We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
Ranked #32 of 53 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This hotel is nothing fancy by any means, but if you are looking for something that is clean, affordable and walking distance to everything downtown then this is the place for you!
The staff are friendly and accommodating and the breakfast you get is great if you're going on a morning dive and you want something light.
We enjoyed our experience at this hotel and would recommend it to friends without hesitation.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank GLOCK409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2012

Good location, breakfast brought to your room, and the staff calls you by name. The rooms were unique (stone designed shower, little crafts decorating the room) and priced at hostel rates. But really, the staff makes the difference.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed in a standard (no balcony) room at the Vista Del Mar during a 10-day visit to Cozumel for Diving. The room was 'no frills' - comfortable, clean, and very convenient to all attractions - but not the kind of room where you would want to spend a great deal of time. I have rated it as 'very good' because it is a very good room for the price/type of room that it is. We found the hotel to be extremely good value and knew when we booked the room that it was basic and so were not at all disappointed; if anything, it was better than we had anticipated. The location can't be beat - although it did require a 10 minute walk up the road to Paradise Divers. The staff were very friendly and even went out of their way to remind us of the scheduled change in daylight savings. They served a very basic but delicious breakfast to the room, consisting of simple pastries. They kept a large carboy of potable water on each level from which guests could refill their own bottles at will. We very much enjoyed our stay here and would happily return.

Room Tip: If you're someone who likes to lounge around your room, pay the extra for a balcony; if you spen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntentToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This was the second hotel that we went to when we got to the island. Paid more then we wanted to but we didn't know that carnival was in town. we got a great view as the floats passed by not just Sunday but also on Tuesday.
The room was spacious and very very clean. Views of the water was great and to see the boats and just to see the people of the island move around was so cool.
They even brought you your morning breakfast to your room if you wanted and they made more coffee when we asked for it. The people at the front desk were great and they were helpful all the time when we asked them something.
Great location for shopping and for eating, so many choices you have that is the hard part about the stay.
Yes it's an older hotel but the staff do a great job at keeping it a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Location, clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinnipegZammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We arrived in early December for diving. The oceanveiw room was all we hadhoped for. Very clean, nicely appointed,roomy, terric view of port and a great value, we even loved the breakfast which was served right in our room at a time we chose.The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. the location is super - close to all the wonderful restuarants recommended on Trip Advisor that we wanted to try! Too bad we only had a week!

Room Tip: ask for an oceanview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1kdives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

we stayed here based on tripadvisor reviews and we were not suprised by the staff and service we'd received. the rooms are clean and have adequate space. there was always hot water in the shower. the location is great - right in the heart of town and can walk basically anywhere (which we did) and felt very safe. there is no actual door the separates the rooms from the 'outside world' so that was a concern of my boyfriends at first, but there really was nothing to worry about - there were no random people walking about in the hotel.
as mentioned by another reviewer there is not real privacy as far as the pool goes - it's located onto of a few on the shops (there is a courtyard like are of vendors with their shops along the same like of the vista del mar entrance) but it was safe and all we'd really needed.
after the first night i'd mentioned that the bed was really hard for me and my hip was really sore from sleeping on it - they said they'd look to see if they had something for us - later that night, while on the patio, we jealously saw a man on a moped with a new egg crate foam. to our surprise, a few minutes later there was a knock on our door and it was for us! we thought that was so thoughtful and considerate.
the morning coffee, juice and rolls/danish's we thought were just fine. not extreemly filling, but what we were expecting.
overall this place is clean, well located and has very friendly staff - it's what were were looking for, expected, and received.

Room Tip: ocean view is very nice in terms of the view... however at night it is extreemly noisy (unti probabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spudyloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This hotel is a great value. I rented room #304 for $85 per night in February.

Great staff, good hot water and water pressure. Good internet (3mbps) in the lobby, sometimes worked in the room.

Easy walk to everything. 2 blocks from Aldora Divers, 5 blocks from the main ferry pier and square, 2 blocks from Sr Frogs and Starbucks.

Laundry service available. My bill for 10 or so items was $3.40 US!

Included breakfast is orange juice, coffee and two rolls. Service starts at 7:30. Likely after you have left to go diving.

Airconditioning is good but requires flipping a switch on our of to control temperature. There may have once been a remote but there was not one in my room.

Small fridge in room. In room safe. Comfortable queen bed with good pillows.

You can hear noise from the street including the 4am dive tank unloading. Mostly you just hear the ocean :)

Staff was very good all the way around.

There were two pools. I didn't use either but they looked nice.

Cozumel is about the safest place you could visit. I saw zero signs of any type of crime anywhere. The population is friendly and sincere.

I will return.

Room Tip: This is a small hotel. Any room on the ocean side is a winner. This includes 204, 205, 304, 305, 404...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcullet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#5 of 53 in Cozumel
1,196 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Casona Real
Hotel La Casona Real
#38 of 53 in Cozumel
156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
#26 of 53 in Cozumel
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Suites Bahia
Suites Bahia
#31 of 53 in Cozumel
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mary Carmen
Hotel Mary Carmen
#24 of 53 in Cozumel
156 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel B Cozumel
Hotel B Cozumel
#25 of 53 in Cozumel
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Address: Avenida Rafael E. Melgar No. 45 | Entre Calles 5 y 7 sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 53 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range: £44 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the waterfront overlooking the magnificent Bay of San Miguel in the mere heart of down town. Surrounded by the commercial district, restaurants, bars, entertainment and the most prestigious dive shops.Extraordinary location for all tastes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vista Del Mar Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing