We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again.....”
Review of Playa Uvas

Playa Uvas
Book In Advance
More Info
US$85.00*
and up
Off-Road Mayan Adventure in Cozumel with Snorkeling and Lunch
More Info
US$125.00*
and up
Baja 1000 Combo Lunch and Snorkel Tour
More Info
US$37.00*
and up
Playa Uvas Open Bar Exclusive Pass
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our shore snorkel, resort & certified diving and catamaran snorkel trip are some of the examples of experiences you can live while you are visiting us. Or if you feel like relaxing, enjoy a massage in our lounge area by the pool, where under palm trees you will feel the breeze of the Caribbean Ocean. If you feel like shopping you can browse in our store of typical Mexican crafts.Our specialties restaurant and our bar will complement and excellent day of sun, sea and sand. But above all, let us transmit the pride of serving you in our beach, located in a privileged area of Cozumel, by the marine park of Chankanaab.
Alvord, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Once again.....”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

After our forth visit to Coz in two years, and third visit to Playa Uvas on November 2, 2013 off the Carnival Triumph, the good news is some things never change. Playa Uvas remains our favorite spot in Coz.

My wife and I are middle-aged, experienced snorkelers and Playa Uvas' facility provides for wonderful snorkeling right off the beach. One improvement we did note was the addition of a short sandbag retaining wall and sand 'entrance ramp' to make access to the water much easier than in the past.

When snorkeling, be sure to go all the way out to the 'third' reef, identifiable by the strip of dark water, about 100 yards out, where the snorkeling is best. We saw many tropical fish, spiny creatures, and several rays. Look close for the rays, as in this area they are colored very closely to the coloration of the seabed and blend in very well. And don't forget to search all the way around the rockpiles and reef outcroppings; there you will find the most interesting creatures.

The food was just as wonderful as in the past. Don't pass up the guacamole; it's the best we've ever had and that says a lot as we are Texans in every respect. This visit we also shared a grilled shrimp dinner which was great, too. With a few $3 beers, we enjoyed our day for less than $40; still a great value, despite the increase in entrance fee from $8 to $12 since out last visit. Your first drink and snorkel gear is included with the entrance fee.

For the first time ever, it rained on our day in Coz, which was a minor annoyance, but with the covered patio, we were able to stay dry while we enjoyed the guac and shrimp between snorkeling sessions.

Quiet, laid back, no hassle, no loud obnoxious party atmosphere. Attentive and courteous, but not overbearing, wait staff. Loungers with umbrellas. Squeaky-clean restrooms. Just what we middle-aged snorkelers are looking for. Very nice place.

Thanks for a great time, Carmen. Again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UvasVago, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Uvas, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thanks very much for your review and for your return visit we were glad to have you with us again. Carmen was also glad to see you guys again and we are glad that you enjoyed the new sand and also that Uvas is still one of your favorite spots in Cozumel. Thanks again and we hope to see you again sometime! Saludos;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    75
    40
    25
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Upcoming trip”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We will be in Cozumel Nov 28, and have read excellent reviews on the Playa Uvas. We are bringing our 6 grown children and are looking forward to a great day of snorkling and relaxing at Playa Uvas. Any tips for our trip would be appreciated.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank GodzGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UvasVago, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Uvas, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thanks for you´re previsit post we will be looking forward to having you with us. Have you made a reservation or selected a package yet on our website. If not let me know and I will be glad to help get you all set for your time at Uvas. Thanks
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“our day at uvas”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We came off the boat and skipped the shops, went to the taxi stand and got a taxi for $11 for 4 people to the playa uvas. It was $12 per person to get in. We got snorkeling gear, a private snorkeling tour for 30 minutes, small beach and pool, lounge chairs, bathroom, minimal hawking. We also got one beer or soda per person at no charge. We brought our lunch from the cruise ship. There was supposed to be Wifi there, but it didn't work for anyone.
This was a nice, quiet, relaxing time. There are better beaches, and much better snorkeling areas, but this excursion was inexpensive, quiet, and just what we wanted.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UvasVago, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Uvas, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thanks very much for your review! We are glad that you enjoyed your day at Uvas and sorry the wifi wasn´t working very well that day. Thanks again and we hope to see you again sometime!
Saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quite, nice place”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We sailed on the Carnival Triumph on Sept 23-28, 2013. We took a $12 taxi to Playa Uvas, it was a small resort type area with bar, pool, gift shop, massage place ($60-$90/hour) and bathrooms. We liked that it was fairly isolated, not a lot of other guests. We paid $12/each for a snorkel tour (approx. 30 min), one drink each and to be able to hang out there. The snorkel tour was great! A lot of fun. The free drink was good as well. We ended up buying some nachos (all food was priced fairly high), our nachos were about $15 and a bottle of water was $3. Drinks were the same prices there as they were on the ship. We didn't like that there wasn't much of a beach front area to walk on, it was mainly rocks and not sand. However for the $12 we paid we were happy with our experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UvasVago, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Uvas, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thanks for your review sounds like you guys had a good day at the beach club and we were glad to have you with us. Thanks and we hope to see you again sometime maybe next time we can make your experience a 5 star day. ;)
Saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ga
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great day!”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We were on a girls cruise and arrived August 17. We took a taxi from the pier four if us $11. We arrived and were greeted by hosts. We opted for $12 snorkel package. We were advised we could snorkel at different times and opted for the earliest which was about 20 minutes after we arrived. This was nice because it gave us time to get a locker and snorkel gear with no rush. We received a safety and how to class prior to enetering the water by our guide. The guide was very good and patient he took us all around the area pointing out several huge lobsters, fish and two fresh water senotes. I believe it was about 40 minutes or so which was plenty of time. If you wanted to go again on your own you could. We opted to get our drinks and sit by the pool. We were given sample massages at the pool which was wonderful. So wonderful in fact we got a 20 minute massage and it was fantastic. Very reasonable too! After that we had one more drink sat on the beach a spell and then asked the host to get a cab. To our surprise one was already there. We went downtown to eat and shop prior to heading back to pier. Taxi was $13 downtown for four. I would highly recommend this place and plan to return next time I'm in cozumel.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ldeej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UvasVago, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Uvas, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thanks very much for your review! We are glad that you were able to join us for a great day of relaxing at Uvas. We hope to see you again sometime!
Saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Playa Uvas also viewed

 

Been to Playa Uvas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing