We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozumel diving july 2012”
Review of Manta Raya Divers

Manta Raya Divers
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scuba and Snorkel Tours in Cozumel, PADI Training, Private Tours, Small Groups, Customer Care, Safety & Satisfaction is our Target. Beyond Industry Standards. Dive and Snorkel Accommodation Packages
Ohio City, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cozumel diving july 2012”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Just returned home from an exciting week of diving with Manta Raya Divers,9 total dives. I have been diving with Fernando for the last 12 years. It is a small opportation that allows for extended bottom time at locations where you will very seldom see another diver. If you are a beginning diver or an advanced diver you will come to realize that diving with Fernando is relaxing and educational. Although a quite man, he has been diving Cozumel for many years and knows the reefs, the currents and the abilitly of the divers on his boat. Have a question about how to extend your bottom time by using less air, just ask! Sammy will always greet your return to the boat with a smile and he is an excellent Captain. When you arrive at the marina, put your watch away, they may not always leave on time but take a look around, they are working and their knowledge and of the currents and what to do with a group in those currents for your safe return far exceeds leaving exactly on time.
To Fernando and Sammy, thank you so much it is always a pleasure and see you sooner then later. C

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ccc34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    7
    1
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Running Springs, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No show...very dissapointed.”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

After a few emails back and forth about a month before our excursion I felt comfortable booking with Manta Raya Divers, My son and I came in off of a cruise ship and wanted to make sure we had a booking so to not be late getting back on our ship. We spent several days looking at online sites for scuba diving in Cozumel and were excited to go and made sure we booked at least a month out to get the excursion set up before we got on the ship. We wanted 11am on their schedule but Fernando asked us if we could make it 1pm since that would be in the middle of their day. I agreed as long as we left on time because it is a 2 hr class and we needed to make sure we got on the ship on time. When we arrived at the port via taxi no one was there. The few people that were there did not know where Fernando was after 10 minutes one of the other ship people said that he is on his way back and should arrive in 20 minutes. After another 1/2 hour some one else arrived back with the boat, not introducing himself.....no apology....little understanding of English,and then had the guts to ask us to wait for the other people that they will be taking out if we still wanted to go. This would of made us a good hour to hour and a half late. Fernando was a no show and I have yet to hear anything from him.They say to judge someones behavior is to look at past behavior and we just couldnt trust that we would be back or even leave on time. We did not feel comfortable so we left without going Scuba Diving. I was so upset and dissapointed that my dream of scuba diving with my son was not going to happen that day....

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MountainFlygirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome, personalized scuba snorkel tour”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Fernando is an experienced local dive master. He takes small groups and allows for maximum bottom time. He knew a lot of information and I have been diving with him for years and would highly recommend him

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank zazazsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hour long dives at San Juan and Manta Raya Divers in Cozumel is the way to dive Cozumel”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Once again Fernando and Sammy outdid themselves..The marine life in Cozumel is at it's all time 20 year best. If you've been diving Cozumel for years and haven't gotten the chance to dive the North end you are missig some reefs that look like an overgrown garden. The color of the coral at San Juan reef is incredible along with the abundance of marine life not to mention doing my safety stop with 3 squids. Manta Raya gives you the opportunity to dive some of the unique places in Cozumel that only a small operation can afford the dive time and personal attention needed to do these dives. Make sure you give these guys a chance, it will be a life long connection to Cozumel Diving.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank ScubaChicTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Another trip to be remembered!”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We have been diving with Manta Raya and Fernando for over fifteen years and our experience in January was consistent with all our trips diving with his operation. Wonderful! Somehow we always see something unique and interesting – I think Fernando just attracts the critters! This trip it was the eagle rays and we saw them deep and shallow, up close and personal.. The boat is small, comfortable and intimate and the service personalized and attentive. If you need equipment, a place to stay, recommendations of where to eat or details on the fish and coral, you are covered with Manta Raya. They run snorkeling trips, too! We would not dive with any other operator!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Manta Raya Divers also viewed

 

Been to Manta Raya Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing