We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of Casita de Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casita de Maya
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2010

As per previous reviews, the hospitality here cannot be beat. Dan greeted us personally when we arrived (our flight was even 2 hours late.) He walked us down the street to buy some refreshing cerveza and even talked the guy down on his price.

The hotel was a short walk from the airport, it was so nice not to have to deal with the hustle and bustle of catching a taxi at the terminal. Our room was clean and cool, modern and comfy all at the same time. For dinner, we were directed to a delightful seafood restaurant just down the street, La Perlita, that had the best ceviche I have ever had. Dan and Rueben were always on-spot with their recommendations. They'll help arrange taxis and rental car's making your stay a breeze and focused on relaxation without stressing about the details.

Downtown and the cruise-ship district are an easy 20 minute walk. The streets are safe and easy to navigate. Dan always sent us with a business card in case we got lost so that we could call.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubilina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2010

Feb 9th-13th
Casita de Maya is the best! Once again, every expectation met. Dan has added a staff member since our last stay (Rueben) who speaks fluent English that helps with anything you may need.
This trip we brought two of our children age 9 and 16. Both of the kids loved to sit around the pool and talk with Rueben. Anytime our daughter (9) wanted something that we did not readily have on hand she would say " I'll go ask Rueben" and he always came through for her, he even made her a necklace! The rooms, as always were kept spotless by Jolie! Kittie and Trixie the hotel dog and cat are NEVER in the way but add a touch of home to the Hotel. Convenience store's are a block away. Town square is only 3 miles at most.
All said: we had another great stay and the kids loved it!
Thanks, Dan
David & Janet Reynolds
OKC, OK

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2010

Dan and his staff make you feel like family. They take care of every need and more. We love the laid back leisure time and great resturants are near.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tadools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2010

I stayed here one night while waiting for friends to arrive and our villa to be vacant. Dan, the owner; Sergio and Rueben made me feel so immediately welcome. They saw to every little detail, greeting me with a cold beer, walked me to the nearest market and advised me on a great neighborhood resturant (La Perlita - get the coconut shrimp). This is the first review I have ever written, I was that impressed. Thanks again, Dan.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurie5b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

Great place to stay. All the tips on resturants and snorkel spots made this a great place to stay away from the crowds. Very comforting to come home to after a day of snorkeling and cruising around the island of Cozumel.We stayed a week and could have stay longer.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
4  Thank jkerrsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2010

There is a reason Dan is rated #1... He makes you feel at home. This was our second trip; the 1st being in March 2008. The secret sauce to Casita de Maya's success is the continued improvement Dan makes to his hotel combined with a social environment which encourages guests to get to know one another and become friends.
Feel free to contact me for detailed information on why I am so impressed with Dan, his staff, and the way he runs his hotel.

Don Romeri

Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank arcodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

When searching for a hotel in Cozumel, Casita de Maya is #1 for many reasons. The room and the hotel are very clean. It is located in a neighborhood, which is exactly what we were looking for during our stay in Cozumel. It is within walking distance from the small airport on the island. Although the hotel is quite close to the airport, we rarely heard any noise from airplanes. The hotel is a short cab ride to the town center. For those who frequently walk, you will find the walk through the neighborhoods on your way to the town center to be a good experience.

Dan, the owner, makes this hotel a special place. From the moment we arrived, he made us feel very welcome. After a long day of travel and some sightseeing we were looking forward to trying some local cuisine. Dan provided us with a recommendation for a nearby seafood restaurant called La Perla. We called Dan to ask him exactly how to find the restaurant and he proceeded to tell us that he would meet us at the hotel in 10 minutes. Dan showed up and instead of giving us directions, he offered to drive us there himself. He escorted us to the restaurant and introduced us to the staff. We each promptly received a complimentary margarita and Dan stayed for a few minutes to make sure we had what he needed. We were pleasantly surprised when the waiter handed us menus in English. We ended up ordering ceviche and the seafood platter. The ceviche was the best we had in Cozumel or Playa del Carmen. The seafood platter was large and delicious.

The next day we spoke with Dan regarding recommendations for what do on the island. He suggested that we rent a car and drive around the island so that we could enjoy the beach, snorkeling, and a nice lunch. He also recommended a place for lunch called Coconuts, which was a bar and grill overlooking the ocean. This place had good food and an incredible view. Dan even arranged for a rental car for us. We obtained a good rate for the day and Pepe, the rental car agent, waived the cost of insurance for us since we were staying at Dan's hotel. Although the car did not have power steering, it was clean, had excellent air conditioning, and tinted windows. It worked out perfectly for our driving tour of the island. Along the way we found a roadside shop that specialized in handmade Mayan and Aztec pottery. We met the father and son who make all of the pieces by hand. The prices were extremely reasonable and we found nothing like our purchases in other places in Cozumel or Playa. When we mentioned our purchases to Dan we discovered that he had shopped at the same place in order to decorate the hotel.

No review of Casita de Maya would be complete without mentioning Diego's restaurant. Dan and Trixie (Dan's dog) walked us over to Diego's the first morning of our stay. Trixie stayed with us during our whole meal. We went to Diego's everyday for breakfast. Diego is a very interesting, warm, and kind person who also happens to be an excellent cook. We were impressed with his English speaking ability. The food was very fresh and we really enjoyed the homemade papaya milkshakes.

Overall, we highly recommend this hotel. Dan demonstrated many times how much he cares about his guests. He made sure we had everything we needed during our stay. It was such a pleasure meeting and getting to know Dan. If we are fortunate enough to have the opportunity to return to Cozumel, Casita de Maya is the only place we would stay.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.4 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,130 reviews
1.0 mi away
Flamingo Hotel
Flamingo Hotel
#22 of 52 in Cozumel
507 reviews
4.5 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Villas Las Anclas
Villas Las Anclas
#4 of 52 in Cozumel
389 reviews
2.6 mi away
Blue Angel Resort
Blue Angel Resort
#9 of 52 in Cozumel
688 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel B Cozumel
Hotel B Cozumel
#23 of 52 in Cozumel
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casita de Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casita de Maya

Address: 65 Ave. Bis x Blvd. Aeropuerto | Quintana Roo. #420, Cozumel 77620, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £45 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casita de Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casita de Maya is the only hotel within walking distance from Cozumel International Airport, yet far enough to enjoy the quiet splendor of Cozumel. Providing the elite and casual traveler with clean, safe, and comfortable air conditioned accommodations. Our guest can enjoy easy access to Taxi Service, Rental cars, Tours and Island Excursions, conveniently located to fine Local Dining. We provide our Travaler's a unique experience into the real Mexican culture. Now Free Internet/Phone calls to USA/Canada ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Casita de Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casita De Maya Cozumel
Casita De Maya Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing