We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's just as good the second time around.”
Review of Casita de Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casita de Maya
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2010

There is a reason Dan is rated #1... He makes you feel at home. This was our second trip; the 1st being in March 2008. The secret sauce to Casita de Maya's success is the continued improvement Dan makes to his hotel combined with a social environment which encourages guests to get to know one another and become friends.
Feel free to contact me for detailed information on why I am so impressed with Dan, his staff, and the way he runs his hotel.

Don Romeri

Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank arcodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2010

When searching for a hotel in Cozumel, Casita de Maya is #1 for many reasons. The room and the hotel are very clean. It is located in a neighborhood, which is exactly what we were looking for during our stay in Cozumel. It is within walking distance from the small airport on the island. Although the hotel is quite close to the airport, we rarely heard any noise from airplanes. The hotel is a short cab ride to the town center. For those who frequently walk, you will find the walk through the neighborhoods on your way to the town center to be a good experience.

Dan, the owner, makes this hotel a special place. From the moment we arrived, he made us feel very welcome. After a long day of travel and some sightseeing we were looking forward to trying some local cuisine. Dan provided us with a recommendation for a nearby seafood restaurant called La Perla. We called Dan to ask him exactly how to find the restaurant and he proceeded to tell us that he would meet us at the hotel in 10 minutes. Dan showed up and instead of giving us directions, he offered to drive us there himself. He escorted us to the restaurant and introduced us to the staff. We each promptly received a complimentary margarita and Dan stayed for a few minutes to make sure we had what he needed. We were pleasantly surprised when the waiter handed us menus in English. We ended up ordering ceviche and the seafood platter. The ceviche was the best we had in Cozumel or Playa del Carmen. The seafood platter was large and delicious.

The next day we spoke with Dan regarding recommendations for what do on the island. He suggested that we rent a car and drive around the island so that we could enjoy the beach, snorkeling, and a nice lunch. He also recommended a place for lunch called Coconuts, which was a bar and grill overlooking the ocean. This place had good food and an incredible view. Dan even arranged for a rental car for us. We obtained a good rate for the day and Pepe, the rental car agent, waived the cost of insurance for us since we were staying at Dan's hotel. Although the car did not have power steering, it was clean, had excellent air conditioning, and tinted windows. It worked out perfectly for our driving tour of the island. Along the way we found a roadside shop that specialized in handmade Mayan and Aztec pottery. We met the father and son who make all of the pieces by hand. The prices were extremely reasonable and we found nothing like our purchases in other places in Cozumel or Playa. When we mentioned our purchases to Dan we discovered that he had shopped at the same place in order to decorate the hotel.

No review of Casita de Maya would be complete without mentioning Diego's restaurant. Dan and Trixie (Dan's dog) walked us over to Diego's the first morning of our stay. Trixie stayed with us during our whole meal. We went to Diego's everyday for breakfast. Diego is a very interesting, warm, and kind person who also happens to be an excellent cook. We were impressed with his English speaking ability. The food was very fresh and we really enjoyed the homemade papaya milkshakes.

Overall, we highly recommend this hotel. Dan demonstrated many times how much he cares about his guests. He made sure we had everything we needed during our stay. It was such a pleasure meeting and getting to know Dan. If we are fortunate enough to have the opportunity to return to Cozumel, Casita de Maya is the only place we would stay.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2010

Firstly, let us thank Dan for being the best host. He made us so welcome and comfortable in his place without fussing, we felt at home. Jolie looked after our room which was spacious, large bed, with nice furnishings and amenities. The pool was lovely and a short walk to the nearest supermarket for everything you need. The room has a decent sized fridge so you can prepare snacks and drinks anytime you want.

Dan's bar area is for congregating, taking your coffee, sharing stories with other guests and playing music while languishing in the pool. Trixie, Dan's beloved dog is always around for a pat. Wilbur tends to the building and Leonardo swings by with stories of fishing, and his other antics. Around the corner you have Diego's Taquieria for authentic mexican food. We were lucky enough to sample some lobster which he prepared especially for us along with bringing in a bottle of wine.

If you want beachfront, all-inclusive, standard evening entertainment you wont choose this place. Which is great for the rest of us who have discovered Dan's place. Because we will definitely return if we get to this part of the world again. And thanks Dan for bringing our forgotten passports over on the ferry. All part of his service, charm, hospitality and lovely personality. Oh and girl's, he's single (sorry Dan, couldn't help myself!)

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rylla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

My wife and I spent 4 nights at Casita over the New Years holiday. All the reviews are spot-on. It's a great little hotel tucked into a real Cozumel neighborhood. We considered staying at an all-inclusive hotel, but we were so happy we did not. We really enjoyed exploring the island -- especially the east side. Renting a VW Bug and touring the island is a must. Dan and his crew were super helpful and were always available to give an assist. They were the difference between seeing tourist Cozumel vs real-life Cozumel. We both remarked on how genuinely friendly the locals are and how safe the island is. Keep all the craziness in Cancun -- we loved the vibe in Cozumel. Thanks again to Dan, Sergio, Pecas, Diego, Jolene, Wilbur, Trixie, and Kitty.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taj-jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

Helen Keller said, “The best and most beautiful things in the world cannot be seen or even touched. They must be felt with the heart.” My husband and I arrived Christmas Day and spent 4 nights at Casita de Maya. The greatest feature about staying at this wonderful little hotel is the fantastically charming person behind it all - Dan.

I can honestly say that every great review you’ll read is true! He genuinely cares about his clients, goes way above and beyond your expectations and you will feel as though you are staying with an old friend. From the moment we set foot inside Casita de Maya, we knew we had made the right decision. Dan was there to assist us with everything from a jeep rental to calling us taxis, to restaurant recommendations, to helping us set up dives with one of the local dive shops and on and on. When we arrived, he greeted us and made us feel so welcome and immediately comfortable in the hotel. After Dan explained all the features of the room and the property, my husband asked him where we could go to get a cold beer. Dan told us we could get them just around the corner. Then he disappeared for a few minutes and returned with two cold bottles of beer for us! We thought this was such a kind gesture.

About the rooms and hotel: The rooms are spotless, cozy, beautifully decorated and have everything one might need including a spacious shower, hair dryer, ample space for your belongings, small fridge, clean water, a/c and fan, TV, microwave, plates, glasses and utensils (even an ironing board and iron - I know because my husband used them to iron one of his shirts one night!) The pool in the middle of the hotel is clean, cool and inviting and we also enjoyed sitting in the lounge area where we could relax, have a couple of cold cervezas, play games, listen to music via XM Radio and talk amongst ourselves or with the other guests. Jolie, who is just as sweet as she can be, does a terrific job of keeping everything looking great inside the rooms and out and the hotel itself is extremely safe and secure. Of course, I could never forget Trixie, the dog or Kitty, the cat, who kept us company and were just a delight to be around!

Dan’s advice and recommendations were priceless. Dan suggested we see the east side of the island and one of his friends, Mike, told us about a place called Playa Bonita where there is a restaurant overlooking the sea. So, we rented a jeep and away we went. When we got to Playa Bonita, we were lucky enough to get a table right at the front of the restaurant. The view was incredible, the food was delicious and upon leaving, we stopped to thank the owner, David, who was behind the bar. When we told him who had recommended his place, his face lit up and he immediately poured us two shots of his best tequilla - on the house! From there, we went to Rasta’s (Bob Marley’s Bar as it is also known) to have a beer and watch the sunset. The waves were fantastic and we managed to see a few surfers while there. It was one of our favorite days. I must mention two other places to eat that Dan recommended - Perlita’s, which is just a short walk from Casita de Maya, is a fantastic little place for authentic seafood at prices you won’t believe! The fish tacos are to die for. Show them Dan’s card and get a free margarita that is out of this world. We liked it so much we went back twice! Then of course, there is the legendary Diego’s. We LOVED having breakfast at Diego’s every day! It is definitely the best on the island, hands down. Plus, meeting Diego is a treat in itself as he is just as warm and friendly as Dan and his two little girls are absolutely beautiful. We so enjoyed getting to know him and again, we were treated like family.

One day, as we were headed out for a dive, we were talking to Dan and found out it was his 50th birthday. That evening, we went to a pastry shop in town and came back with a few goodies. We sat around the pool drinking beer and eating treats as we celebrated Dan’s day with the other guests, chatting and laughing the whole time. Out of the four nights we spent in Cozumel, that was our favorite. Once more, we felt right at home.

The day before we left Cozumel for Isla Holbox, we went to Tulum, which was absolutely majestic, had views that were stunning and was well worth the trip! Unfortunately, because we stayed until dusk I got eaten alive by bugs so badly that my ankles started to swell. The next morning we had a 10 a.m. flight but before we left, Dan drove me to THREE pharmacies to look for medication. When I was able to find a topical cream but no antihistamine, Dan drove to his house to get me some Benadryl. We also wanted to stop and have breakfast at Diego’s one last time. As we were saying our goodbyes, Diego put his hands to his chest and said to us, “You will be in my heart.” I don’t think I can put into words how touched we were.

This is truly an incredible little place in the world and our only regret is that we didn’t stay longer. We really were sad to leave! There is a reason that Casita de Maya ranks Number 1 out of all hotels in Cozumel on Tripadvisor.com and that reason is Dan Komorosky. I am telling you, this man is extraordinary! Everything he does is done with care and compassion and we, as travelers are forever changed because of it.

Dan, we can’t thank you enough for everything. Mil Gracias! We look forward to staying with our friends at Casita de Maya again very soon!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RDUTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2009

All the great reviews here are true…What more can be said? Dan, does indeed, live up to his legendary status within these reviews. He was waiting for us upon arrival. We were starving after our day of travel so Dan took us over to La Perlita and hung out and had a drink with us, helped us order our food (we only speak “un poco espanol”), and gave us a quick rundown of the island. After his drink, he left us to our meal. Speaking of our meal, we ordered (with Dan’s help) the catch of the day which was a HUGE fish that filled a turkey platter, served with rice, guacamole, and corn tortillas. It was absolutely spectacular. On another day, we decided we wanted to just eat in, but the pizza place that delivered was closed. Dan recommended another pizza place that didn’t deliver but he went and picked up the pizza for us! It was these little personal touches Dan provided that helped to make us feel at home.

Now, onto Casita de Maya itself. Beautifully decorated, cozy and inviting. We stayed in the lovely King room with lush bedding. The pool/courtyard was a beautiful place to relax. As other reviewers have mentioned, even though it is across from the airport, you won’t hear any planes. We did walk all the way to the town square one night, which took about 30 minutes. If you aren’t into walking that far, a cab will only cost a few dollars. Regardless, we enjoyed the location, far enough away from the cruise ship madness, but close enough that we could venture out if we desired. In fact, it is relatively quick and inexpensive to get a cab to anywhere on the island except maybe the eastern shore. If renting a car is more your speed, Dan can help you with that, too.

Trixie the dog and Kitty served as co-hosts and helped us feel a tad less homesick for the furry kids we left at home. Be sure to ask to see Trixie “stretch” and “moonwalk!”

Diego (just around the corner) served up excellent Huevos Rancheros and Chiliquiles for breakfast. I am convinced he serves the best black beans on the planet. You certainly won’t be hungry for awhile after eating a hearty breakfast at Diego’s.

We are already looking forward to our next Cozumel vacation. And we will look no further than Casita de Maya. See you in 2011, Dan!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SnowBelters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2009

My husband and I spent four nights in the king-sized bed room and have nothing but wonderful things to say about the room, Dan (the owner) and our treatment. The bed, pillows and linens were all very comfortable. The amenities in the room were all nice and very homelike. Free calls to the US were a wonderful convenience to us and utilized without problems other than occasionally needing to sit in the courtyard for reception. The location is right across the street from the airport but we never heard a plane. As the location is not downtown, you either have to walk downtown which is a bit of a walk(which we did a couple of days) or ask for a taxi (around $3 US each way).

Dan, the host with the most, is unbelievably attentive and helpful. My husband and I travel quite a bit and we have never had anything close to the type of service we received here, including at fancy resorts. I truly cannot say enough about him! Mention also has to be made of Diego, who runs the restaurant around the corner. Diego was as accomodating of us as Dan. One morning, we needed to leave for diving before Diego even opened so Dan placed an order with him the night before and Diego came in early, made us breakfast and delivered it to our room...again, all before he was even scheduled to open!

This is not a large, fancy resort with restaurants and bars in the lobby. This is a quaint, unpretentious boutique hotel with four guest rooms. If you are looking for resort amenities on site, this is not your place. If, like us, you want a quiet and romantic place where you have a good chance of being the only people in the pool, I cannot recommend this place more. And, if you go, pet Trixie for us!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saxonct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.4 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,115 reviews
4.5 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Villas Las Anclas
Villas Las Anclas
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Blue Angel Resort
Blue Angel Resort
#11 of 52 in Cozumel
685 reviews
1.0 mi away
Flamingo Hotel
Flamingo Hotel
#19 of 52 in Cozumel
505 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel B Cozumel
Hotel B Cozumel
#23 of 52 in Cozumel
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casita de Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casita de Maya

Address: 65 Ave. Bis x Blvd. Aeropuerto | Quintana Roo. #420, Cozumel 77620, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £42 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casita de Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casita de Maya is the only hotel within walking distance from Cozumel International Airport, yet far enough to enjoy the quiet splendor of Cozumel. Providing the elite and casual traveler with clean, safe, and comfortable air conditioned accommodations. Our guest can enjoy easy access to Taxi Service, Rental cars, Tours and Island Excursions, conveniently located to fine Local Dining. We provide our Travaler's a unique experience into the real Mexican culture. Now Free Internet/Phone calls to USA/Canada ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casita de Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casita De Maya Cozumel
Casita De Maya Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing