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2010

Helen Keller said, “The best and most beautiful things in the world cannot be seen or even touched. They must be felt with the heart.” My husband and I arrived Christmas Day and spent 4 nights at Casita de Maya. The greatest feature about staying at this wonderful little hotel is the fantastically charming person behind it all - Dan.

I can honestly say that every great review you’ll read is true! He genuinely cares about his clients, goes way above and beyond your expectations and you will feel as though you are staying with an old friend. From the moment we set foot inside Casita de Maya, we knew we had made the right decision. Dan was there to assist us with everything from a jeep rental to calling us taxis, to restaurant recommendations, to helping us set up dives with one of the local dive shops and on and on. When we arrived, he greeted us and made us feel so welcome and immediately comfortable in the hotel. After Dan explained all the features of the room and the property, my husband asked him where we could go to get a cold beer. Dan told us we could get them just around the corner. Then he disappeared for a few minutes and returned with two cold bottles of beer for us! We thought this was such a kind gesture.

About the rooms and hotel: The rooms are spotless, cozy, beautifully decorated and have everything one might need including a spacious shower, hair dryer, ample space for your belongings, small fridge, clean water, a/c and fan, TV, microwave, plates, glasses and utensils (even an ironing board and iron - I know because my husband used them to iron one of his shirts one night!) The pool in the middle of the hotel is clean, cool and inviting and we also enjoyed sitting in the lounge area where we could relax, have a couple of cold cervezas, play games, listen to music via XM Radio and talk amongst ourselves or with the other guests. Jolie, who is just as sweet as she can be, does a terrific job of keeping everything looking great inside the rooms and out and the hotel itself is extremely safe and secure. Of course, I could never forget Trixie, the dog or Kitty, the cat, who kept us company and were just a delight to be around!

Dan’s advice and recommendations were priceless. Dan suggested we see the east side of the island and one of his friends, Mike, told us about a place called Playa Bonita where there is a restaurant overlooking the sea. So, we rented a jeep and away we went. When we got to Playa Bonita, we were lucky enough to get a table right at the front of the restaurant. The view was incredible, the food was delicious and upon leaving, we stopped to thank the owner, David, who was behind the bar. When we told him who had recommended his place, his face lit up and he immediately poured us two shots of his best tequilla - on the house! From there, we went to Rasta’s (Bob Marley’s Bar as it is also known) to have a beer and watch the sunset. The waves were fantastic and we managed to see a few surfers while there. It was one of our favorite days. I must mention two other places to eat that Dan recommended - Perlita’s, which is just a short walk from Casita de Maya, is a fantastic little place for authentic seafood at prices you won’t believe! The fish tacos are to die for. Show them Dan’s card and get a free margarita that is out of this world. We liked it so much we went back twice! Then of course, there is the legendary Diego’s. We LOVED having breakfast at Diego’s every day! It is definitely the best on the island, hands down. Plus, meeting Diego is a treat in itself as he is just as warm and friendly as Dan and his two little girls are absolutely beautiful. We so enjoyed getting to know him and again, we were treated like family.

One day, as we were headed out for a dive, we were talking to Dan and found out it was his 50th birthday. That evening, we went to a pastry shop in town and came back with a few goodies. We sat around the pool drinking beer and eating treats as we celebrated Dan’s day with the other guests, chatting and laughing the whole time. Out of the four nights we spent in Cozumel, that was our favorite. Once more, we felt right at home.

The day before we left Cozumel for Isla Holbox, we went to Tulum, which was absolutely majestic, had views that were stunning and was well worth the trip! Unfortunately, because we stayed until dusk I got eaten alive by bugs so badly that my ankles started to swell. The next morning we had a 10 a.m. flight but before we left, Dan drove me to THREE pharmacies to look for medication. When I was able to find a topical cream but no antihistamine, Dan drove to his house to get me some Benadryl. We also wanted to stop and have breakfast at Diego’s one last time. As we were saying our goodbyes, Diego put his hands to his chest and said to us, “You will be in my heart.” I don’t think I can put into words how touched we were.

This is truly an incredible little place in the world and our only regret is that we didn’t stay longer. We really were sad to leave! There is a reason that Casita de Maya ranks Number 1 out of all hotels in Cozumel on Tripadvisor.com and that reason is Dan Komorosky. I am telling you, this man is extraordinary! Everything he does is done with care and compassion and we, as travelers are forever changed because of it.

Dan, we can’t thank you enough for everything. Mil Gracias! We look forward to staying with our friends at Casita de Maya again very soon!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RDUTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2009

All the great reviews here are true…What more can be said? Dan, does indeed, live up to his legendary status within these reviews. He was waiting for us upon arrival. We were starving after our day of travel so Dan took us over to La Perlita and hung out and had a drink with us, helped us order our food (we only speak “un poco espanol”), and gave us a quick rundown of the island. After his drink, he left us to our meal. Speaking of our meal, we ordered (with Dan’s help) the catch of the day which was a HUGE fish that filled a turkey platter, served with rice, guacamole, and corn tortillas. It was absolutely spectacular. On another day, we decided we wanted to just eat in, but the pizza place that delivered was closed. Dan recommended another pizza place that didn’t deliver but he went and picked up the pizza for us! It was these little personal touches Dan provided that helped to make us feel at home.

Now, onto Casita de Maya itself. Beautifully decorated, cozy and inviting. We stayed in the lovely King room with lush bedding. The pool/courtyard was a beautiful place to relax. As other reviewers have mentioned, even though it is across from the airport, you won’t hear any planes. We did walk all the way to the town square one night, which took about 30 minutes. If you aren’t into walking that far, a cab will only cost a few dollars. Regardless, we enjoyed the location, far enough away from the cruise ship madness, but close enough that we could venture out if we desired. In fact, it is relatively quick and inexpensive to get a cab to anywhere on the island except maybe the eastern shore. If renting a car is more your speed, Dan can help you with that, too.

Trixie the dog and Kitty served as co-hosts and helped us feel a tad less homesick for the furry kids we left at home. Be sure to ask to see Trixie “stretch” and “moonwalk!”

Diego (just around the corner) served up excellent Huevos Rancheros and Chiliquiles for breakfast. I am convinced he serves the best black beans on the planet. You certainly won’t be hungry for awhile after eating a hearty breakfast at Diego’s.

We are already looking forward to our next Cozumel vacation. And we will look no further than Casita de Maya. See you in 2011, Dan!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SnowBelters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2009

My husband and I spent four nights in the king-sized bed room and have nothing but wonderful things to say about the room, Dan (the owner) and our treatment. The bed, pillows and linens were all very comfortable. The amenities in the room were all nice and very homelike. Free calls to the US were a wonderful convenience to us and utilized without problems other than occasionally needing to sit in the courtyard for reception. The location is right across the street from the airport but we never heard a plane. As the location is not downtown, you either have to walk downtown which is a bit of a walk(which we did a couple of days) or ask for a taxi (around $3 US each way).

Dan, the host with the most, is unbelievably attentive and helpful. My husband and I travel quite a bit and we have never had anything close to the type of service we received here, including at fancy resorts. I truly cannot say enough about him! Mention also has to be made of Diego, who runs the restaurant around the corner. Diego was as accomodating of us as Dan. One morning, we needed to leave for diving before Diego even opened so Dan placed an order with him the night before and Diego came in early, made us breakfast and delivered it to our room...again, all before he was even scheduled to open!

This is not a large, fancy resort with restaurants and bars in the lobby. This is a quaint, unpretentious boutique hotel with four guest rooms. If you are looking for resort amenities on site, this is not your place. If, like us, you want a quiet and romantic place where you have a good chance of being the only people in the pool, I cannot recommend this place more. And, if you go, pet Trixie for us!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saxonct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2009

We REALLY enjoyed our stay at Casita de Maya! We typically stay at beachfront 5 star resorts, but this changed our minds. Dan the owner was incredibly helpful: he exchanged our dollars for pesos, walked down to the local beer joint with us to buy beer for our in-room fridge, pointed us to several great local restaurants, and did so much for us when my husband lost his wallet: driving to the restaurants we'd gone to, calling all the places we'd visited, etc. (a tourist found it in a cab -- the kindness of strangers!). The experience was so unique, staying in a Mexican neighborhood rather than a remote resort somewhere. It was great to just walk a few blocks & make friends with local vendors, speaking only Spanish & enjoying a non-touristy experience. We really loved Trixie the dog, who followed us to Diego's restaurant & La Perlita, the best seafood restaurant on the island (according to us AND the fabulous chef of Kinta, who said it's his favorite place on the island).
The only downside was the roughness of the sheets & towels, & the $14 round trip cab ride each time we needed to get to the center of town. But that's a small price to pay for the incredible service & laid-back atmosphere Dan provides, and the price point for an island destination. Kitty & Trixie the dog round out the experience, and Jolie the cleaning lady & her daughter Leydi were a joy. Overall a great investment!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c_stanford1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan_Kom, Relations Director at Casita de Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2009

We at Casita de Maya would like to thank you for the review and do appreciate the feedback from your stay with us. I would like to clear a few things for those who might get sidetracked. The normal Taxi fare to downtown Cozumel Proper costs between 2 to 4 Dollars maximum. The 14 US Taxi fare the the above was referring to was the cost to the International Pier, where the dive shop was located. Therefore, the correct fare was applied.

All of our Towels and Linen's are purchased in the USA, and have a minimum thread count of 250 or higher, and most bear the Ralph Lauren Label.

Therefore, we will pay more attention to ensure that our products will provide the maximum comfort and feel. Thank you for your kind words and input about our facility.

Sincerely.

Dan Komorosky
Relations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

If you come to Cozumel and don't stay at Casita de Maya you are missing out. Dan is wonderful and will get you anything you need. Try the tacos at Diego's taco stand right outside (delicious) or go to his restaurant right around the corner (equally delicious). This place has everything you could possibly want, at a much better price than the big resorts. It is more like staying with a friend than staying at a hotel. We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niccisix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews