We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best swim up room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Nanticoke, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best swim up room”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Great stay. We stayed in a swim up room with a sliding board to the pool. So much fun. Nice room too. Beach is beautiful but bring beach shoes because there is a lot of coral reef so your not able to go in bare foot. Food was fantastic. Small portions but if you order app, dinner & dessert it is enough. Loved our stay here & want to go back :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattycakesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Pattycakesi,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

Our team is grateful for the chance to have shown you our usual warm hospitality. It was most inspiring to see your positive comments concerning our food, swim up room and snorkeling. We have already forwarded your comments to the staff; they will be honored and delighted to know that they were part of making your holidays a wonderful experience.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,540
    1,017
    524
    258
    129
See reviews for
213
2,476
75
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,390)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We upgraded to the Ocean view room and that was worth it. I had initially wanted the swim up room but I'm happy we didn't book that room because of where they are located in the resort. I liked being close to the restaurant/bars, and most importantly the beach. This was my husband's least favorite place of all of the places we stayed on our 10 day trip throughout the Yucatan, mainly because of the strong sewage odor. But also because of the food quality and service. The staff seemed to expect a gratuity each time you ordered but there was limited access to change on the property. I felt like we did have some good service at times. We did the snorkeling tour which was fun, but the visibility was pretty limited the day we went, I'm guessing because it was a bit overcast. We enjoyed ourselves so much throughout the day, we never made it out past dinner. I wanted to check out the nightclub but never made it. The room was very nice, some plumbing issue and again a bad smell in the shower. Also the bedroom is located with a connecting wall to the hallway, so when people were coming back late at night we were woken up. But, hey it's Mexico and vacation. Normally we would be the ones coming back late!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAC76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear DAC76,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are happy that you had a wonderful time in Cozumel, we appreciated your kind comments about our ocean view suite, snorkeling, and overall ambiance . We have noted your comments about the staffs attitude towards tipping, inconsistencies concerning service and the smell as it is certainly our intention to make improvements accordingly.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We got married at Aura last year and had 25 people there. It was fantastic! Pati is awesome, the atmosphere is beautiful and we went back this year for our one year anniversary. We will be going back again in the near future:) I would highly recommend going and staying on the Aura "adults only" side.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shelli(Aniv) A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Shelli(Aniv) A,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are certainly pleased to understand from your comments about your wonderful anniversary trip as a returning customer to Secrets Aura that you enjoyed the resort staff, hotel and accommodating experience at Secrets. As a hotel company we will continue to create wonderful guest experiences where personalized service is concerned in an effort to become a highly regarded resort in Cozumel.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I note the replies by the concierge to disgruntled reviews are all standard and patronising and this fits with the general style of non management at this resort. I admit having been at the Vine for 4 days our expectations may have been too high however we stayed 10 days at secrets Capri last year with not one complaint or moan! We too we're given a room at the rear of the property dark and musty we tried 4 they were all the same dark and 3 flights of stairs never cleaned room service and empty bottles everywhere not 5 star,! Worse still the pool area was habited by party goers all day whooping and hollering not the type of clientele we expected! The sabor next door is by far better friendly good buffet cleaner better lobby! The beach at secrets has no tables to put drinks on not enough sun loungers by the beach pool never enough towels! Maintenance very poor in pool area towel box lid broken so towels get wet when it rains! We moved to the better room after day 3 when we were fed up with the atmosphere in the rear pool area! The room was larger better bathroom and lighter but furnishings older, lampshades with rust tv reception poor!
We do not have room service the restaurant options were limited menus not well written staff untrained we had to instruct in white and red wine glass use no starter knives which is strange. The breakfast buffet very limited due to lack of space. Windows dinner menu seems to feature cheese with every dish. Oceans was better and we ate twice and had good fish.
No vegetables are served with main course the appetisers in Bordeaux small food there, scallops served with Gruyere? Surely coquille st. Jacques would be a better option? Twice duck served cold no heat lamps on pass but was remedied by staff. Desserts were awful we asked for cheese which was a good option. Creeps Suzette would be nice S staff are flambé trained! Upselling of lobster would be a better option than over priced wine! The Chilean wine option is perfectly acceptable a rose option as at the vine would be good.

The staff on the whole are excellent work hard want to learn but are prevented in providing input by no management direction which is the biggest drawback to this otherwise good hotel!
We asked to see the manager and we're told he was in training! Things may improve then!

In our opinion it would only take a few things and a little expense to make this resort fantastic and in line with the Capri. They have spent money building a shopping mall complete waste as the shops at the sabor are bettter. The fountain this surely should have been a dedicated breakfast area as windows is too small especially when raining and Oceania is only good in dry weather! Our other gripe no proper bar for the evenings with waiter service no nibbles served! Desires was only option after dinner bar stools too short for bar but drinks ok and group good. Don't understand why the theatre at sabor. Is not used as the weather was bad and there is a huge puddle at the bottom of the steps to desires. Not good for expensive evening shoes! So many issues to be sorted out to be 5 star!
The spa at sabor is great smells good too why can't the bedrooms smell this good! Excellent massage sauna , steam, jacquzzi no hydrotherapy!
Generally the restaurants at sabor are better designed particularly the Italian which has a patio bar sadly lacking at Bordeaux where we are kept waiting in the rain the first night looking at empty wine bottle display,! Hopefully am resorts will send some management from their other hotels to address this issue and put in place security to manage the over indulgence of some guests who can spoil the ambiance of the resort,! The children in sabor were better behaved! This may seem like a rant but we were not alone in this disappointment and those preferred guests were particularly let down by service, please please secrets remedy these problems or let guests know this is not a secrets resort!

Yes beach service was fantastic lovely girl. Get her some tables so glasses not sand covered!
Get a pool boy to look after towel service and remove algae from pool and patio area.
Staff working hard in Oceania bar all day but the paths need maintenance to keep away sand.
Toilet facilities in this hotel poor doors not locking bins for towels not large enough not emptied enough etc etc,

Will return to secrets but not this resort as we do not like the layout or rooms, one American guest gave it B- rating think that's about right!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Aileen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Aileen P,

First of all, on behalf of the Management team, we would like to express our sincere apology for the experience you had on your recent visit to Secrets Aura Cozumel.

We regret to hear that we did not meet quite your expectations for service and quality. We have many guests who feel the direct opposite and have boasted of our accommodations. However, as hoteliers we realize that there is always room for improvement and feedback is crucial in this process so we thank you for your review.We are always looking for ways to improve our resort to exceed the expectations of our clients. Since we are in a constant state of evolving our resorts and updating our amenities, I will be sure to send your feedback to the General Manager and relevant departments.

Your perception of our hotel and our service is very important to us, but even more meaningful to us is the fact that you chose our property as your vacation destination as you are seasoned travelers.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Secrets Aura Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign IL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Upon check in my party of 8 family members were upgraded to ocean front suites with over sized balcony's with Preferred club amenities included free of charge as the Hotel Front Desk Manager Daniel Cazarin appreciated the fact that we are loyal to the AMResort chain with I Preferred membership. This pleasant surprise was just the start of what turned out to be an excellent overall experience the this Secrets Property. The staff at this resort are well trained, always polite with a greeting, providing outstanding service in every area from the food venue, drinks, maid service, bellman, room service, and the pool wait staff. Looking out over clear blue water with lush landscape grounds is just wonderful. The resort is still completing some upgrades to achieve that 5 star rating that it will so deserve very soon. I must add this the food at this resort is the best overall we have experienced with excellent taste and variety. The El Captain at all the restaurants went out of their way to accommodate my party of 8 always checking to make sure everything was just perfect and it always was. I would highly recommend this property to anyone who loves the sun, excellent food, and service at a great resort. FYI loved the Fire Show on the beach and the Latin band in the evening.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear toadt,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We value your feedback as a loyal customer to the AMResorts chain of resorts, all your kind words with regards to our staff, facilities and services are greatly appreciated. We are certain your review will prove invaluable to other travelers.We have passed on your kind words to the staff and management as it is fantastic to see how happy they get when their departments are recognized.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This was our first all-inclusive and we enjoyed our stay. Food was good but we are not picky at all. Bonus that you can also dine at the neighboring Sabor for free also. Not big drinkers but the drinks seemed top shelf and not lacking in alcohol to us. Very good room service with a few menu selections but not a lot. Would highly recommend spending the extra for a massage at the spa!! Amazing!! Only issue we had really was the shower was not good at all. Spit on you at best but from our understanding they are in the process of improving the whole resort. Really enjoyed snorkeling for the first time as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jason(Hny Pkg) F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Jason(Hny Pkg) F,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

Thank you for your kind review regarding your honeymoon in Cozumel, we are so pleased to read your detailed overview of your positive experience as a first time customer to an all inclusive resort. Our Spa, amenities including access to our sister resort, quality of our food and room service menu, such compliments serve to inspire our team of hardworking staff. It is obvious that you understand we are still undergoing change but we still successfully met all your vacation needs.

We are glad you are allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at Secrets Aura for our delayed honeymoon from Nov 7-11 and this was our first time in Cozumel. Our travel agent told us that the Secrets resorts are some of the best places to stay which is why we chose Aura over another resort on the northern part of the island...when I was researching the resort I found beautiful pictures of the rooms and pools, but little did I know that they were pictures of the remodeled rooms (which isn't where we stayed). We had a pool-view room which was nice, just not what we were expecting after seeing the pictures.

The food at the resort is underwhelming...there were tiny portions and no variety. Almost every night we ended up eating at one of the restaurants for dinner and an hour later ordered room service because we were still hungry. We even tried the food at Sun Scapes next door, but it was pretty much the same thing. The drinks and bars were good, though.

I would recommend waiting a while before staying at this resort so that they can finish all of the construction and remodeling. This will EVENTUALLY be a nice place to stay in Cozumel...just not right now.

Room Tip: Definitely get a swim-up suite or an ocean-view room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimberlyRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear KimberlyRH,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We would like to express our gratitude for your kind words including the highlights of your trip such as our location and bar service. However, we very much regret that we could not meet your expectations with regards to food portions and quality of food offered. Please accept our sincerest apologies for this which obviously does not reflect our usual high service standards which you can rightfully expect at a Secrets Resorts property. We have discussed the problem with our Executive Chef to exercise better control.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
4.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
2,133 reviews
2.5 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#12 of 52 in Cozumel
4,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
3,658 reviews
11.7 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
6.0 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Aura Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Aura Cozumel

Property: Secrets Aura Cozumel
Address: Carretera Costera Sur KM. 12.9 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Aura Cozumel Grand Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#8 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Aura Cozumel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a perfect blend of luxury and excitement, Secrets Aura Cozumel is the ultimate adults-only, all-suite resort located on the island of Cozumel. Sitting just 12 miles off the coast of Mexico’s Yucatan Peninsula, Secrets Aura has it all. Bask in a world of Unlimited-Luxury® while staying in one of 266 contemporary, stylish non-smoking suites complete with private terraces or swim-up access, stunning views, 24-hour room service, daily refreshed minibar and more. For added luxury, guests can upgrade to the Preferred Club and enjoy additional amenities and inclusions. The experience continues with limitless gourmet dining at gourmet restaurants plus 24-hour dining options allow guests to devour late night bites at the Coco Cafe or stay in and order room service all without reservations and top-shelf spirits at three bars and lounges throughout the resort. Light up the night with live nightly entertainment and activities. Or enjoy land and water sports, three sparkling pools, live entertainment with pool and beach wait service throughout the day. Dive into the Caribbean at nearby world-renowned dive sites; explore the natural wonders of the second largest coral reef system in the world, the Mesoamerican Barrier Reef System. Learn to dive deep with the help of the fullservice, on-site dive operator, Dive House. Indulge in specialty treatments at the Secrets Spa by Pevonia®, located right next door at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, the most complete spa on the island, or simply spend time with the ones you love. Secrets Aura Cozumel – Light. Luxury. Love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Secrets Aura Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aura Cozumel Grand Hotel Cozumel
Wyndham Cozumel
Cozumel Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing