We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for Carinval”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Stayed for Carinval”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Great little hotel on the malecon. We stayed there for 2 nights during Carnival this year. We had a second floor balcony for watching the 2 1/2 hour parade. How can you beat that. Clean large rooms. Very helpful staff. Light breakfast included in the morning. Coffee could be hotter.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sask_Bluesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    120
    48
    15
    5
See reviews for
38
168
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The hotel is located in the city center (good location for restaurants, shops and the boat terminal). 2 blocks away from senor frogs. The rooms are ok, but there's no elevator (my room was on the 4th floor and I had to take my luggage upstairs by myself). The breakfast is ok >> it's delivered to the room by the time you schedule it. If you are on a reduced budget, I would recommend the hotel. But if you want a hotel in front of the beach, this is not the one to be chosen. Very good price!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carollauzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Springs, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The wife and I just got back last night and spent Sat and Sunday here, we knew that Carnaval is a blast but this made the entire trip worth it!!! we spent the first 6 days at a resort and wanted to get in on the action for the Parade route, after the first night of the Parade we went to the store and bought a bunch of candy to give to the kids, every single balcony room was decorated to the hilt.........What a AWESOME time!

The place is great if you want to shop and hang out for the downtown nightlife, divers love it as well because the pier is right across the street. We plan on bringing the kids back next year for a couple days and then hit the resort to relax.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio City, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Loved the proximity and ocean view of Vista Del Mar in Cozumel. Nice Boutique hotel, very clean, comfortable beds, choice of ocean view or town view. They offer a very Mexican breakfast of juice coffee and rolls but you must tell them what time you want it delivered every day. This time of year the pool was out of the sun by mid afternoon, which made it a nice place to relax and read. Also small alley of shopping with a little bar with margaritas. I'm a scuba diver so there are places to hang dive gear on the balcony. Also a pier for divers right across the street. We walked to dinner every night at the square, then strolled back ocean side of the street for a beautiful evening.

Room Tip: large clean comfortable room with ocean view #502
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ccc34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The hotel is very good value for money!! Our room was nice and clean with a huge bed and there was warm water, which is not always the case. Next time I would spend a little more money to get an ocean view room (we had pool view), every day huge cruise ships arrive and I think that is something interesting to watch from your balcony. What we didn´t like so much was that breakfast was delivered to the room, coffee was great, but there was no milk and only one plate and one knive for two, also it was not that much food. So, don´t pay extra for breakfast, but it should not keep you from staying here, as said before it is good value for money (also a great alternative to staying in expensive and busy Playa del Carmen)!!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the ocean front room and watch the cruise ships!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis_u_Verena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

After spending several days here, we decided the word "boutique" in Cozumel means very small as opposed to what we were expecting. Don't believe the photos on their website. It's quite rustic, basic, and I would liken it to more to a hostel. Many things in our room didn't work and it was a hassle to get them fixed. Not even a chair in the room. The breakfast as many have noted in other reviews of this property was not good. The rolls and juice almost inedible. The bed was hard and the pillows were harder and quite flat. Now for the good news: most of the staff, especially Mai and Aaron were very friendly and helpful. Avoid Sergio if at all possible. Won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, choose ocean front. The rooms facing the back overlook a noisy, music blaring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very close to anything you need. The room we had faced onto the market and the pool and it was very clean. The staff was nothing but fantastic and went above and beyond for us, which was greatly appreciated by my husband and myself. Our room included a mini fridge, hot shower, working A/C, cable. Breakfast was coffee, OJ and sweet bread. The hotel entrance is in the artisan market so you do get a lot of people trying to sell to you, but they're just trying to make an honest living as most people are in Mexico. I would return to this hotel and highly recommend it if you are looking for a place to stay on a budget.

Also this hotel does not have an elevator.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Blaze C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
#26 of 52 in Cozumel
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suites Bahia
Suites Bahia
#31 of 52 in Cozumel
201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mary Carmen
Hotel Mary Carmen
#23 of 52 in Cozumel
142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Flamingo Hotel
Flamingo Hotel
#19 of 52 in Cozumel
500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suites Colonial
Suites Colonial
#32 of 52 in Cozumel
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Property: Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
Address: Avenida Rafael E. Melgar No. 45 | Entre Calles 5 y 7 sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the waterfront overlooking the magnificent Bay of San Miguel in the mere heart of down town. Surrounded by the commercial district, restaurants, bars, entertainment and the most prestigious dive shops.Extraordinary location for all tastes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vista Del Mar Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing