We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last stop!”
Review of Playa Mezcalitos

Playa Mezcalitos
Ranked #67 of 159 things to do in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Last stop!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This place was cool...we had a few beers on our self-guided bar hop. Best place to get in the water with a bar close by. Apparently it's a "naked beach"...never saw anyone naked...

Just a note, we got harassed by the shop owners a bit and their prices were outrageous. We were there "at the end of the day"...5:30, so they were probably trying to upsale as much as possible, but as in San Miguel, it's such a turn-off. We didn't go back to this stop on our second trip around the East Side for this reason.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank downeyek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    23
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly A Great Last Frontier!!”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We have been going to Mezcalitos for over 25 Years. We love the atmosphere, the food and the incredibly friendly service. Not too mention the amazing view of the caribbean as well as getting to enjoy seeing the lights of Cuba shine on late at night across the ocean(Under good weather conditions). Their Private beach is very relaxing as well. Make sure to enter some of their contests and get your picture in their albums!!! In summary, whether you are there with friends or bringing your family and want to relax or you want to party. Mezcalitos offers an amazing day of fun and relaxation.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Edgar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Strong Margaritas..food pretty good”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We decided to try Mescalitos after reading about them on Tripadvisor. Aside from the barkers, the place was okay... on the beach... strong margaritas served in little clay pots... We had the conch, fried fish, shrimp quesadillas, and a chicken sandwich. All of these items were good. For the price you could eat much better at La Mission but for a beachside bar it was good. We'd probably stop again just for the drinks, guac., and chips.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Buck D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best bar on the back side of the island”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Friendly staff, nice breeze, excellent lunch (burgers, ceviche, quac & chips), guys love the sting game, beautiful view.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeP50Dallas_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homosassa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“rent a car at LESS PAY & explore”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

we arrived via carnival paradise at the carnival pier in december 2012. the pier is on the west side of the island. you will walk down the pier and between two bar/ restaurants, then head left thru the shopping area. catch a taxi at the terminal past the shops for $7 and proceed to Less Pay car rental. for around $36 you can rent a 4 door vehicle with ac and explore the island for the day. we reserved a car on line before the cruise. Less Pay is north of all the cruise docking locations. john or carlos will take god care of you. we traveled to the east side of the island where most of the beaches are located. it is a 20 minute drive with no traffic to speak of on a saturday morning. you will arrive at mescalitos, where you can check out the souveniers and have a drink or choose froggs, next door for food and drinks.the beaches are beautuful.. further down the road is coconuts beach bar with an equally beautiful beach and wonderfully semi private umbrella tables amid island landscaping. continuing on..you will come to the island lighthouse on the left and catedral on the right . there is a wonderful little church there and hand -made crafts are available... take a photo with "the last mayan " just a few more minutes on the main road and you are back in the city to return your rental. the entire trip can be done in 3 or 4 hrs depending on your level of thirst or hunger. this is a great way to spend a day in cozumel, especially if you want to get away from the crowds and the hustle and bustle of the city. we never felt unsafe at any time. enjoy your trip

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank ibuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Playa Mezcalitos also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Playa Mezcalitos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing