We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Group Birthday Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We visited in mid November. A couple of our friends are just turning 50 and 14 of us thought it would be a great place to celebrate, and we were correct!!! The age rage in our party was from early 30s to 60s so a big variety of interests. The resort is inviting and nice, the staff are awesome! We were greeted at the airport and shuttled to the resort, greeted with a glass of champagne while checking in. We all wanted to have our room as close as possible (some had different types of rooms) and they were able to accommodate. We were shown to our rooms and our luggage was brought quickly. After getting settled the group met for dinner and drinks. Everyone loved their food at Windows, my chicken was some of the best I have ever had. The staff always tried their best to accommodate our large group with seating together or at least near each other. We alternated days of going on expeditions and days hanging out at the resort. Mario at the pool bar was the best bartender EVER! He was fun and kept the food and drinks coming, a hard thing to do with our large group! Bravo Mario! Next, Isabel and Julio were the resort activities pros! They were so much fun! We played beach and pool volleyball, went to fire shows, played beach games, danced, and alot more. They truly made our stay a blast!!!! We love you guys! All of the restaurants were great, the food well done! There were a couple mix ups with food but again, we were a large group and you have to remember you are in Mexico and there is a bit of a language barrier sometimes but the staff ALWAYS did their best and corrected any mistake with a smile! One couple in our group had an issue with their air conditioner leaking and there was some mold behind a picture in their room. The resort staff promptly had a group cleaning and correcting the issue. There was some construction going on but it never bothered anyone in our group, we are looking forward to returning and seeing the improvements to the property, they look like they are going to be really nice! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Swim up suites are nice, close to the pool bar. Our friend on the 3rd floor said his water pressure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sherri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Sherri L,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

Our team is grateful for the chance to have shown you our usual warm hospitality on your birthday trip. It was most inspiring to see your positive comments concerning our food, resort atmosphere and activities. We have already forwarded your comments to the staff; they will be honored and delighted to know that they were part of making your holidays a wonderful experience.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,875 - 2,881 of 3,682 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

My wife and I booked a last minute weekend getaway for her birthday. We worked with a fantastic travel agent from Beach Bum Vacation, Melissa Harmon. Melissa highly recommended we consider this place being we have stayed at some of their other properties. I would give her 5 stars by the way....

Now for my thoughts on this resort, but I will point out that my wife and I are very easy going people and do not let trivial things ruin our vacations. I have read many reviews where the smallest thing sets people off for their whole trip and ultimately leads to a bad review. IE someone didn't get immediate check in service upon arrival or the champagne they were given upon arrival wasn't cold enough. People need to relax and chill out....

The resort itself is nice but not over the top. The resort is not overly huge which I like...we dislike mega resorts so this one met our needs quite well. The food is above average and of good quality. I also highly dislike buffets so the fact this one only has a breakfast buffet was a positive for us. We thought the rooms and beds were great, and loved the swim up suite option that we had.

There are 2 pools on the resort...one is near the ocean, and one is away from the beach. We liked the one by the ocean best but the one not near the beach had a nice bar with top shelf liquor.

I would also point out their liquor brands are quite good compared to some other all-inclusive we have been to. Some of massive resorts serve brand names labeled: VODKA, and BEER. Basically the cheapest stuff ever that you have never heard of….Secrets has good quality stuff liquor and beer.

You can tell that Secrets is still in process of updating the resort to their brand being they have only owned it a year or two. Once the new suites get done plus the new swim up pool it will be awesome.

Net, net: we would go back...and I think if you are a person who doesn't knit pick on every little detail you will have a great time like us. Now if you are not like us and sound like some of these other overly critical people you may not love it.
Cheers.

Room Tip: Swim up suites are great. I would try to get one away from the main lobby area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Craig P,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

Thank you for your kind review regarding your birthday vacation in Cozumel, we are so pleased to read your detailed overview of your positive experience. Such compliments serve to inspire our team of hardworking staff. It is obvious that you understand we are still undergoing change but we still successfully met all your vacation needs.

We are glad you are allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I had high expectations-we had stayed at Secrets Maroma Beach in 2009 and it was fabulous, and that was the reason we booked another secrets resort. Upon first impression of Aura, the resort was nice but it was lacking something. You can tell it is an older resort that they spruced up. The service was very good-always trying to make you comfortable and happy. The room and amenities needed alot of work-you can tell they were just revamped and older, some things did not work properly. We got to see 3 different rooms because the first 2 were not up to par (solarium pool's filter did not work, leak in the ceiling, brown water in the jacuzzi tub, loud construction). The location of the resort was great: the beach and snorkeling options really made the place. There really wasnt much entertainment on the resort to talk about. The restaurants were good-portion sizes are small but you can order as much as you want. Table service is slower than in the states but we were on vacation and had no where to go so that was not a problem for us. Aura is right next to a sister resort so we could access their restaurants as well, which gave us more options. We really enjoyed the spa which was an added expense to our vacation but worth it. I felt like the spa was the nicest place (as far as decor and quality) of the whole resort. Overall, I would go back to Cozumel because i loved the snorkeling and beach, but i would chose a different resort that was more updated and has nicer quality of amenities. Don't spend your money on the solarium room--not worth it. It seemed more trouble than it was worth. I didn't feel this resort lived up to the Secrets Resort name.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Jennifer T,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

It is naturally very disappointing that you did not enjoy your recent visit with us and are very concerned to read that your experience did not live up to our usual level of service. Please accept our apologies it is certainly not our intention to disappoint our guests, however, it is obvious that we failed to meet your expectations on several points. I wish to reassure you, that I have shared and are trying to address your comments with our Department Heads to ensure that we take all the necessary actions to improve our services as well to reduce the opportunity for these mistakes to reoccur in the future with other guests.

We are sincerely sorry the hear that you do not intend to return to our resort but nevertheless hope that we will once again have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel so that we can redeem ourselves and offer you the service that you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

What a disappointment! We had planned for over a year to enjoy Cozumel in November and escape the cold of the Midwest. We had also been told of the amazing Secrets property in Cancun and felt that we had made a good selection. Not so much! We had construction around us the entire week which was not stated on the web site nor through United Vacations information. Construction on the Oceana restaurant floor was obnoxious the whole week and meant that that restaurant was basically not available to us. The service was fine but the food was very mediocre. We did enjoy Marcos and the staff in general were very good. We are a gay couple and we had bad experiences with gay-bashing by other guests. This would not be called a gay-friendly environment even though we called the hotel in advance to make sure we would not be treated differently. The staff was kind to us for the most part but other guests were allowed to gay bash us during our stay. It was not comfortable. We happened to see a listing of the guests on property at the reception desk and our names were highlighted in yellow with "gay couple" written in the remarks section. Why????

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Daryl L,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We would like to express our sincerest apologies about your recent trip to Secrets Aura. We very much regret that we could not meet your expectations with regards to our ongoing renovation project and mediocre quality of food offered. Please accept our sincerest apologies for this which obviously does not reflect our usual high service standards which you can rightfully expect at a Secrets Resorts property. We wish you could have reported the inappropriate comments and behavior displayed by other guests in house as our Management would have been more than willing to put a stop to it, in an affect to turn your experience into a more positive one.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Secrets Aura Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We had an early flight and arrived to the resort at noon. Greeted with a cold washcloth and a cold drink! Checked in and was told room was not ready ,so we had lunch. Had I known this would be the last coveted wash cloth we would of stocked up!! LOL!! It took untill 4:00 to get us into a room. Ours, we were told had an air conditioning problem... We had room 4315, a room way in the back with no connecting sidewalk to get there... This was started and never finished while we were there. Walked around and through mud w nice clothes and shoes on... EWW. Dragged mud and stones into our room, the weather was wet while we were there but the said sidewalk was 8-10 feet long. If I had this done at home , maybe 6 hours and then the contractor would of been knocking on my door for his $$$! Food was good, service all over the place! Had to get up one day and get my own water and coffee. Egg station is really, really sad! People in line for 20 min, pathetic! Took us 4 days to even know you can get "cold " stuff inside. That said, Marcos at Oceana works his butt off!! The others , not so much... Mario at the pool bar in the back was great. Ran out of Sauvignon Blanc and he took off to find me some, received a nice tip from my husband!! He remembered us and our names... Probably the only one other than the entertainment young man. What a cute and sweet young man! We also had Ramundo in Widows and at the Rondevouz bar who was great! The bartender at the Desires nightclub remembered us and what we liked, IM sorry we did not get his name! We always tip and tip big for great service... we are very polite and just want the service we paid for. This is no where a five star place.My husband likes a wash cloth, never ever got one. Requested them every day:(. Had the paid for turn down one day:(. Never got the slippers in our room as was on our ammenties:(. Had wine delivered, only 2 tiny glasses but after 4 days was told we were not allowed to have wine delivered.???? Dena who is at the VIP desk heard me out on our last day. We ARENT whiners EVER!!! I let her know our concerns and she was great. I then spoke to the operations manager( that is what my husband is , by the way). He was a very nice Italian gentelman! We were surprised to come back to our room with a nice snack and champange!! Thank you sir! I guess to close, we always make the best of things. The weather was crappy, but no one can control that. We did a spa day, a sunset snorkel cruise and an all day Jeep tour anyway! We met a ton of really nice people! Big Mike and Jenn from Pittsburgh say hi to all of you !! We had a really fun time! I guess we are just really disappointed we spent so much money and we really didnt get what we expected or wanted! We always say: dont pay Red Roof Inn prices and expect a Ritz Carlton! I think if we got a 4 star feeling we would of been happy but as we both went back to work today we felt kind of ripped off. Bummer!! So, off to St Marttin in Feb. I think we will probably not return to the Secrets Aura>>>

Room Tip: Try to not get a room all the way in the back unless you want total seclusion!! A hike to get everyw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandytoes4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear sandytoes4ever,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

Thank you for your very complete and constructive feedback as it provides us with information that is helpful in identifying those areas of opportunity we may be overlooking .Unfortunately I can see that you did not enjoy all the services we provided to you, and I do apologize for any shortcomings from our side. The areas you have raised are under review with the Department Heads.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Secrets Aura Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Great resort, still const. going on, French "fancy" restaurant not that great. Service slow at times, good snorkeling by pier. Hall outside room was noisy. Buffet in the morning was ok. Need to change the menu up a bit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AMResorts
Thank whobreyville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear whobreyville,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

Our team is grateful for the fact that you thought the resort was great. It was most inspiring to see your positive comments concerning our buffet and snorkeling. I have already forwarded your comments to Management concerning your comments about slow service in the restaurants and offering additional daily menus to introduce variety.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Great stay. We stayed in a swim up room with a sliding board to the pool. So much fun. Nice room too. Beach is beautiful but bring beach shoes because there is a lot of coral reef so your not able to go in bare foot. Food was fantastic. Small portions but if you order app, dinner & dessert it is enough. Loved our stay here & want to go back :)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pattycakesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Pattycakesi,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

Our team is grateful for the chance to have shown you our usual warm hospitality. It was most inspiring to see your positive comments concerning our food, swim up room and snorkeling. We have already forwarded your comments to the staff; they will be honored and delighted to know that they were part of making your holidays a wonderful experience.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
4.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#18 of 52 in Cozumel
2,265 reviews
11.7 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#9 of 52 in Cozumel
4,998 reviews
6.0 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
7.7 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 52 in Cozumel
3,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Aura Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Aura Cozumel

Address: Carretera Costera Sur KM. 12.9 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Aura Cozumel Grand Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#9 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £154 - £363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Aura Cozumel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a perfect blend of luxury and excitement, Secrets Aura Cozumel is the ultimate adults-only, all-suite resort located on the island of Cozumel. Sitting just 12 miles off the coast of Mexico’s Yucatan Peninsula, Secrets Aura has it all. Bask in a world of Unlimited-Luxury® while staying in one of 266 contemporary, stylish non-smoking suites complete with private terraces or swim-up access, stunning views, 24-hour room service, daily refreshed minibar and more. For added luxury, guests can upgrade to the Preferred Club and enjoy additional amenities and inclusions. The experience continues with limitless gourmet dining at gourmet restaurants plus 24-hour dining options allow guests to devour late night bites at the Coco Cafe or stay in and order room service all without reservations and top-shelf spirits at three bars and lounges throughout the resort. Light up the night with live nightly entertainment and activities. Or enjoy land and water sports, three sparkling pools, live entertainment with pool and beach wait service throughout the day. Dive into the Caribbean at nearby world-renowned dive sites; explore the natural wonders of the second largest coral reef system in the world, the Mesoamerican Barrier Reef System. Learn to dive deep with the help of the fullservice, on-site dive operator, Dive House. Indulge in specialty treatments at the Secrets Spa by Pevonia®, located right next door at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, the most complete spa on the island, or simply spend time with the ones you love. Secrets Aura Cozumel – Light. Luxury. Love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Aura Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aura Cozumel Grand Hotel Cozumel
Wyndham Cozumel
Cozumel Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing