We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View, Large Room, But...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great View, Large Room, But...”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We stayed at Vista del Mar for three nights August 29-31st. If you stay here, you want to get the ocean view room for sure. The hotel is right downtown which is fun, but it's a long way from any beach. The good things are: the staff was friendly, they bring breakfast to your door in the morning including coffee, the rooms are large, the air works well, we had a refrigerator that worked well, and the ocean view is great. We sat out on the balcony and watched the people pass below on the street, traffic, the ocean and ships. Loved it. The downside are: the beds are very hard, you can't flush paper down the toilets, no safe (at least in our room), and the breakfast is really nothing more than a few dry rolls with butter and jelly. The other thing that bothered us is the hotel isn't really very secure. There are two ways to enter the hotel, neither are gated or controlled at all, although from morning until mid evening there is someone in the second floor where they have their reception area. We never used the tiny roof-top pool. Looked okay, very small. We stayed the next two nights next door at the Casa Mexicana. Much nicer in every way, except the view isn't as good unless you get ocean front room and the cost is higher.

Note: We usually stay at a resort hotel on the beach, but wanted to try some of the less expensive options this time around. The good thing about doing this is we could move about and were free to eat/play where ever we wanted. The bad part is we probably spent as much doing it this way than if we stayed in a higher-end beach front resort due to cab rides, etc. At times moving around was a bit of a bother too - not as relaxing as it could have been. Next time in Cozumel I think we will stay at a beach front hotel just for the ease and convenience.

Room Tip: Spend the couple extra bucks and get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twwcda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    120
    48
    15
    5
See reviews for
38
168
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

The Vista del Mar is just five minutes walk from the ferry terminal and enjoys nice ocean views (if you opt for a sea view room). It is located towards one end of town, but every part of town you need to get to is less than 20 mins walk. Our room was spacious, clean and had a fridge plus air conditioning... Which unfortunately had no remote control, so had to be switched on maximum, or off totally - suggest requesting a room that has a control. The hotel has a small pool at the back that gets sun until early afternoon, it is a peaceful spot to cool off away from the shopkeepers who are on full 'American tourist aleart'.
It's a short taxi ride to real beach, costing $50mxn, there are hotels nearer the beech, but we wanted to be near restaurants, etc.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank j5183v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DFW , TX
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed at the Vista del Mar just for one night before hoping on a cruise ship and it was perfect. The location is amazing if you want to be close to shops and restaurants, you are literally right in the middle of them. The hotel is also super convienient to the ferry and one of the two cruise ports.The staff at the hotel were very friendly and accommodating.
I was slightly reluctant to book the hotel originally because the cost was so little, but I was very impressed by the room! We had a huge deck with comfy chairs and a hammock on it, our view was the ocean in front of us and below us the hustle of the shops. The room was large byinternational standards even with a king size bed and large beareau. The bathroom, was very cute and clean, with a lot of character, the shower was made of river rocks, it was spa-esque. I would recommend this hotel to anyone unless they cannot traverse stairs, this hotel does not have an elevator.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the top if quiet it important, although we noticed at least in this part of Cozu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissElizabeth8-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

United Airlines cancelled our flight out of Cozumel and refused to compensate for the inconvenience, claiming force of nature clause and excessive rain in our connecting city of Houston (we suspect, however, that United just cancelled the flight to boost its profits...). The Vista del Mar hotel was at the Southern end of downtown Cozumel. A nice location within easy walking distance of the Mega Store (sort of a Mexican WalMart). The Mega had cheap pizza slices and decent cappucino and pastries. The Vista del Mar served us a continental breakfast of coffee, pastries from the Mega store and orange juice (more like Sunny D than real orange juice). The small pool was very clean, but it would have been nice if it had been lit so we could take a cooling dip after sundown. The rooms were clean, but spartan. The shower was roomy. The hot water and water pressure were A-OK. The toilets had the third world-style plumbing, so the toilet paper had to go in the trashcan and not down the toilet. We kept the bathroom door closed to contain the smell. Very inexpensive at $58 per night all in for our family of four. Pay in pesos if you can. We did not get one the ocean view rooms, which were an extra $20 per night. Side note and warning: Don't fall victim to the hucksters at the Playa del Carmen ferry pier. We made the mistake of accepting a "deal" and had to suffer through a miserable 4-hour time share presentation (was supposed to be an hour and a half including lunch) at the very aggressive (the sales manager was even rather rude) Adena Thai (sp?) hotel in PdC. At least we got about $200 or so worth of goodies for our trouble. FWIW, we did not care for what we saw of PdC. It seemed like Oahu (commercialized resort town with beaches to lay around on and frat-party style bars like Senor Frogs to get drunk at) whereas Cozumel seemed like Kauai (laid back, ecological, do-it-yourself snorkeling etc.). As for time shares...investigate buying them online if you think they might fit your budget and needs. Don't do a presentation unless you are sure you can say no no no no no.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnorkelGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Our second stay in 2 years. Inexpensive, great view and you can walk to so much. The staff is great, the rooms very nice - though the main street is noisy in the evenings (bring soft ear plugs for sleeping), and continental breakfast wake-up call before diving each morning. A quiet little swimming pool in the back provides a welcomed relief from the heat and noise of the main street in the afternoon, but the view of the ocean, cruise ships, ferries, dive boats, people and everything else from the balcony can not be beaten. Everything is in need of maintenance and paint (como siempre), but it is still a good deal.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elops_saurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benson
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Vista Del Mar Hotel has a great location ! Mai, Martin and Ofiela staff members at the Vista have always been very helpful, honest and they do go the extra mile to make sure that your stay is enjoyable. The staff always has a warm greeting for their guests they are also helpful with information on place to eat, transportation, sight seeing etc. The Hotel is older but is very clean and the rates are very good for Cozumel with a Ocean view balcony in most rooms. I have stayed 4 times in the last 15 months at Vista Del Mar. My last stay was for a month.

Room Tip: Always ask about the Special Rate for the off Season ! This is the time of years to go and save.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeweyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This is the only hotel we stay in when we go to Cozumel. The staff is so accommodating, the rooms are quaint and the rustic decor is exactly what we are looking for. It's the greatest!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jgillett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
#26 of 52 in Cozumel
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suites Bahia
Suites Bahia
#31 of 52 in Cozumel
201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mary Carmen
Hotel Mary Carmen
#25 of 52 in Cozumel
142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Flamingo Hotel
Flamingo Hotel
#19 of 52 in Cozumel
500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suites Colonial
Suites Colonial
#32 of 52 in Cozumel
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Property: Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
Address: Avenida Rafael E. Melgar No. 45 | Entre Calles 5 y 7 sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the waterfront overlooking the magnificent Bay of San Miguel in the mere heart of down town. Surrounded by the commercial district, restaurants, bars, entertainment and the most prestigious dive shops.Extraordinary location for all tastes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vista Del Mar Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing