We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on the east side of Cozumel!”
Review of Ventanas al Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ventanas al Mar
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Paradise on the east side of Cozumel!”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed here for the first night on our 3rd trip back to Cozumel and it was amazing! Its next to Coconuts so u can get lunch or dinner there. If not you may grab lunch before arriving :) They are about solar energy so dont expect to have power during the day make sure your cell and camera batteries are all the way charged as well. There is cellphone reception but no wifi people so dont complain. This place is to relax and enjoy the sound of the waves, the sunrise view and the view of such beautiful stars at night. They do have power at night:) we will definitely be coming back here, Lupita and Coco were very nice and attentive

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ixchel0927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    50
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
30
164
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Just spent 3 days here, read some of the reviews that complained about the electricity, decided it wasn't a high priority, and once you get there is really isn't. If you're used to an all inclusive resort this isn't for you, if you're looking for an idyllic location, perfect service, complete solitude to spend with someone special then this is the most romantic, and remote place I have ever stayed in.

Reluctant to really share all my thoughts because this is really an absolute jewel that I would really rather share only with my closest friends.

Coco is an absolute star as a host, speaks no English but manages to converse perfectly.

Sunset and sunset views are incredible, the sound of the waves lapping beneath the window will deny you closing the shutters and put up with the occassional insects.

Highly recommend early morning swimming when the water is warm and before Coco starts breakfast!

Our room was more the adequate for what we needed, enormous bed, Catering more than adequately supported via Coconuts next door, just watch the steps on the way home!

Room Tip: All room face the ocean, our room, #23 was the furthest east and had what I would consider the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gsmith221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

If you want to experience the most picturesque beautiful and relaxing place you have to check out Ventanas al Mar. We stayed here for the last three nights of our vacation in December 2011 and it was just the most incredible experience. This hotel is truly a delight for all your senses. It is just a feast for the eyes with the most spectacular views of the ocean, and beach. The breakfasts were so delicious and we just loved the fresh fruit served with yogurt as your starter and the service with a smile by Coco (who is just the sweetest guy). We stayed in the two level suite and it was so beautiful and the bed was so comfortable. The ocean view right from our bed was just perfect for watching the most incredible sunrises each morning. There is also a plant on this part of the island called desert sage and the air smelt like baby powder. The stars at night were breathtaking and we loved the quiet and serenity of this hotel. At night they close they highway as there is no electricity on this part of the island but we would just have to show our room key to the police checkpoint and had no problems at all. The hotel itself runs on solar power and we would have electricity until about 10pm and then used either flashlights or candlelight - which was very romantic. We basically had the beach to ourselves and it was so beautiful and the waves were so much fun to play in. We thank Barbara and Lupita and Coco for their kindness and for ensuring that we were so comfortable in our stay here. Lupita went to town to get us ice for our cooler and when our daughter turned 16 gave her the most beautiful shell statue which she inscribed. It was such a kind gesture and a great keepsake. We loved Ventanas al Mar and are so glad we got to experience such a magical and beautiful piece of paradise...

Room Tip: We stayed in the two level Tortuga suite with a king size bed on the upper level and a trundle bed o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marlazaichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabot, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

This was our second trip to Cozumel. We stayed at El Cozumeleno in Sept. 2011 for a week. It was fabulous! Our suite had a fantastic view of the beach. The only negative comment about this hotel was the bed was hard but this was remedied by requesting an egg crate mattress. The staff was great, especially Naomi who kept me supplied with virgin piña colados on the beach. Would recommend making reservations in the restaurants for evening dinner.

This trip we were booked at Occidental Grand (jan 4th- 11th). The resort was beautiful but In a jungle setting with no rooms with beach/ocean views. Beds were hard but egg crate mattresses solved the problem. Maria in the spa is fantastic!!!! I recommend everyone have a hydrating wrap, body exfoliation and one hour facial........such luxury!!!!!!!! My husband decided to go diving and left me alone so I took the car to the other side of the island for a day of exploring. It is like a different world over there. Blessedly isolated from the "resort side". Miles of deserted beaches, crashing waves and warm tropical wind.

We had seen Ventanas Al Mar on our previous trip but this time I stopped ang got out. Lupita was very accommodating and took me on a tour of the hotel. I fell in love with the place! No, it is not a 4 or 5 star hotel but the beauty of the surroundings made up for anything it lacked in
that area. I ended up renting a 2 story suite for the night (184 dollars) instead of a room for 1/2 the price. I went back to the Occidental for my husband and an overnight bag and did not regret my impulsive behavior for one second!! No tv,no phone, no electricity, no problem. There was a full moon that night and we slept with the doors wide open, the waves crashing on the rocks, the wind........fabulous!!

Next trip to Cozumel I will book at least one night here. Great experience!!

Room Tip: Go for the suite. It will easily accommodate 4 people. Beautiful views from first and second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lovetwotravelalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Falls, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

My wife and I had read the reviews and were not sure what to expect. We tried to reserve a room once we were on the island by e-mail but did not hear back, so we rented a car and went over to the 'dark' side of the island - no lights after 11 pm is wonderful! Coco, the all purpose guy got us a room on the upper levels, with a large balcony overlooking the waves crashing on the rocks below. This may be the most romantic hotel anywhere.

The restaurant next door Coco's says they are open til 6, but in reality they close the kitchen about 5 PM, so if you will arrive after this, catch dinner on the west side of the island before you head over here.

This hotel is an adventure, not a five star all inclusive, but a real place to get away from it all, where there is no cell or internet service. What more do you need than a full moon, crashing waves, a balcony and your partner?

Room Tip: they all face the ocean and have balcony or patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pscotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

The moment I read about this hotel I HAD to stay there. My boyfriend and I had a beautiful 6 day stay at the Ventanas Al Mar. I honestly could not wait to write my review for this hotel. In Cozumel the east side of the island is totally secluded except for the cruise ship visitors who are smart enough to rent a jeep or buggie and explore the the other side. It is ALL beach with a few very delicious places to eat and drink right on the beach. The west side of the island is not at all like the east side, staying at this hotel gave us the privacy and beauty we were looking for while having the option to head to the touristy side and scope out the town and restaurants on the strip.
Reading the reviews I really didnt know what to expect, but your trip is ALWAYS what you make of it.
Yes there is no electricity during the day. The hotel is green and uses solar power from
7-10 in the evening. There is no Tv or phone in the room...but you are in mexico..let go of constantly needing to keep your brain busy and RELAX!!!! The room was very well lit during the day with a breath taking view of the ocean. Ask for a top floor room. In the evening when the lights go off around 10 there are candles in your room, which is super romantic if you are staying with a loved one. The sound of the ocean is loud and soothing and Ive never seen stars so bright.
We got in on new years eve and spent the night on the patio snuggled in the chairs. New years day the staff was off but Lupita ( the wonderful women in charge) cooked us lamb tacos and tamales, we also had woken up super late and she totally accomidated us with this delicious meal on the beach. The rest of the mornings we were greeted happliy by Coco (who speaks NO english..but somehow manages to communicate perfectly and make you adore his personality at the same time) Coco is the security/chef/waiter/awesome little man. Breakfast was SENSATIONAL every time. Granola and yogart, eggs of all kinds french toast , huevos rancheros, quesedillas, coffe and orange juice. ..ON THE BEACH! When it was a little chili and windy we were served breakfast in our room. Which was just as amazing.

My boyfriend had a birthday one of the days we were there and his sister contacted Lupita and asked if there was anything she could do for him. When we woke up for breakfast there was a huge happy birthday poster on our door as well as balloons! Lupita came with hugs and a beautiful cake with my boyfriends age on it. She also offered us massages by her daughters business on the west side of the island. These gestures totally made our entire stay that much more special.. We felt like family! The massages by Liz's employees were really wonderful.

Our room was clean, we had fresh towels and beach towels given to us every day, we had VERY hot water every day for both of our showers.

The beach is private, clean, and absolutley lovely. We will with out a doubt stay at this wonderful hidden gem again and again. Thank you Lupita and Coco and staff for a beautiful experience we will never forget!! Hope to see you soon!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Get a top floor room!! Wonderful unbelievable prices!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Brittany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

When we are paying over a hundred dollars a night my wife and I expect a hotel to meet reasonable standards. Although Ventanas al Mar is in a fantastic location those standards were sadly lacking. Our room was dirty with mouldy drapes and hair on the side of the washbasin that was there when we arrived and still there when we left three days later (two days ahead of time). We had to brush dirt off our pillows on the first night. The two glasses supplied appeared to have been rinsed in local water and placed rim down on the counter each day. We had two beach towels and one regular towel between us. For the first two nights the windowless bathroom light was not working although that would not have helped a lot when the generator supplying the only power was only operating sporadically and impredictably. When the power was not on our room was supplied with the weakest of single candles that would eventually sputter out in the darkness. There are no mosquito screens on the doors that one usually leave open at night for ventilation so one has a choice - sleep in a sauna with the doors closed or open up and invite the wildlife in. Try catching mosquitos in the dark! We actually had a bat fluttering around in our room the night before we left. I didn't tell my wife until the morning! Although the staff here are really friendly and the breakfasts very good, for us the cons totally outweighed the pros. A real shame because this place could be so much more particularly if it lived up to it's website.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank junod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
9.0 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
9.9 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,071 reviews
9.5 mi away
Blue Angel Resort
Blue Angel Resort
#10 of 52 in Cozumel
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 52 in Cozumel
500 reviews
9.1 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
9.9 mi away
Occidental Cozumel
Occidental Cozumel
#20 of 52 in Cozumel
4,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ventanas al Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ventanas al Mar

Property: Ventanas al Mar
Address: Carretera Costera Oriente Km. 43.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ventanas al Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ecofriendly Ventanas al Mar Hotel creates a relaxed atmosphere for guests who want a unique Caribbean experience. The oceanfront hotel is located on the east, windward side of Cozumel Island where there is always a breeze. The delicious homemade produce breakfasts is included in our rates. The great sandy beaches of the East coast, the sound of the ocean waves crashing on the rocks and the silence of the nature far away from the city offer a wealth of opportunities for visitors wanting to GET AWAY FROM IT ALL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ventanas al Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ventanas Al Mar Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing