We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It doesn't get any better than Villa Aldora”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Aldora

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cozumel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Aldora
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It doesn't get any better than Villa Aldora”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I seldom use the word "excellent" in describing anything. But this operation is excellent. The Aldora dive operation is the best on the island. There are some very good operators here, but this is best outfit I've experienced, period.
The boat captains and dive masters consistently demonstrate a very high level of situational awareness.
The office and equipment maintenance staff are knowledgable, helpful, and courteous. Memo and his staff are exemplary.

Now to the Villa Aldora. It dates back to the 1950s and is very
well-maintained. It has a laid-back elegance and an intimate ambience that comes from an older place. The Villa and the attendant Aldora dive operation are expertly managed by Brent and Debbie. While the atmosphere is very relaxed, this outfit is very efficiently run.

Often times, the return guests greet the help staff with an "embrazo a la familia."

Many of the guests and divers are long-time returnees who feel they just belong here. How cool is that? Most have interesting stories. I can't wait to get back to this place.

Room Tip: Even the single quarters are spacious and well-equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FelipeFlyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    8
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
52
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kearney, Nebraska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

From the moment you arrive, Brent and Debbie make you feel like you are visiting your favorite family. They are friendly, helpful, and genuinely great people. Villa Aldora is lucky to have them. I’ll categorize my review below.

Resort: Sets on a pristine snorkeling and shore diving location. Hundreds of fish as well as eels, puffer fish, sea horses, rays, crabs and the occasional turtle and dolphin live in this area. The location could not be better. There are bikes available if you want to go into town, or you can walk…it is less than a mile. Additionally, the managers have recommendations for a reliable taxi service, the ride is $5 into town. The beach is constantly raked and always clean. You will never…NEVER have to get up early to put towels on chairs like you have to do at a larger resort…there is always chairs available.

Room: Sparkling clean…literally. The beds were comfortable and the sheets were amazing. The kitchen is fully stocked and functioning. Brent took us to the MEGA store when we arrived and we got food for breakfast and lunch for the week. The MEGA has everything you could ever want and then some. Like a perfect combination of HyVee, Best Buy, and Walmart…and the prices are equal to what you expect in the states. We stayed in the Barracuda Suite which was perfect for us. Right on the beach and very, very clean. The maids kept it clean all week and always had the room feeling like we were walking in for the first time.

Diving: Aldora Divers is exceptional and picks you up right at the Villa. We felt very safe the entire time and Steve was as patient as a saint with us (we were Discover SCUBA). If you love diving, this is definitely the place to be. Not only out of sheer convenience, but because the Villa is amazing.

Managers: Typically I wouldn’t take the time to comment on this, but Brent and Debbie are exceptional. They really go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need to enjoy your stay. Snorkel or dive gear, towels, etc. Not to mention suggestions for dinner, things to do on a day off from diving, places to see, etc. They truly make this place special.

Bottom Line: I have no idea why anyone would stay anywhere else. We’ll be back…

Room Tip: The Barracuda Suite was perfect for us. Very clean and right on the beach. Though if you desire mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wintertraveler2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

Brent and Debbie, managers of Villa Aldora, made my stay more than just a dive vacation. Starting with Brent's call to me in the US before I left home and ending with Debbie's email after I has left Cozumel, they thought of everything to make diving with Aldora a pleasure.

I had never really considered diving on Cozumel, but now I can't wait to return - but only if Brent and Debbie are on the premises. The convenience of the Aldora Divers' boat meeting me on the Villa dock each morning eliminated the need for a car, and the divemasters, especially Dario, Steve, and Adrienne really know their profession.

Villa Aldora and Aldora Divers are an unbeatable team.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vvvvvvvbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Stayed here for 1 nights paying $97 ($85 + $12 tax) for an air-conditioned double room with private bath. In summary, for the amount we paid, we had a decent-sized room right next to the sea and our room opens up to a sea view balcony with direct access to the sandy area at the back and ladder down to the sea. Excellent value.

One tip - borrow a flashlight and go snorkelling at night! Saw many things when I went - shrimps, Octopus, Eel and other fishes - there are not many accommodation where you can do this.

PROs:
1. Next to and have direct access to the sea! For the amount we paid, I am not convinced that you could get a place that is right next to the sea and where you can access an excellent snorkelling area right at your doorstep. 9 feet wall for snorkelling with actual reef. Amazing value.

2. Decent-sized, clean, comfortable room. Comfortable beds too.

3. Friendly and helpful hosts - they picked us up from the ferry terminal, brought us to a supermarket to buy supplies and then sent us back to the terminal on our last day. Oh, and they helped to adjust the bike height for my wife too.

4. Quiet residential area - you certainly would have a peaceful and good night's sleep.

5. The small 'pier' at the back is the pickup stop for the dive centre, so you don't have to walk very far with your equipment.

CONs:
1. Location to town is quite a walk away (I think around 20 mins), which is ok if you're not really in a hurry. But, they have bikes that you can borrow to cycle to the centre. Takes about 15 mins minutes one way if you cycle.

I love writing reviews and am always looking for feedback on the format and content. Therefore, if you feel that this review has been useful, please click on the green 'yes' button at the top.

Room Tip: Try to get the room that has direct access to the beachfront so you can easily get your gear to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank PerantauDunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Excellent rooms, location, staff, diving center, have A/C, hot water, lots of TV channels, everything was EXCELLENT here, very calm and silent, great place to watch the sunset on the sea :) !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephPl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, WA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Best location on the island! You are literally staying in a beachfront private house in a neighborhood. The rooms are clean, well maintained and though not brand new everything works perfectly. Steve picked us up near the ferry and took us by the grocery store on our arrival, He was a perfect host & I wouldn't hesitate to invite him into my own home any time if he dropped by to visit Seattle. He really made himself available to us anytime we had questions and we became part of the family during the visit. The owner Dave came by a few times during our trip & we really enjoyed some of his stories and hearing the history of his endeavors. We enjoyed sitting on the dock outside our villa chatting & watching the stars in the evenings without all the noise you get staying anywhere in the business area. We even did some night snorkeling right off the dock. So easy to hop in and out, played with an octopus one night and saw lots of other reef fish. Cabs are easily available to get downtown as are the free bicycles. (it's just over a mile..) The dive boats picked us up and dropped us off every day right outside our door. It was so convenient! Though they don't take credit cards I was able to pay in advance and that allowed me to not have to carry that much cash with me. I highly recommend Aldora Villa to any & all divers staying on the island.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cameron & Kristal rooms. Cameron has lots of space, full kitchen but no view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We had an incredible 8 day stay at Villa Aldora in February 2013. We and another couple shared a very spacious and comfortable two bedroom suite. Upon arrival Brent and Debbie drove us to the grocery store to kit up for the week, pointed us in the direction of the first of many great restaurants for dinner while they went home and put away all our groceries. The rest of the week had us diving every day right from the Villa with all domestic needs completely taken care of. We made friends and shared dive experiences with others staying at the Villa, felt completely safe both at the Villa and in the town, shops and restaurants were within a short, inexpensive taxi ride, local folk very friendly. Brent and Debbie took care of everything we needed; new battery for the dive computer, forgotten sunscreen, got any salad dressing, can you get us some more milk, and our essential daily supply of chips and guacamole ! Thank you to all the staff at Villa Aldora for making our dive vacation our best and most memorable so far. We will be back again one day.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BermudaNancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.5 mi away
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
5.0 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel B Cozumel
Hotel B Cozumel
#17 of 51 in Cozumel
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
991 reviews
1.7 mi away
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
2.2 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Aldora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Aldora

Property: Villa Aldora
Address: Cozumel, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Villa Aldora Hotel Cozumel
Aldora Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing