We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat Visitor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Level at Occidental Cozumel
Ranked #30 of 53 Hotels in Cozumel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Repeat Visitor”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

My wife and i love this place! We go twice a year and bring our kids once (3,4 & 7) and by ourselves once. However, this time (we just got back yesterday) we had another couple go with us and they fell in love with the Occidental Grand, in fact, they mentioned that they enjoyed the Grand better than the Hideaway just due to the laid back and casual atmosphere. There is plenty to do and of course, a beautiful beach and ocean. We have stayed at multiple Occidental Vacation spots and this is our favorite. Go, enjoy, you won't be dissapointed.

Room Tip: The Royal Club is very nice and personal but not necessary to enjoy yourself, the entire campus is v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poonhabib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    94
    26
    14
    19
See reviews for
65
185
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Royal Club at the Occidental Grand Cozumel from May 12-19. From the time we checked in until the time we checked out, we were treated with warmth and sincerity by every staff member we encountered. Any possible request you could have as a hotel guest was taken care of by Nelly Baas, the Manager of the Royal Club. Nelly arranged all our specialty restaurant reservations, and also offered to make reservations for dining in town. She arranged for a special “off the menu” dinner on the last night of our vacation in the Royal Club restaurant that was very nice.
We enjoyed the meals served in the Royal Club as well as in the specialty restaurants and buffets. We would like to thank Daniel, Crystal, Arturo, and all the rest of the restaurant staff for the excellent service. The breakfast buffet was served in the main dining room and had a good selection of fruits, pastries, scrambled eggs, potatoes, breakfast meats, cheeses, yogurt and cook to order eggs and omelets. The breakfast in the Royal Club is also very good, and they will be glad to make you whatever you want even if it’s not on the menu. The lunch buffet served in the beach side restaurant had a good selection of all kinds of salads, fish, chicken, beef, pork, vegetables, hamburgers, hot dogs and french fries. Guacamole, chips and salsa were also served along with some wonderful deserts (especially the ice cream!). Lunch in the Royal Club is also very good. The club sandwich is excellent. The dinner buffet had a theme each evening that included nights such as Mexican, Italian, Oriental, Caribbean, and Barbeque. Some of the evening buffets were served at the beach side restaurant and the rest in the main dining room. We had the beef fillet and the coconut shrimp in the Sonora Grill and they were both excellent. We also enjoyed the rack of lamb, steaks and seafood in the Royal Club restaurant. In addition to the good food, the bars were well stocked with top shelf liquor and the bartenders are pros at keeping your glass full! There were also two bars open near the pool and the beach that stayed open until about 6PM each evening. Carlos makes great Bloody Mary’s as well as anything else you want. On occasion, we would have a server come by and ask us if we needed a drink at both the beach and the pool. The lobby bar is open from early afternoon until about 1AM and the disco bar was open until late each night. Freddy, Armando, Victor and Santos took good care of us every evening.
The housekeeping staff kept our room very clean and the mini fridge well stocked. There was also towel art on our bed everyday which was nice to look forward to after spending a day at the beach, shopping or touring the island.
The hotel grounds are very well maintained, and there is a very peaceful and tropical ambiance at the resort. The sandy beach is clean and there was never any issue finding a lounger in a sunny or shady spot around any of the pools or at the beach. The snorkeling was good off the beach. We saw the resident barracuda, as well as many colorful fish, starfish, squid and a lobster that was hiding underneath a block of cement in about 15 feet of water.
Marcela Gomez the Operations Manager was “walking” the property daily and taking the time to introduce herself to guests and ask them if there were any suggestions for improvements. She also took action on any issue that she could address. The entire staff has a genuine desire to make sure their guests have a pleasant vacation. My wife and I could not have asked for a more pleasant vacation, and we look forward to our next visit to the Occidental Grand.
We’ve been to Cozumel more than 20 times in the last 17 years, and we have always found the island to be a very safe place to visit. The Grand Cozumel is an excellent choice for your vacation.
As a final comment, I would like to say that although tipping at the resort is not required, I can assure you the staff appreciates the tips they receive and they certainly earn them. We typically tip the housekeepers, restaurant staff, bartenders, bellman and others who always make sure we have a great vacation in Cozumel.

Room Tip: Choose a 2nd or 3rd floor room for a balcony vs. a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oktraveler913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed here. The rooms, service and atmosphere was great. We have been tl Cozumel on different occasions, this time we decided to go to Occidental Grand. We didn't make a mistake, everything from the staff to the location was unbelievable! The staff made the experience more than good. For sure, if we were traveling to Mexico again, they will be our first and only choice for us. We would and have recommended them to many friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saiyanwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

My husband and I just got back from celebrating our first anniversary at the Occidental Grand in Cozumel and loved every minute of it! We stayed in the Royal Club and it was absolutely worth the upgrade. Included in the upgrade is the ability to make reservations every night to one of the a la carte restaurants and having your own private restaurant where you can attend breakfast and lunch daily without a reservation. Also, there is the private pool/hot tub and the excellent service from the concierge, Nelly. She is the manager of the Royal Club and does a wonderful job at making you feel at home and is available and ready to help always. When she found out it was our anniversary she had champagne and chocolate covered strawberries sent up, which was a great surprise. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the maids really decorate the room and keep you well stocked in the mini fridge. The food at the a la carte restaurants was very good. We really enjoyed Los Olivos the best for dinner and The Royal Club for lunch (try the club sandwich- delish!). Senora Grill was good as well and the head waiter, William, who worked at both Los Olivos and Senora did a fantastic job. Ask for the Mayan coffee- sooo good. We really enjoyed the daytime activities with Abi and Nick. Though sometimes it was hard to get enough people together to do some of them (we always wanted to play pool volleyball and you're at the mercy of who is by the pool if they'll join you). Don't get me wrong, we had a blast- the last day we were there a short storm came through and while almost everyone else dodged to their rooms we stayed and played the huge chess set and ping pong and kept enjoying the day. The snorkeling right behind the resort is great and free to rent gear. They offer all sorts of other activities (bar tending lessons, water aerobics, volleyball, wind surfing lessons, etc) and they leave it up to you if you want to participate- if not it's never too loud to just lounge and relax. The evening entertainment was good while we were there - they had a great beach party one night after an amazing fire dancers presentation and also we really like the Mexican night where a dance troop showed off different regions of Mexico through song, dance, and different costumes. The drinks are well made- thanks Victor and Freddie (in the lobby bar) and Carlos (in the beach bar). Just know that they come in plastic cups and with no straws at the beach bar (so if you have a preference bring your own cup and they'll have no problem filling it). All in all it was a wonderful vacation. Loved staying at a smaller resort- never too crowded and the staff and people we met were fantastic. Would absolutely recommend.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor of the royal club and we had no problems!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephanie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnutport, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This was one of the best trips we have ever been on. We are divers and the diving was exceptional....absolutely beautiful. The dive shop was fantastic to work with, very organized. If you are interested in this talk to Alfonso there, he is awesome. The staff at the resort were very friendly and helpful. The only complaint we had was the water temperature was not consistent. It may have been room specific but it would be warm, then scald you, then get too cold...that was our ONLY frustration.
Suggestions: I would spend the extra on Royal Club if you can, it's worth it! If you are looking for a room on the ocean with a beach view you are not going to get that here. You are in the middle of the jungle here. There is a walkway/bridge that you walk across to the ocean but there is a pool, bar, and restaurant on the beach. They have some great iguanas all over the property. We called ahead and spoke to Yamile Cruz, and requested dinner reservations for each night. I would highly recommend that as we heard it was hard to get them once you are there. And the food is not the best...do NOT go expecting authentic Mexican food...it is not. We asked why and they said no one could stand to eat genuine Mexican food, it would light the rest of us on fire. Judging from their salsa, I believe them! If nothing else I would request to get into Los Oliveros...that was best food we had all week!
We went to Chichan Itza for the day...this is a LONG trip, last all day. Very worthwhile if you are interested in Mayan culture but you may want look into flying because it's a 3.5 plus hour trip by car...both ways.
Overall we will definitely be back. We had a fantastic experience. It is heaven for divers and very relaxing and beautiful for non-divers.

Room Tip: upgrade to Royal Club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenrobert l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The hotel is beautiful. Our room was very spacious and the pool areas were very clean and well maintained.
There was wifi service included.

There are also a good number of shaded areas and poolside entertainment / games during the day.

We found all staff to be very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I liked the hotel and I liked food and beverages much more. The service was very good and the food was delicious.
In my visit to the Hotel, to Cozumel, I found that all good coments here, in trip advisor, are truth. I did not believe it, I lived them.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adg_02_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
6.1 mi away
The Landmark Resort of Cozumel
9.9 mi away
Ventanas al Mar
Ventanas al Mar
#17 of 53 in Cozumel
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Occidental Cozumel
Occidental Cozumel
#21 of 53 in Cozumel
4,719 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 53 in Cozumel
496 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Level at Occidental Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Level at Occidental Cozumel

Property: Royal Level at Occidental Cozumel
Address: Carretera Costera Sur Km 16.6, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#14 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Level at Occidental Cozumel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Barcelo, Ebookers, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Royal Level at Occidental Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Club At Occidental Grand Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing