We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fourth time and it just keeps getting better . . . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Level at Occidental Cozumel
Ranked #31 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fourth time and it just keeps getting better . . . . .”
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Royal Club, Occidental Grand Cozumel, December 1 to 8, 2012

This was our 4th consecutive year my Wife and I have chosen the Occidental Grand Cozumel to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary.

We stayed for 2 weeks last year and submitted a lengthy review on our extremely enjoyable stay and our experience this year proved that it just keeps getting better.
We have travelled extensively to Cuba, Dominican Republic and Mexico and this is the only resort that we have continued to return to. In fact, our Son and his Fiancée made their first trip to this resort with us last year and liked it so much they joined us again this year, announcing their plan to get married at the OC Grand.

Their special day was made perfect in a big part due to the planning and attention to detail by the Ricardo Torres, Special Events Coordinator. I expect they’ll be submitting their own review so I’ll leave any further wedding details to them but, suffice it to say that it was a beautiful event that was thoroughly enjoyed by all.

As mentioned above, I reviewed this resort last year so I won’t repeat all the details but I will say that all the positive comments outlined in that report still stand. If anything, everything has gotten even better than previous years.

While this resort offers us everything we would want in regards to rooms, restaurants and facilities, it is actually the staff that makes this place special for us. Everyone in the entire resort goes above and beyond to make you comfortable but, for us, that extra special touch comes from staying at the Royal Club.

With the wedding, we were a larger group than we normally travel with and we all stayed in the Royal Club but that certainly did not diminish the special attention, extra effort and friendly smiles provided by everyone there.

First and foremost………Nelly Bass. The Graceful and seemingly ever-present “face” of the Royal Club. She never fails to impress us with her hard-work and attention to our every request, often offering us something before we’d even ask! She is truly a gem and honestly one of the reasons the Royal Club is so impressive to us and why we continue to return without hesitation.

The entire staff at La Carreta (Royal Club Restaurant) are simply outstanding. The Room Service, the morning cappuccinos, the outstanding meals, the drink service by the hot-tub or the spectacular Spanish Coffee in the evening, they are always there with a smile. At the risk of mistaking a name or missing someone, a very special gracias to; Tomas, Mayorico and Adrian. (My apologies if I’ve missed anyone).

As in previous years, we used the services of Palancar Dive shop and, as usual, they were very good. The majority of our group were not certified divers so took advantage of the Scuba “lessons” in the pool and subsequent shore-dive. Their instructor was Alfonso Aranda who was instrumental in getting my wife into the sport last year and, once again, his calm and patient approach allowed a number of our group to experience their first dive in what many consider to be one of the best dive destinations in the world.

Also, for the third year, we were fortunate to have the same driver/taxi for what has now become our annual island tour including the east-side, shopping in town and anything else we wanted to do or see. His service is outstanding, his prices are reasonable and he is very personable and professional. We would highly recommend to anyone so, if you are interested in his contact information, please PM me.

To summarize; we couldn’t be more pleased with our vacation and certainly will not hesitate to recommend this very special resort.
The charm and character of the Occidental Grand Cozumel and the dedication of Nelly Bass and her staff at the Royal Club is what keeps us return year after year.

Muchas gracias and Hasta la vista

Room Tip: Royal Club is worth the upgrad
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NovaScotiaNick44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    92
    25
    14
    19
See reviews for
64
183
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel at midnight, which was a shame as the royal club reception was closed, so no welcome champagne for us. We were given a map and directions and set off in the pitch black to find our room - a challenge when jet lagged!

Our room was 2016 - on the ground floor. Big tip - do NOT get a ground floor room. It was huge, but smelt very badly of damp and even the bed clothes smelt of it. The next morning no light got into the room as outside faced straight onto trees/rainforesty shrubs. However, we asked to change rooms and there was no fuss and we were moved to a first floor room the next afternoon - and it was light, bright and lovely. It was an effort getting access to the nrpew room, but we were sent a bottle of champagne as way of apology which was a nice touch.

The royal club is lovely - two of the accommodation blocks are walled off and have their own pool (with jacuzzi) and restaurant - which was a big factor in our decision to upgrade as we had been concerned about comments on the quality of the food in the other restaurants. No problem we thought, we'll just eat in the royal club restaurant every night - but we soon found out that the menu in there never changes - not ideal when you are staying for 2 weeks and there are only 2-3 menus choices! Really think this should be more clearly explained or, preferably, the menus change every week for more variety.

Because of this we ate in all the restaurants - le olivio was very disappointing, very little atmosphere and poor service, but la sonata (the steak house) was very good, but popular, so you had to book early. The main buffet varied wildly for dinner - food was best on Mexican and BBQ nights - other nights, not so good. Same applies to lunch - simple food, but we could always find something to eat - and the desserts were great.

The beach is a short walk over a wooden bridge across a marsh/mangrove swamp that had masses of terrapins (and a small alligator!), but the sides of the bridge were nearly all taped off with 'danger' on them...

Special mention should go to Adrian at the royal club restaurant - always attentive and really friendly. If you eat there you must order the Mayan coffee - an amazing show!

One last negative - the safe in our room broke 3 times in a week, always when we were on our way out and we had to hang around to let the maintenance man in. Got done - but 3 times??

If you are a scuba diver - we were not Impressed with Dive Palancar - the set up at the hotel. Yes, they are cheap, but the equipment is in poor condition, we were not asked about our experience and got zero briefing - they seemed to just want to get as many people on and out of the boat asap - more like a water taxi. Probably fine for really experienced divers, bit not for us. Pro divers at the neighbouring complex were great and had good, European instructors who filled us with confidence and really looked after us - worth the extra money.

Nelly our concierge was great and always sorted out our restaurant bookings and other requests promptly.

Another downside that you shoulfpd be awa

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank goodwin71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

My wife and I visit here regularly with friends or our kids. This month, we brought out company management team back again. Everyone had a fabulous time. The service is awesome. The resort is amazingly beautiful. Fishing boat picked up us at the resort dock for a day of great fishing and unforgettable snorkeling. We will be back again next year with team.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great. I actually love the highest level, 3rd floor, because you can see all th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHJPtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We visited the Occidental Grand late May Early June for 9 days. We’ve been to the Grand a number of times. It is located on the southwest portion of the island.

The Royal Club is a two building gated enclave that separates itself from the rest of the Occidental Grand Resort. As a guest of the Royal Club it has additional benefits and most definitely a feel of personal service.

The Royal Club guests are taken by golf cart from the front entrance of the resort to their own concierge check-in. The check-in is very quick and easy. Your luggage is brought to your room by a staff member.

The Royal Club has its own exclusive restaurant. The wait staff seems to be hand picked and provides exceptional service. The food is prepared and presented in a way that increases the dining experience. They open for Breakfast and lunch (no reservations required). Diner reservations are made at the same office that you check in. They also make diner reservations, for you, at the other a la carte restaurants.

La Carreta (the Royal Club restaurant) serves dinner in five courses. soup, salad, appetizer, main course and dessert. They have a fine selection of entries such as rack of lamb, NY strip, tenderloin, grouper, chicken and vegetarian meals. The house wines and liquors are an up grade as well. Table side flaming desert coffee drinks are available upon request. They are a beautiful end of the meal presentation. No charge, but we tip extra for the effort.

The other a la carte restaurants at the Occidental Grand are Los Olivios with a Mediterranean theme and Sonora Grill with a Southwest theme. Both have nice menus and good service. All Inclusive resorts all have some process for making restaurant reservations. Some are more cumbersome than others. The Royal Club guests simply stop by the office. It’s a couple of minutes and you’re done. Buffets are always available if you prefer more casual dining. All meals are well stocked with a variety of meal choices. Each night has a different theme such as Italian, Asian. Mexican… The resort also has a late night pizza restaurant.

They keep the in room refrigerator stocked daily with soda, beer and bottled water. At the Royal Club every evening they provide turn down service. They arrange the comforter, fluff the pillows and generally leave a treat with the next day’s itinerary.

The Royal Club also has a small private pool. Each of the two buildings has a computer for the guests use at no charge. The Royal Club office is staffed from about 8:00am until about 10:00pm. Mostly we found the Royal Club manager (Nelly Baas) in the office. Nelly is one of the reasons the Royal Club is a definite upgrade. She could be a concierge in a New York City Hotel without the NY attitude. She is calm, confident and most of all sincerely friendly.

The reason we started going to this resort is the diving. The on-site operation (Dive Palancar) is a well run full service dive shop. They schedule 4 dives a day. Also, several times a week they have night dives. Because of the location of the resort it is a short boat trip to the many spectacular dive sites.

I recommend the Occidental Grand and The Royal Club. I’m already booked for my next trip there!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank HarryCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My husband and I traveled to the Occidental Grand in April. As per usual, we had a wonderful stay! The food, accommodations, staff and facility were perfect! Planning on going back in 2013 for our 5th stay. Can't say enough about this place!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

What a fantastic place this is!!!!...cant really fault it in any way.....the rooms (although no sea views) are kept spotlessly clean, good beds so a good nights sleep after a hard day around the two pools of which one is the "quiet pool" where you can just relax and soak up the rays.....the food in the restaurants was always good and plentiful with good friendly service which also applies to the bar staff who always greet you with a beaming smile....the grounds are immaculate with flowers and shrubs everywhere....look out for the resident iguanas
The hotel is modelled on traditional Mexican style with bright colours and is a refreshing change from the standard issue large hotels that have no smiles
It is mainly divers who come here for the wonderful reefs...although we dont dive we did go snorkelling on the reefs and saw some amazing underwater life including dolphins and turtles
It is also well worth the trip into San Miguel, the capital town $20 by cab
The only downside of our stay here was the beach....not exactly like the photos but other than that a fantastic hotel, friendly people and the sunsets are unmissable....GO THERE

Room Tip: No sea view rooms available....didnt hear any complaints from anyone about their rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PETERedditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Nancy and David went BACK to Cozumel, Mexico in July 2012. We stayed at the Occidental Grand again. This is our second stay at Occidental Grand and we have already confirmed a third stay in September.

This trip we did not take as many pictures for a couple of reasons. 1. We'd seen the resort before and it looked just as marvelous as it did in April 2012. 2. David got an ear infection on the 4th day there and therefore could not dive for the rest of the week. (He's all better now) The on-call doctor Jorge A. Cardenas was fantastic. While the resorts med-tech had poor english skills he was able to put me in touch with the doctor. The doctor had GREAT english skill, a great bedside manner and quickly responded to the resort to see me.

Many of the dive shop personnel, restaurant personnel and other resort personnel remembered us from April. Even the resort's head chef remembered us. That was a nice touch. It was like coming home again!

The Occidental Grand Resort (without our knowledge) upgraded us to the Royal Club. The Royal Club has many very nice amenities that the deluxe rooms do not have. Such as a private pool just for Royal Club guest, a private restaurant just for Royal Club guest and free Wi-Fi for each guest. There are several little things which make the Royal Club unique and well worth the stay.

THANK YOU OCCIDENTAL GRAND FOR THE UPGRADE!!

The resort is an AI (all inclusive) meaning everything, except diving, is included. The food, the room, the entertainment and all the alcoholic drinks are all included. The resort is huge and absolutely beautiful!

The diving was as good as it always was. The current was a little faster than normal but, nothing that we couldn't handle. We dove with a great outfit called DIVE PALANCAR. They are extremely professional and a great dive operation to dive with. Dive Palancar has 4 planned dives per day. A deep dive at 9 am, a shallow dive at 10:30 am, a deep dive at 2 pm and a shallow dive at 3:30 pm. Each dive lasts between 45 minutes to an hour. We like the shallow dives so we did most of our dives at the 10:30 am and the 3:30 pm times.


For more pictures view our trip report here:
http://www.rhodesaz.com/Cozumel%20July%202012/July%202012.htm

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rhodesaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.1 mi away
The Landmark Resort of Cozumel
6.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
9.9 mi away
Ventanas al Mar
Ventanas al Mar
#17 of 52 in Cozumel
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Occidental Cozumel
Occidental Cozumel
#22 of 52 in Cozumel
4,571 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
0.4 mi away
Allegro Cozumel
Allegro Cozumel
#24 of 52 in Cozumel
4,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Level at Occidental Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Level at Occidental Cozumel

Property: Royal Level at Occidental Cozumel
Address: Carretera Costera Sur Km 16.6, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#14 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Level at Occidental Cozumel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Barcelo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Royal Level at Occidental Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Club At Occidental Grand Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing