We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mezcalitos” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playa Mezcalitos

Playa Mezcalitos
Ranked #66 of 158 things to do in Cozumel
Attraction details
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
229 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Mezcalitos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

Complaining that a small place doesn't take credit cards and only having 500 peso bills indicates a very basic lack of travel smarts.

Been to Mezcalitos many times the staff is very attentive without bothering you every five minutes to push drinks. The food is good, the view is great. Take a nice walk on the beach enjoy a nice low key place !

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank cozbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    20
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

We love driving over to the east side and always have a great time!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
1 review
“I love every single second....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

The food is amazing, the staff so calm and kind, the view priceless.... every vacation I go to Cozumel I look forward to visit Mezcalitos, I can tell you if you want a relaxing place to enjoy a couple of beers, a nice view, the best fish tacos, and latter take a nap on the hamaca! You will like Mezcalitos!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emililano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeRidder, LA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not that great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

We have been to Mezcalitos a few times and each time just seems like it has gotten worse than before. There are usually 3 guys hanging around running the place or waiting to see a topless female at the make-shift "nude beach".

We ordered drinks only to learn that they couldn't take credit cards so I had to use a 500 peso bill in which they didn't have change for. Our only option was to drink enough until they had change from our growing bar tab or leave. After we drove all the way over we decided we would make the best of it.

The drinks were mixed very weak so keep an eye on them while mixing...We had to tell them to add more liquor everytime as they would not even use a full shot.

The view is nice and the hammocks are great but you can enjoy a better view and service just a bit down the road at "Coconuts".

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank BeeRayMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union City, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“October Grand Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Dress casual, bring lots of suntan lotion and don't forget your camera(s).

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank ArmeNicolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Playa Mezcalitos also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Playa Mezcalitos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing