We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Following Jairo, wherever he goes”
Review of Casa Cuzamil

Casa Cuzamil
Ranked #48 of 370 Restaurants in Cozumel
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Casa Cuzamil Restaurant and Sports Bar is locaated on 5av between 3sur y Adolofo Rosado Salas, approximately 3 blocks South of the Downtown Clock Tower Square. Casa Cuzamil is a Carribean Blue Bar and palapa restaurant catering to tourists as well as the local clientele. Newly renovated, this restaurant features Mayan Chef Josue Yama serving various well known American dishes as well as a Mayan variety of Mexican dishes and seafood. Upon your arrival at Casa Cuzamil, you will be greeted by Mgr. Wil Dzib to seat you in either the lower level featuring Cozumel underwater seascaped murals or upstairs in the formal dining area or the sea breezed palapa over looking San Miguel city. By calling ahead special menu arrangements as well as seating for large parties or sporting events can be arranged.
Central Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Following Jairo, wherever he goes”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We follow Jairo, a fantastic bartender, wherever he is working. Since we are Facebook friends, it is easy to keep up. So, because of Jairo, we discovered Casa Cuzamil, which is a joy in it's self. From breakfast (my husband swears by the breakfast burritos) to lunch (my favorite was the crabbed stuffed shrimp, which they allowed me to order as an appetizer, instead of a meal, everything was freshly cooked and wonderful. As you can tell by the picture, they have plenty of TVs. So if you are from the State and want to keep up with the local sports, they will be more than happy to find it for you.
THANKS!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LizrJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    38
    12
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great little find!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were killing time before our flight back to Houston and stopped off at Chocolateria Isla Bella, as we promised our shorties we'd do. The owner had a plate of food on a small table in her shop and we asked her what she was having for lunch. She recommended Casa Cuzamil and it was just around the corner from her shop. She recommended the chile relleno.

We walked around the corner and it was right there. We sat upstairs and we were the only table (this was on a Monday around noon). The weather was hot and humid that day, but on the 2nd floor in the open air, we caught a nice breeze!

We were served complimentary chips and a very spicy salsa (and I like it spicy, but this was SPICY), and a rice-chicken broth soup. My husband wasn't very hungry, so we ordered the chile relleno with picadillo (ground beef). It was FANTASTIC! Most chile rellenos I've had have been battered and fried, but this one was a roasted poblano pepper stuffed with picadillo, smothered in a mild chile gravy with a queso blanco on top. Delicious. Served with refritos (refried black beans), rice, and vegetables. 1 chile relleno plate with 1 bottled water = $8. Great price. Friendly service also. I will be fantasizing about this relleno for some time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SerenityNowGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great place for relaxing lunch.”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

On the way back from the dive boat, this is a great place to grab lunch. Seating upstairs is open air with a wonderful breeze. They have a nice lunch of the day. You get soup and a main course and a drink. Friendly staff!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CVChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great service, food & sports viewing”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My boyfriend and I stopped here after walking by several times and noticing that the NHL playoffs were on. What a great place! It was so fun and unexpected to be watching American sports on TV at a restaurant in Cozumel owned by a Texan. Our server was really friendly, and you could tell everyone there was having a great time. The Mayan soup I ordered was delicious, and the margaritas were great (not weak like a lot of touristy places serve). If you're looking for good food and good company, Casa Cuzamil is definitely a fun place to spend an evening in Cozumel!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicioso!”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Great food for a fare price. A little off the main street where the tourists were so it was not crowded. Loved the outdoor seating on the second floor. We ordered the enchiladas, quesadillas and chicken tacos. Would recommend it all. Complimentary chips/salsa and soup. Great service with friendly people. Don't miss out on this place!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Cuzamil also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Casa Cuzamil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing