We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Destination is beautiful, but accommodations are lacking.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Ranked #17 of 53 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2013

After hearing rave reviews about the Secrets brand my husband and I decided to celebrate our anniversary at Secrets Aura. Upon arrival the staff was very friendly and we had high hopes. Unfortunately, those hopes were dashed when we were taken to our room. The room had the overwhelming stench of mold and hadn't been cleaned very well. In fact, there was black mold all over the place, stains all over the white couch, sticky drink rings on all the tables, something splattered on the alarm clock and mirrors, no light bulb in the bedside
lamp, and dirty faucets.

Now...my husband and I are not people who usually complain. We don't send back a meal if it isn't to our liking and we generally go with the flow. In this case though, there were so many things wrong. There was a day where housekeeping didn't show up. We had no toilet paper or tissues and had to call three times to get a response. My husband even brought the housekeeping manager into our room to show him the deficiencies. It did no good and the room was never really cleaned. All the in-room drinks were bottles without twist off tops. We asked if there were bottle openers and were told they didn't have any. There was trash laying all over the property and things were generally in disrepair.

There are; however, some good things about this property. 24 hour room service is great and for the most part the staff is very friendly, especially Francisco at Windows. The swim-up suites are novel and the watersides to the tiki bar were fun. The beach and ocean were beautiful and snorkeling was amazing.

Overall this wasn't the worst place I've ever stayed and I've traveled all over the world. And honestly, if we hadn't spent thousands on this vacation it wouldn't seem so bad. For the money it's totally not worth it and almost every other guest we spoke with felt the same way. This place has a lot of potential but still has a long way to go before it's truly a luxury resort.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Kathleen B,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

Thank you for your very complete and constructive feedback as it provides us with information that is helpful in identifying those areas of opportunity we may be overlooking .Unfortunately I can see that you did not enjoy all the services we provided to you, and I do apologize for any shortcomings from our side. The areas you have raised are under review with the Department Heads.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Secrets Aura Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,882)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,053 - 3,059 of 3,883 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

The overall resort is fine. They are still under construction. but the Food isn't amazing at a few of the restaurants and the service in the restaurants is slow and some of the staff wasn't the friendliest

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tenille M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Tenille M,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

Thank you for your very complete and constructive feedback as it provides us with information that is helpful in identifying those areas of opportunity we may be overlooking .Unfortunately I can see that you did not enjoy all the services we provided to you, and I do apologize for any shortcomings from our side. The areas you have raised are under review with the Department Heads.

On another note It was very rewarding to read that despite the fact that we did not meet your expectations you still enjoyed other aspects of the resort.


We sincerely hope to welcome you to Secrets Aura Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Overall the hotel was great and we would go back.
Staff is very friendly. Bartender at the pool bar was the best.
The rooms are up to date and clean.
Food portions in the restaurants are small and the service is slow.
Only beer they service is Dos equis.


  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Christine M,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

Your kind comments about your overall vacation are deeply appreciated by our staff and prospective guests as they assist us in gauging the needs of our property and making improvements where needed. To this end, we were disappointed to learn of your thoughts regarding our food and slow service, however we will make changes accordingly. Please be assured that we intend to make every effort to look into your suggestions and make these subsequent improvements happen.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Went in open minded knowing of the construction and change over to Secrets property. Wish we wouldnt have wasted our money. This is NOT a 5 star, maybe 3. The food is the same EVERY DAY! We had a swim out suite. The pool was cleaned twice in 7 days, if thats what you want to call it. Always a lot if dead bugs, plastic wrappers and junk floating in the pool, not to mention garbage around the pool that is never picked up. The rm is nothing special, bathroom is small and akways had many bugs in the sink and crawling on bathroom walks. They were NOT ants! The view is beautiful and the staff does a good job. Property is very small and no nightly entertainment. This was not our first trip to Mexico, so we knew this did not compare to a 5 star. Thank you to Mario at the swim up bar, Issabella at the pool and Gilberto at the French dinner! They were great! We will not go back to this property not even if it was free. We enjoy good food and Secrets Aura is below avarage. We were told by the VIP rep to go into town to eat! Expensive trip that includes food to be told that... Not again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nrthmigurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Nrthmigurl,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are disappointed to learn that your recent visit at Secrets Aura Cozumel fell below your expectations. We regret not being able to hear from you prior to your departure as we would have liked the opportunity to make the necessary changes to suit your needs. It is hoped that you will afford us another chance to serve you as we feel certain that you did not experience our usual standards. Please feel free in the near future to inform us of how we can make your vacation experience a resounding success.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Secrets Aura Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

My wife and I first visited this hotel as a shore excursdion from a cruise ship. We were attracted by the swim up rooms and decided we would come back on a vacation. After reading some reveiws on trip advisor, I was a little apprehensive, but since we had seen it first hand and there were a lot of good reviews as well we took the leap. Glad we did! We reserved a swim up room # 1110 and had a wonderful vacation. Sure the room and the property could use a little upkeep, but they are working on it daily. It is a beach property and the beach is tough on a property. The staff was very friendly and and always willing to help. The food while not always excellent, was always good. I'm a meat and potaoes man. Don't care for all the fufu stuff, but if I didn't like it, I just scraped it off. I wouldn't go there expecting perfection, but all in all it is a great place and getting better. My wife is an interior designer and not easy to please, but we are both ready to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Steve M,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We appreciate that you have taken the time to acknowledge the efforts of our dedicated team members because without a doubt they are motivated by our guests kind but informative feedback such as yours. It was our pleasure to have served you. We will harder to focus on getting improving our standards to that they are in line with other Secrets properties in order to be able to create the 5 star experience you were looking for.


We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My husband and I wanted to try out Cozumel to relax and get away from our hectic life back home.We have traveled extensively throughout Mexico and The Caribbean: mostly 5 star resorts. We thought we'd give Secrets a try. I was skeptical after all the negative reviews I read before we went.I have to say that this resort was special. It has a unique design, the beach was lovely and the staff was excellent. The restaurants were all very nice-Bordeaux being out favorite! (Caladensia was wonderful).If you want something not on the menu, they will try to accommodate. Room service and menu was also excellent and we never had to wait too long. We had the corner swimout in the preferred section. Gorgeous! Our room attendant Juanita was a doll! After a day or so she knew exactly when to come and clean. I only wish the bar service in our room would have had some liquor or wine-I am not a beer drinker-but no big deal. The preferred lounge opens early. We walked the beach every day, some days having lunch at Sunscape and swinging on the swings at their bar near the beach. Plenty of chairs on beach and around pools. The water slides in the back of the resort were lots of fun! We never made it to the club at night as we were in our room early. You can do all you want or nothing at all. We even parasailed.The water sports team hooked us up and the boat came right to the end of the pier to pick us up. Yes, there are renovations going on, but it really didn't bother us. I am looking forward to seeing it upon completion, it is going to be stunning! I would highly recommend this resort for anyone who wants to relax and enjoy the raw peaceful beauty Cozumel along with a pretty boutique style adults only all inclusive property. So glad we went!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank AnitaHN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear AnitaHN2013,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are thrilled to hear that your vacation was wonderful and that you were pleased with the service of our relaxing atmosphere, service, cleanliness of rooms, delicious food and drinks and various staff members. Our team is always trying to ensure that we surpass the expectations of each guest so your review served as our reward. To this end, it was encouraging to hear you acknowledge those aspects of our product.


We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Under new management yet again. We have been coming to the same resort for eight years but this will probably be the last time. We tried all the restaurants but only one was top notch- Windows. Our family booked the Aura with us but we're placed in the Sabor next door. They paid the premium Aura price but didn't get the premium room. The staff insisted the Sabor was now part of the Aura. The last several years we received $100 spa credit and paid an extra $40 for a couples massage. This year we got a $200 spa credit upon booking but when we got here it could not be used entirely for the messages. It could only be used piecemeal for different things. Couples messages cost $249. Construction went on at all hours and late in the evening, but wasn't quite as bad as last year. Our first year at the resort we purchased a membership and used it two years only to find out it was cheaper to book on-line without using the membership. Memberships are a complete rip off. Management would not listen to problems or issues. The best thing about this resort were the servers and workers. We were treated well by them but management will not see us again. It seems since it is now Secrets they are too big for their britches.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank DannyLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear DannyLC,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

It is naturally very disappointing that you did not enjoy your recent visit with us and are very concerned to read that your experience did not live up to our usual level of service. Please accept our apologies it is certainly not our intention to disappoint our guests, however, it is obvious that we failed to meet your expectations on several points. I wish to reassure you, that I have shared and are trying to address your comments with our Department Heads to ensure that we take all the necessary actions to improve our services as well to reduce the opportunity for these mistakes to reoccur in the future with other guests.

We are sincerely sorry the hear that you do not intend to return to our resort but nevertheless hope that we will once again have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel so that we can redeem ourselves and offer you the service that you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
4.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#2 of 53 in Cozumel
587 reviews
3.8 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#18 of 53 in Cozumel
2,372 reviews
2 mi away
Occidental Cozumel
Occidental Cozumel
#19 of 53 in Cozumel
5,035 reviews
2.5 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#10 of 53 in Cozumel
5,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Aura Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Aura Cozumel

Address: Carretera Costera Sur KM. 12.9 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Aura Cozumel Grand Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#9 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £156 - £416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Aura Cozumel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a perfect blend of luxury and excitement, Secrets Aura Cozumel is the ultimate adults-only, all-suite resort located on the island of Cozumel. Sitting just 12 miles off the coast of Mexico’s Yucatan Peninsula, Secrets Aura has it all. Bask in a world of Unlimited-Luxury® while staying in one of 266 contemporary, stylish non-smoking suites complete with private terraces or swim-up access, stunning views, 24-hour room service, daily refreshed minibar and more. For added luxury, guests can upgrade to the Preferred Club and enjoy additional amenities and inclusions. The experience continues with limitless gourmet dining at gourmet restaurants plus 24-hour dining options allow guests to devour late night bites at the Coco Cafe or stay in and order room service all without reservations and top-shelf spirits at three bars and lounges throughout the resort. Light up the night with live nightly entertainment and activities. Or enjoy land and water sports, three sparkling pools, live entertainment with pool and beach wait service throughout the day. Dive into the Caribbean at nearby world-renowned dive sites; explore the natural wonders of the second largest coral reef system in the world, the Mesoamerican Barrier Reef System. Learn to dive deep with the help of the fullservice, on-site dive operator, Dive House. Indulge in specialty treatments at the Secrets Spa by Pevonia®, located right next door at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, the most complete spa on the island, or simply spend time with the ones you love. Secrets Aura Cozumel – Light. Luxury. Love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Secrets Aura Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aura Cozumel Grand Hotel Cozumel
Wyndham Cozumel
Cozumel Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing