We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Forget luxury expensive hotels!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coral Reef Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coral Reef Inn
Ranked #6 of 30 Cozumel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Forget luxury expensive hotels!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2007

Our first trip to Cozumel, and we had no idea what we would find at the Coral Reef Inn. But from the helpful e-mails Scott sent before we travelled I had a feeling we were in for a pleasant surprise. And what a fab place this is! The standards of accommodation were so high I really don't think there would have been a hotel room that we would have liked better! The bed was the largest ever and so comfortable. The bathroom was gorgeous and standards of decor and cleanliness everywhere were top notch. But there is so much more at the Coral Reef to make your stay comfortable. The rooftop kitchen was a genius addition! There's nothing they haven't thought about and supplied and it was a lovely cool and comfortable place to sit and read and snack when we had a little rain one afternoon. Nice to meet up with other guestts there and swap travellers tales and recommendations.
I could go on and on but really all i can say is TRY THIS PLACE and you won't be disappointed.!! We hired a lovely beat up old VW Beetle from Rentadora Isis, great fun and gave us the freedom to explore...only $35 per day all in...
Can't wait to book our next trip and we'll stay here longer next time!

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacqui b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
107
38
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Diver in Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2007

I had stayed at the Coral Reef over Christmas and I had thought that stay would never be topped. Until Carnival. Cozumel during Carnival was amazing. But, it would not have been near as great without Cindy and Scott’s insider information. From the perspective of Americans whom have spent several years in Cozumel, they can tell you what is really worth seeing and what is just a tourist trap. And, after a fun filled day of Scuba and exploring, you can come home to a wonderful room and relaxing meal overlooking the city and the ocean from there Cabana Sundeck. The quiet air conditioners, the brand new facility, and the extravagant bathrooms is a great change from most places I stayed at in Cozumel. (The bathroom was bigger than the whole room at the Baracuda – and at HALF the price!) Cindy and Scott rent new bicycles for $5 a day - A great way to get around the island. If you want to see the REAL Cozumel and experience this amazing island, your first stop should be the Coral Reef.

  • Liked — The great service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mountain_scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2007

We stayed at the Coral Reef for 10 days, Christmas thru New Years. As a young couple, it was perfect. There's an amazing kitchen on the first floor so we could cook every meal. The kitchen has everything you would possibly need, including a blender, toaster, knives, all dishes, various pots and pans, an electric fry pan, etc. They even supply those condiments that you wouldn't really want to go and buy just for a few uses, such as ketchup, oil and spices. They keep ice for drinks on hand at all times! There are also coolers you can borrow if you want to make lunch and take it to the beach. They never run out of anything, the trash is dealt with every day and although the kitchen is communal it's spotless and everyone respects the space. The kitchen is "indoor/outdoor", covered with a roof but open on the sides. Despite a couple of days of rain, we stayed dry under the roof. There's also a gas grill! The roof level also has a sunning area with views of the city - we ate breakfast out there every morning!
The second floor has a table with local information and a binder about every restaurant that they recommend - with ACCURATE up to date information. The bookshelves are packed with magazines, books, games, etc. Although the hotel was full when we were there, we never felt crowded or like we had to be shut up in our room. Not that we would have minded!
The room was fairly small and had no proper closet. More space to put folded clothes would have been nice, but I probably overpacked. The bathroom has an amazing shower perfect for two. :-) The towels and sheets are high quality and different colors - a nice homey touch in comparison with the overbleached stiff, thin, white sheets/towels that ordinary hotels will give you. The A/C and ceiling fan kept the room nice and cool. Everything worked perfectly.
Cindy and Scott are Americans, very friendly and easy to talk to. They catered to any need that we had, and were friendly but not at all intrusive. They walked the line of being friendly and respecting your privacy very well - they are incredibly professional and great at what they do. The two times we had them clean the room it was spotless when we came back. Scott even offered to give us a ride to the airport on our day of departure! They held a little new years eve party on the third floor kitchen/roof deck area that was a blast.
You should know that the inn is in a residential section of town and not near all the touristy junk. There is a grocery store (kind of like Mexican wal mart) three blocks away that was easy to navigate. We walked everywhere but cabs will pick you up and actually flag YOU down - you'll never be waiting for a ride.
I highly recommend the Coral Reef Inn!

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank westparismaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nixa, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2007

SUPERB EXPERIENCE AT THE CORAL REEF INN

I just have to write to tell you all about a wonderful hidden asset in Cozumel, Mexico. My friends and I decided to rent a villa in Cozumel for 11 days. The pictures on the internet were beautiful, but evidently they were nearly eight years old. It was such a blessing that the villa “Casa Mambo” was not available the first night. We stayed with Cindy and Scott at the “Coral Reef Inn” on the first night. Day 2 was our arrival date at the villa. To our horror, the place was so dirty and was inhabitable. We just made a mistake booking on the internet through the individual that owned it named Fred Lewis. We immediately called Cindy and Scott and asked if we could come home. Just like rescuing angels, they arrived in the pick up for our luggage and a cab for four mature ladies. We were so lucky that our room wasn’t booked at the Inn. We spent the next nine nights in the cleanest, nicest place on the island. All of our neighbors were wonderful, also. Just a shout out to John, Leona & Jerry, and Kenneth. We lounged around at the Inn, cooked in the marvelous kitchen on the roof, listened to good music, played cards, and of course, shopped the streets of Cozumel. So, what began as a miserable vacation, turned out to be very clean and comfortable, thanks to our angels, “Scott and Cindy”. If you are looking for an investment, it would be a wonderful place to own. Be sure to inquire about their rates and availability when booking your next vacation.

Sherry Bunn, Judy Hillman, Suzanne Hasler, & Fran Jackson
Rio Grande Travel

  • Liked — The hospitality of the American owners.
  • Disliked — Liked it all.
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BellaMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radium Hot Springs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2007

I wasn't sure what to expect as the Coral Reef Inn is a fairly new property we were pleasantly surpirsed. We spent a week at the Inn and had a great time. Staff were friendly and helpful their motto All you have to do is ask
I liked the concept of the Inn as it was designed for privacy or get togethers. The rooms were spotless the towels big and soft. Our room had a small fridge and best of all air conditioning.
The location is handy to all shopping and diving, walk or pay a couple of dollars for a taxi. It was an economical way to vacation because you can cook or you can go out and the restaurants are very reasonably priced.
We have travelled extensively throughtout Mexico and the United States and I can honestly say this experience rates right up there as one of the best. My next visit to Our next visit to the Coral Reef Inn and Cozumel will not come soon enough.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshine59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Griffith, IN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2007

We vactioned here for 2 months and it was fantastic. We have stayed at many of the other hotels in Cozumel and Coral Reef Inn is by far our favorite. It is an excellent place to stay for a short or extended vacation. The open-air kitchen on the upper level overlooking the neighborhood was fantastic. We were also close enough to the main square, resturaunts, and just minutes away from the grocery store. Scott and Cindy went out of their way to make us feel at home and our stay enjoyable. We are looking forward to going back again. Kathy and Mike

  • Liked — laid back atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cookies3201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2007

What a great place to stay! The owners are very cool and laid back. They are there if you need them, but otherwise invisible. Although, do yourself a favor and be sure to let them know what you are looking for on the island. They will be sure to point you in the right direction.

This is virtually a brand new hotel. My friend and I stayed in the dual queen bed room. Very clean room and new comfortable beds. Lots of room to spread out in and modern fixtures in the immaculate bathrooms.

If you are looking for a small, low key, & comfortable place to stay, this is it. Very Diver friendly too!

  • Liked — The friendliness and helpfulness of the owners
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank PeteSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#5 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
3.1 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villas Las Anclas
Villas Las Anclas
#3 of 51 in Cozumel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
1.6 mi away
Casita de Maya
Casita de Maya
#13 of 51 in Cozumel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#1 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Reef Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Reef Inn

Property: Coral Reef Inn
Address: Calle 15 Sur #363 Entre 20 y 15c, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Coral Reef Inn you will find everything you need to be as laid back or as adventurous as you want to be! The rooms are cozy wth big bathrooms. The kitchen and dining area are rooftop - under an authentic Mexican thatched roof - where there is always a breeze and an ocean view. Coffee, tea or tequila... You decide! Conveniently located, American owned & operated, newly constructed, adults only! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coral Reef Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Reef Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing