We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This was our first trip to Cozumel and I was pretty excited from looking at the pictures of the resort. I expected it to be pretty awesome and was unfortunately disappointed by what we found.

Overall it was a mixed bag in line with other recent reviewer's experiences - the rooms were in disrepair (our towel rack was coming off the wall, sink was cracked and the room was moldy and smelled like a very wet basement). The room was clean but service was very spotty. Some days it was awesome, some days poor - I sort of expected more consistency at an all inclusive - my mistake. Isabel, Mario, Vicky and Julio down at the pool are great and all of the other staff we encountered seemed really friendly so that's good at least. Food was ok but also all over the place as far as taste, temperature, arrival time, whether it was what you ordered and so on. For example, at dinner one evening we had our waiter drop off our main courses and then disappear. We ended up just leaving after about 30 minutes since no one else came over either.

The beach and snorkeling by the shore was great and the pools were good (and clean) but the construction was constant and the property looked like it still needed a lot of work to become what it's advertising itself as - definitely not a 5 star resort. The Sky Bar and meeting areas appeared to be closed so really the only bar open after 10 pm was Desires which also smells really musty. We won't be back.

Room Tip: We tipped our room cleaner and that seemed to help keep a good supply of towels and water. Also the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Drea G,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our beach, snorkeling and pool facilities. With that being said, we genuinely regret hearing that you were disappointed with your stay at Secrets but however guarantee that this is definitely not a true depiction of our standards of operation and certainly not the typical experience of our guests. With regards to maintenance and food and beverage we apologize for any dissatisfaction and will certainly share your comments with all the respective department managers in order to avoid any other negative opinions.

We are sincerely sorry the hear that you do not intend to return to our resort but nevertheless hope that we will once again have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel so that we can redeem ourselves and offer you the service that you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,745)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,937 - 2,943 of 3,745 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

We love Secrets! This was our second time at this resort and look forward to many more. The staff are friendly and always greeted you with a smile. Food was incredible. This vacation was by far the best vacation we had. Thank you secrets for making our vacation perfect!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank boominkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear A TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We appreciate your kind review as a repeat customer and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent vacation with us and I am sure your informative review will also serve to motivate other travelers who might be thinking of visiting our property. In addition your positive recommendation of our friendly staff will serve to encourage our staff who work tirelessly to ensure our guests’ receive total satisfaction.

We look forward to hosting you on your next vacation and hope that Secrets Resorts we will be your first choice in accommodation whenever you are planning your future vacations.

Warm Regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Overall we had a great time at the Secrets Aura Cozumel resort, but I would not return. The resort is no where near a 5 star property. In fact, I'd say probably a 3. We opted for the preferred category and I still am not sure what we received for the extra cost. When I mentioned that I thought an upgraded mini bar was supposed to be part of the preferred club amenities, three individual/airplane size bottles appeared. As someone mentioned before, the only beer was Dos Equis and only one selection of wine; although you could pay for other bottles of wine. Drinks were hit or miss. One day they were out of limes, another day out of straws. Everyday they were out of towels.

There is very limited options for food. The breakfast buffet was often picked over and not replenished. There were three restaurants at the resort with the option to use the resort next door for meals as well. None left a lasting impression. During our seven night stay, we went off property by taxi to eat twice. The room service breakfast was outstanding! I heard from others that they would go to their room to order room service sandwiches because they were great. Funny that the same sandwiches & crepes could not be had in the restaurant or poolside.

The rooms were nothing to rave about although the bed was VERY comfortable! We were extremely disappointed with the accommodations and asked to be moved. We were told that we couldn't until the next day. The next day, we worked with Miguel, the head concierge who was wonderful. He was a true professional who seemed genuinely concerned to ensure we had a pleasant experience.

The snorkeling on site was the best part. Bring your own though if you want to snorkel for more than two hours. For some reason there was a two hour limit on the use of the resort snorkel gear. They have a sales team that attempts to sell vacations clubs. They are not overly pushy though which was breath of fresh air.

All in all, it was a nice resort but certainly not in the luxury category. For the money, I would go elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meprovo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear meprovo,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

Thank you for providing an informative review on your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience but we want to express our sincere apology for not being able to meet your expectations as a new guest. I have passed your comments about the lack of service and lack of satisfaction in our product as it relates to specific department heads. I have reported them so that they can implement measures to combat these issues to avoid future negative opinions.

We are sincerely sorry the hear that you do not intend to return to our resort but nevertheless hope that we will once again have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel so that we can redeem ourselves and offer you the service that you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

After hearing rave reviews about the Secrets brand my husband and I decided to celebrate our anniversary at Secrets Aura. Upon arrival the staff was very friendly and we had high hopes. Unfortunately, those hopes were dashed when we were taken to our room. The room had the overwhelming stench of mold and hadn't been cleaned very well. In fact, there was black mold all over the place, stains all over the white couch, sticky drink rings on all the tables, something splattered on the alarm clock and mirrors, no light bulb in the bedside
lamp, and dirty faucets.

Now...my husband and I are not people who usually complain. We don't send back a meal if it isn't to our liking and we generally go with the flow. In this case though, there were so many things wrong. There was a day where housekeeping didn't show up. We had no toilet paper or tissues and had to call three times to get a response. My husband even brought the housekeeping manager into our room to show him the deficiencies. It did no good and the room was never really cleaned. All the in-room drinks were bottles without twist off tops. We asked if there were bottle openers and were told they didn't have any. There was trash laying all over the property and things were generally in disrepair.

There are; however, some good things about this property. 24 hour room service is great and for the most part the staff is very friendly, especially Francisco at Windows. The swim-up suites are novel and the watersides to the tiki bar were fun. The beach and ocean were beautiful and snorkeling was amazing.

Overall this wasn't the worst place I've ever stayed and I've traveled all over the world. And honestly, if we hadn't spent thousands on this vacation it wouldn't seem so bad. For the money it's totally not worth it and almost every other guest we spoke with felt the same way. This place has a lot of potential but still has a long way to go before it's truly a luxury resort.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Kathleen B,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

Thank you for your very complete and constructive feedback as it provides us with information that is helpful in identifying those areas of opportunity we may be overlooking .Unfortunately I can see that you did not enjoy all the services we provided to you, and I do apologize for any shortcomings from our side. The areas you have raised are under review with the Department Heads.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Secrets Aura Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The overall resort is fine. They are still under construction. but the Food isn't amazing at a few of the restaurants and the service in the restaurants is slow and some of the staff wasn't the friendliest

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tenille M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Tenille M,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

Thank you for your very complete and constructive feedback as it provides us with information that is helpful in identifying those areas of opportunity we may be overlooking .Unfortunately I can see that you did not enjoy all the services we provided to you, and I do apologize for any shortcomings from our side. The areas you have raised are under review with the Department Heads.

On another note It was very rewarding to read that despite the fact that we did not meet your expectations you still enjoyed other aspects of the resort.


We sincerely hope to welcome you to Secrets Aura Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Overall the hotel was great and we would go back.
Staff is very friendly. Bartender at the pool bar was the best.
The rooms are up to date and clean.
Food portions in the restaurants are small and the service is slow.
Only beer they service is Dos equis.


  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Christine M,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

Your kind comments about your overall vacation are deeply appreciated by our staff and prospective guests as they assist us in gauging the needs of our property and making improvements where needed. To this end, we were disappointed to learn of your thoughts regarding our food and slow service, however we will make changes accordingly. Please be assured that we intend to make every effort to look into your suggestions and make these subsequent improvements happen.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Went in open minded knowing of the construction and change over to Secrets property. Wish we wouldnt have wasted our money. This is NOT a 5 star, maybe 3. The food is the same EVERY DAY! We had a swim out suite. The pool was cleaned twice in 7 days, if thats what you want to call it. Always a lot if dead bugs, plastic wrappers and junk floating in the pool, not to mention garbage around the pool that is never picked up. The rm is nothing special, bathroom is small and akways had many bugs in the sink and crawling on bathroom walks. They were NOT ants! The view is beautiful and the staff does a good job. Property is very small and no nightly entertainment. This was not our first trip to Mexico, so we knew this did not compare to a 5 star. Thank you to Mario at the swim up bar, Issabella at the pool and Gilberto at the French dinner! They were great! We will not go back to this property not even if it was free. We enjoy good food and Secrets Aura is below avarage. We were told by the VIP rep to go into town to eat! Expensive trip that includes food to be told that... Not again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nrthmigurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Nrthmigurl,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are disappointed to learn that your recent visit at Secrets Aura Cozumel fell below your expectations. We regret not being able to hear from you prior to your departure as we would have liked the opportunity to make the necessary changes to suit your needs. It is hoped that you will afford us another chance to serve you as we feel certain that you did not experience our usual standards. Please feel free in the near future to inform us of how we can make your vacation experience a resounding success.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Secrets Aura Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
4.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 52 in Cozumel
549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#19 of 52 in Cozumel
2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
2.0 mi away
Occidental Cozumel
Occidental Cozumel
#21 of 52 in Cozumel
4,885 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 52 in Cozumel
3,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Aura Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Aura Cozumel

Address: Carretera Costera Sur KM. 12.9 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Aura Cozumel Grand Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#9 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £154 - £429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Aura Cozumel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a perfect blend of luxury and excitement, Secrets Aura Cozumel is the ultimate adults-only, all-suite resort located on the island of Cozumel. Sitting just 12 miles off the coast of Mexico’s Yucatan Peninsula, Secrets Aura has it all. Bask in a world of Unlimited-Luxury® while staying in one of 266 contemporary, stylish non-smoking suites complete with private terraces or swim-up access, stunning views, 24-hour room service, daily refreshed minibar and more. For added luxury, guests can upgrade to the Preferred Club and enjoy additional amenities and inclusions. The experience continues with limitless gourmet dining at gourmet restaurants plus 24-hour dining options allow guests to devour late night bites at the Coco Cafe or stay in and order room service all without reservations and top-shelf spirits at three bars and lounges throughout the resort. Light up the night with live nightly entertainment and activities. Or enjoy land and water sports, three sparkling pools, live entertainment with pool and beach wait service throughout the day. Dive into the Caribbean at nearby world-renowned dive sites; explore the natural wonders of the second largest coral reef system in the world, the Mesoamerican Barrier Reef System. Learn to dive deep with the help of the fullservice, on-site dive operator, Dive House. Indulge in specialty treatments at the Secrets Spa by Pevonia®, located right next door at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, the most complete spa on the island, or simply spend time with the ones you love. Secrets Aura Cozumel – Light. Luxury. Love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Secrets Aura Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aura Cozumel Grand Hotel Cozumel
Wyndham Cozumel
Cozumel Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing