We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There are better all-inclusives” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secrets Aura Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“There are better all-inclusives”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

the fact that it is an all-inclusive was great-the rest of it, not so much. The rooms had great views but the walls were dirty, stains on the couch, and overall did not have a clean feel to it.
The restaurants were okay, if you are vegetarian and/or gluten free there are not much options. The workout room was not great either. It had decent equipment-but a small space. The spa was the nicest part of the resort-and what I expected the rest of the resort to feel like. If you want to live in the spa-go here!
Overall not great-we will not be coming back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amylee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Amylee77,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

With that being said, we genuinely regret hearing that you were disappointed with your stay at the Secrets but however guarantee that this is definitely not a true depiction of our standards of operation and certainly not the typical experience of our guests. we realize that there is always room for improvement and feedback is crucial in this process so we thank you for your review.We are always looking for ways to improve our resort to exceed the expectations of our clients. Since we are in a constant state of evolving our resorts and updating our amenities, I will be sure to send your feedback to the General Manager and relevant departments.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Secrets Aura Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,460
    961
    496
    244
    123
See reviews for
202
2,335
73
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,325)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Just got back from a 5 day stay and had a wonderful time! My husband and I went to Aura Cozumel back in April in 2012 and booked a return trip because we had such a great experience. However, we were super nervous reading all the reviews on trip advisor about construction, inability to get the room you booked, etc. We had NO issues like that. Yes, there was some construction nearby the property, but I think we heard a saw running about 5 times during our stay. Far from being annoying. We had no issues getting the exact, perfect swim-up room that we requested right on the front part of the property. Staff was excellent and friendly and very helpful. Would definately recommend this resort again and again.

Room Tip: splurge for the swim up room. you won't be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan75_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Megan75_12,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

Our team is grateful for the chance to have shown you our usual warm hospitality on your return visit to Cozumel. It was most inspiring to see your positive comments concerning our service and swim up room. We have already forwarded your comments to the staff; they will be honored and delighted to know that they were part of making your holidays a wonderful experience.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

This was the second time my husband and I went to this resort. We went two and a half years ago when it was a Wyndham resort, so it was interesting to see the changes and additions. I read the reviews leading up to our trip, and wondered what it would be like to stay at Aura a second time. We were both pleasantly surprised by the following additions: The Coco Cafe is a nice little coffee shop, and they have Starbucks inspired drinks. The new swim up pool is really nice, and we loved the french restaurant Bordeaux. We went to the french restaurant three times, and had the sweetest and most professional waiter, named Daniel.

Things we love:
The private roof with private pool, a great place to see the sunset, and even star gaze.
24 hour room service with great selections, we noticed there were more choices than last time.
The hammocks on the beach
The three restaurants + the barefoot grill+room service provide plenty of options.
The staff was excellent and friendly
The beach beds and comfortable lounge chairs
The portions are more than enough, and it is slightly sad to read people complaining about that...especially since you can order as much as you want!
The Bordeaux restaurant was absolutely delicious

A couple of things to work on:
The construction noise was a bit annoying at times, but unavoidable
Silly, but I did miss the animals made of towels.
More variety for wine and beer would be nice

We love this resort and are dreaming of when we can come back!

Room Tip: You can buy tickets for the shuttle at the air port for $12 a person, it is a glass window passed al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IngridRansom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear IngridRansom,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

Our team is grateful for the fact that you thought the resort has improved under the brand Secrets Resorts. It was most inspiring to see your positive comments list concerning our amenities offered, friendly staff, accommodation and restaurant quality. I am sure once our renovation project is complete you will want to return to see even more improvement to our beautiful property.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

I have stayed at several 5 star hotels in Cancun and know quality when I see it. This hotel was pretty good overall. The most impressive piece was their high level of service and personal touches. The staff is wonderful and always looking for ways to make our 5 day stay better. The food was excellent and exceeded my expectations. They used high quality ingredients and I always looked forward to the next delicious meal. Each day they give you a LIs of resort activities which you can decide if you want to join. There was some construction going on but didn't bother us any. The resort could use an external paint job and some facility improvements to make it more glamorous. However, the place was great as is. I thought it was a great value for quite a nice place.

Room Tip: Choose the suites with access to the pool. Very worth it. Much fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRLOERA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear MRLOERA,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are certainly pleased to understand from your comments about your recent trip to Secrets Aura that you enjoyed the resort staff, hotel and accommodating service experience. As a hotel company we will continue to create wonderful guest experiences where personalized service is concerned in an effort to become a highly regarded resort in Cozumel.

Thank you for your suggestions on how we can make our hotel even better, I have passed these comments along to Management for further review.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Our stay at Secrets Aura Cozumel was wonderful even with construction going on for improvements for the resort. We are looking forward to returning too see the improvents made. Resort staff was outstanding and the food was great. Great snorkeling off the Secrets beach as well!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with AMResorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Randy Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Randy Wayne S,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

Thank you for your kind review regarding your recent vacation in Cozumel, we are so pleased to read about your positive experience. We are so glad to hear that you highly recommend our staff, food and snorkeling, such compliments serve to inspire our team of hardworking staff.

We are glad you are allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, Ontario
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Lovely resort for adults. Upon arrival ensure that you are not checked into the older section of the resort as the rooms do not have the amenities as the newer section. I was moved 3 times and finally ended up in the beautiful VIP section. If you are trading your Time Share for this resort it is not worth the cost of the " All Inclusive ". I ended up paying $1000.00 more that those that were staying that had purchased an all inclusive package which included their air fare, accommodation , food and alcohol. I will be contacting RCI to complain about this! Great snorkeling, diving, sailing and kayaking there! Met lots of great people and overall had a wonderful stay. Food was great and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with AMResorts

Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Patricia S,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are happy to hear that despite your disappointment you still managed to enjoy our friendly staff, scenery and water sports. We however apologize for you having to be moved three time creating issues during your stay and we are trying our best to improve our services so that we can make a better experience for future guests.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Secrets Aura Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Hotel with great potential. The site is great, they have a very good dive operator, Dive Palancar. This hotel is still going through renovations. It means noise all the time. The beach needs palapas which I guess they will bild at one point. Staff also need to go from a 4 stars standard to higher. For some the transition is done, for others it is a matter of time I hope. Beach is very nice and snorkeling good. Rooms are very spacious. Restaurants are good but variety is limited. You almost need to go to Sabor unless you really like to eat the same thing every day.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with AMResorts

Helpful?
Thank Francois915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Francois915,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

Our team is grateful for the fact that you thought the resort was great and has the potential to become even better with improvements. It was most inspiring to see your positive comments concerning our rooms and snorkeling.

In addition to that we will be opening a new Buffet Restaurant at Secrets Aura Cozumel which will offer daily menus to introduce variety.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.3 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#17 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
3.9 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#10 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#1 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,574 reviews
10.3 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
4.6 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Aura Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Aura Cozumel

Property: Secrets Aura Cozumel
Address: Carretera Costera Sur KM. 12.9 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Aura Cozumel Grand Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#8 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Aura Cozumel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a perfect blend of luxury and excitement, Secrets Aura Cozumel is the ultimate adults-only, all-suite resort located on the island of Cozumel. Sitting just 12 miles off the coast of Mexico’s Yucatan Peninsula, Secrets Aura has it all. Bask in a world of Unlimited-Luxury® while staying in one of 266 contemporary, stylish non-smoking suites complete with private terraces or swim-up access, stunning views, 24-hour room service, daily refreshed minibar and more. For added luxury, guests can upgrade to the Preferred Club and enjoy additional amenities and inclusions. The experience continues with limitless gourmet dining at gourmet restaurants plus 24-hour dining options allow guests to devour late night bites at the Coco Cafe or stay in and order room service all without reservations and top-shelf spirits at three bars and lounges throughout the resort. Light up the night with live nightly entertainment and activities. Or enjoy land and water sports, three sparkling pools, live entertainment with pool and beach wait service throughout the day. Dive into the Caribbean at nearby world-renowned dive sites; explore the natural wonders of the second largest coral reef system in the world, the Mesoamerican Barrier Reef System. Learn to dive deep with the help of the fullservice, on-site dive operator, Dive House. Indulge in specialty treatments at the Secrets Spa by Pevonia®, located right next door at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, the most complete spa on the island, or simply spend time with the ones you love. Secrets Aura Cozumel – Light. Luxury. Love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Secrets Aura Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aura Cozumel Grand Hotel Cozumel
Wyndham Cozumel
Cozumel Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing