We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too impressed”
Review of Playa Palancar

Playa Palancar
Book In Advance
More Info
US$51.25*
and up
Cozumel Shore Excursion: 5-Hour Sightseeing Tour with Private Driver
Ranked #17 of 159 things to do in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not too impressed”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We just went to the shallow palancar and there was nothing much to see. Even the kids agree with me. I had 3 teenagers and 2 21 year olds plus my husband. They did not see much. I would still say try the deep palancar. It might make you happy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    507
    250
    96
    30
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great place for a day's cruise stop”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We visited Cozumel for one day as part of a family cruise. Playa Palancar was the perfect spot for us to spend the day. Outside the cruise dock terminal (after you walk through the entire gamut of shops) there are lines of taxis, with flat rates to take you to the various attractions. We had 13 people. so needed two vans, at $40 per van. The beach is about a 15-20 minute ride out of town.

There is no charge for the beach, no charge for beach chairs or the shaded tables. This is part of what made it so great for our large group. Snorkel gear and kayaks are all available to rent. Staff is helpful, and the drinks are good (although we had to send one daiquiri back because they made it with tequila!). We didn't eat, so I can't speak to the food.

The beach is lovely, great for a walk (be sure to bring shoes, cuz that white sand gets really hot). It was also relatively calm waters, so the perfect place for us to teach some of the kids snorkeling. They also run boats out to the nearby reefs for snorkeling (as we had first-time snorkelers, we just stuck to the beach).

You can arrange with your driver to pick you up at a certain time, but there are always plentiful van/cabs waiting in the parking lot to take you back. We were off the boat by 10 and back on at 4--just enough sun and sand for everyone in our group. And at about an eighth of the cost of some of the cruise tours that were offered.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
14 Thank abmab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fulton, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great beach”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was the best beach we visited, free parking, no beach fee and they did not charge for the use of beach chair's, we order drinks and food which were very cheap so find this place and enjoy!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malden, Missouri
Level Contributor
245 reviews
154 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Beautiful, uncrowded beach”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was my 8th trip to Cozumel and my 8th trip to Playa Palancar. We like it because it is quiet, uncrowded and caters mostly to a crowd wanting to relax. There are not many water toys to speak of. I may have seen 1 or 2 jet skis but they stayed way out and away from the shore. There is no entrance fee. There are beach chairs and plenty of chairs and hammocks in the shade. The restaurant is very good and reasonably priced with soft drinks or alcoholic drinks. They rent snorkeling equipment. They only thing that was different this year was the house that sits just to the north of it is now being used by Carnival Cruises for an excursion. They allow something like 25 people to use the house and they have a private chef, beach chairs, etc. There were signs this year with private property posted and the excursion people stayed over there. They really did not make much of an impact. At the most I may have seen 75 people on the beach. They want to take your picture when you enter but you are under no obligation to purchase but we always do. This is a nice place to spend a relaxing afternoon.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank maldenmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quiet beach, great margaritas.”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just got back from a cruise. Decided not to join any excursions coz we've done that before. Just wanted a nice beach to relax in. This place hit the spot. Easy to get to. A cab ride from the ship terminal cost $20. No entrance fee. Best margaritas! The ceviche was good too. First hour of snorkeling rental was free. Will definitely come back to this place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Babette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Playa Palancar also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Playa Palancar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing