We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Buyer beware!”

Coconuts Bar and Grill
Ranked #3 of 22 Nightlife in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Buyer beware!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just visited Coconuts Bar and Grill after taking a jeep ride around the other side of the island away from the cruise terminal. The scenery was interesting and played good music and had a great view of the ocean. The service was decent and drinks were pretty good...we did not try the food other than the very spicy salsa with chips. I would say one draw back is that the waiter tried to get an extra tip by telling us the amount owed which was quite a bit more than the actual exchange rate from pesos to dollars. Im sure this is not uncommon in the area but as a suggestion you should educate yourself on the current exchange rates so you do not get overcharged.The waiter also put several unecessary photo albums full of raunchy pics on our table...this place could be a lot of fun without all that.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasBigMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    61
    21
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Overpriced food and drinks”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Stopped here with a bunch of friends for some food and drinks and was not very impressed. Was first harassed in the parking lot to buy something from all the vendors. I will say the view is quite nice, but that's about it. Food is average and overpriced and drinks are not strong at all and quite pricey. Place is not worth going to in my opinion.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MathiasTheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our second time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Loved it! The atmosphere...the staff...the food and the knock you on your butt drinks. We enjoyed the music they play and just gazing up and around at all the memorabilia.. Just go!!;)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank daxkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Gorgeous view bad service & food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

The view is just gorgeous. We waited a long time for our drinks that were terrible. The fish tacos were soggy. The place is over rated and expensive.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jake2mia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place for drinks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We didn't eat here, so can't review the food. What a beautiful place. Lots to see, parrots, alligator, people and tshirts from around the world! Great service!! We could have stayed all day, but the kids were with us so you can't sit at the bar all day :) What a great place to hang out. You are in Mexico, the sun in shining, there is sand at your feet and palm trees and foliage abound, how can it not be excellent?

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 800jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coconuts Bar and Grill also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Coconuts Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing