We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They should Keep it a Secret! Not call it Secrets Stay away from this one”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Ranked #17 of 53 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Anyone rating this a 4 or 5 star obviously do not get out enough

When I say stay away from this one. I recommend that you do not visit this secrets my wife & myself have stayed at Secrets the Vine, Secrets Huatulco, Secrets Silver Sands. We were traveling with three other couples their synopsis is the same. We checked into our room around 3 in the afternoon

This trip by far was the most disappointing trip to Mexico. We travel to Mexico 3 to 4 times a year stay away from Secrets Aura. I had read some of the reviews before leaving and they were not very good, however, I came in there with an open mind. It basically stopped after I checked into the room.

We were in a suite where the bedroom was seperate as you walk in the door room 1011. The washrooms were disgusting. You could barely get water come to the shower head it was like a sprinkle. The nozzle handle part of the shower did not even work. We had asked for our light bulb to be changed in the washroom they did but that lasted for about a half a day so I believe the light was shorted out. The shower the most disgusting thing I have ever seen all the clamps were rusted the shower look like it had mould going up the wall the corners the drain was disgusting. The room living area had a sectional that was so soiled we wouldn't even sit on it without a towel there were two flatscreen TVs in the room one of the bedroom one of the living area which did not work the one in the bedroom worked

The beach is beautiful the water is crystal blue this is a divers resort. The staff are very accommodating but once again most of our trips of been to the Riviera Maya Cancun they do have it together on the other side of the water The breakfast buffet was set up outside under a Terrace between the two restaurants and the cold part of the buffet was set up inside one of the restaurants. The breakfast at most was mediocre to get some hot food in the morning was kind of impossible, unless you ordered a fresh omelette to be prepared right away The lunch in the restaurants was okt but if you do have lunch please stipulate you want hot food We sent our food back on several occasions asking for to get heated up. If you're with other friends it's best just to take separate tables unless you have two hours for lunch kudos to Bordeaux restaurant and the staff, they are amazing the food was pretty good. I would like to give special thanks to Miriana the hostess in the morning and at lunch she runs her Butt off and doesn't stop and always smiles great job.
We are off to excellence in Cancun in January and Secrets the Vine followed up by blue diamond resort Riviera Mayan in February will keep you posted

Room Tip: don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wump1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,056 - 3,062 of 3,930 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

Just returned from 2 week enjoyable/frustrating visit to Secrets Aura. Have stayed in Dreams before and many different 4 and 5 star resorts in several countries, so we have a good basis for comparison. This resort is under heavy construction but it falls drastically short. The service was very good overall (special thanks Julio on the entertainment team and to Markos and Fernando in Windows restaurant). Have never had to ask for water in restaurants so much in my life. Eventually the staff got to know us and it was much easier, but this is a serious training issue at this resort. Restaurants had quite good food, however, there is very little variation to the menu so 2 weeks is too much for this place. Always habitually understaffed, however, they were always very friendly and worked very hard. The blame is on management for lack of staff and poor efficiency training resulting in slow delivery times. We tipped very well and never got upset, so the staff learned our likes and dislikes very quickly.

Our room was a disaster. We had a swimup suite and the humidity, musty smell and mold were crazy. Room was "renovated" but it was very run down. Couch had stains all over it. Lampshades were black with mold. A/C was very loud, barely worked, and auto shut off every hour. We could barely sleep. When A/C did shut off, humidity and musty smell were unbearable. Asked front desk about a dehumidifier for the room (as we were given at Dreams PV) and they had no idea what we were talking about. Example of humidity: wore BRAND NEW shoes on the plane and left them in closet for 2 weeks. When packing to leave, they were so severely molded that they could not be cleaned and had to throw them away.

Staff worked and tried very hard to make it enjoyable. French restaurant is exceptional. Oceana is great for dinner, but poor food quality at lunch (sadly with a great lunch menu). Windows has great wait staff. The resort is severely lacking and is a low 4* at best. Generally very disorganized and inefficient. May one day come up to the Secrets standard, but we will never be back. When responding to reviews, Justine Pyne will say her usual "that is not typical" and "we hope you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves". Believe me, our experience is EXACTLY typical and her empty apology will ring hollow with no actual attempt to make anything right. This is what you can expect from Secrets Aura, which is quite disappointing.

Contacted Justine a full month before trip about playing CFL Grey Cup championship game in sports bar. Was promised the game but naturally no one knew anything about it. Head of Entertainment team was eventually able to get game going in 2nd quarter (greatly appreciated) but that is just a typical example of how disorganized this resort is and then the poor staff are constantly scrambling to deliver service. On a happy note: Julio is a huge asset to the Aura and deserves special recognition. Give that man a raise!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

One of the cheaper resorts, with mediocre accommodations. Food is not the best we have had in all inclusive resorts and not much variety. We had to ask to have mini bar restocked. We could not get anyone to answer the phone for room service. Lighting in the room is very poor. Not much in the way of activities-pretty boring actually. The staff is exceptionally friendly though. They appeared to be understaffed, resulting in slow service at times. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AMResorts
1  Thank Carolyne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Carolyne V,

hank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

On behalf of the Management and Staff at the resort I apologize for the lack of service and inconsistency you experienced whilst in house. If you were unsatisfied with any aspect of our resort it is our responsibility to take care of your concerns to ensure that you felt comfortable and satisfied. We however assure you that this not a true representation of our standards of operation or the typical experience of our guests. It is obvious that we failed to meet your expectations on several points, but I wish to reassure you, that I have shared and am going to address your comments with our General Manager so that we can take the necessary actions to improve our services.

We are sincerely sorry to hear that you do not intend to return to our resort but nevertheless hope that we will once again have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel so that we can redeem ourselves and offer you the service that you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Awesome adults only relaxing resort (not a party central place but that's not what we were after so Secrets delivered). Get the romantic ocean view suites with the queen bed...turned our 10 year anniversary vacation into an amazing sexcation! Do not listen to Amstar Excursions people onsite at the hotel...book your own excursions directly with Dive Palancar on the beach or by calling the attraction directly from the hotel. The Amstar rep charged us a $20 commission when we could have booked it ourselves without wasting the $20. That was the only frustrating part of the trip. Cozumel was awesome, and my wife and I felt safe the whole time, and Secrets was really nice...although the food could have been a step up in quality...it was good, don't get me wrong, but I'd say it was 4 star dining and well short of 5 star dining.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AMResorts
1  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Michael G,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are happy that you had a wonderful anniversary trip in Cozumel, we appreciated your kind comments about our relaxing atmosphere, water sports team, romantic ocean view and overall service. We have noted your comments about the food quality needing improvement, I have passed this information on to the Food & Beverage Manager as it is certainly our intention to make improvements accordingly.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed at Secrets Aura for two weeks, beginning November, 13, 2013. We were six people: one couple, two sisters and two seniors ladies, 88 and 92.

The service in this resort is exemplary. At most tropical destinations staff are friendly enough, but here you feel the ready smiles are 100% genuine, and that everyone truly enjoys being of service to guests. I suspect everyone is trained before they are invited to work here--although I couldn't really get anyone to talk about it--based on the consistency of attitude, respect, use of language and friendly professional demeanor, right across the board. The service staff we met could work in a high-end North American retail store and be successful.

The quality and variety of the food was just as good. With three á la carte restaurants, each with extensive menus, there is no shortage of selection. The spectacularly plated presentations are small, and that's perfect when you want to sample a 4- or 5-course meal, which is what we regularly did. Fish and seafood is plentiful, and for the most part, food temperature is very good. The pace is leisurely. Reservations are not necessary, and we easily found seating wherever we went, with only a rare, short wait. (The resort was about 50% occupied while we were there.)

Breakfast offers an extensive buffet of fresh items and extensive fruits, cheeses and breads, with ocean seating at both Windows and Oceana, which are adjacent. We once tried the breakfast buffet at neighbouring sister resort, Sunscape, but didn't go back. We had dinner twice at Portofino, also at Sunscape, which offers nice Italian fare. The red and white house wines at Secrets are very drinkable--unusual in our experience for an all-inclusive resort.

We almost got off to a rocky start, when we were informed upon arrival that the level of rooms we had booked--Junior Suites, but not the swim-ups--did not have two double beds, only kings. This came as a surprise to us, and with our two seniors and two sisters we weren't prepared to accept that, as we would not have chosen this resort had we known. We also needed one of the rooms to be on the ground floor, for our two seniors, who used walkers.

At first we were offered an upgrade, but at a higher rate, which we declined. My partner and I looked at each other silently in dismay; I said whatever they do right now is going to determine what we tell people about this place.

Long story short, they moved our seniors to a second-floor ocean room with two queen beds, which was very close to an elevator. For the sisters, they shuffled some furniture around and delivered a second bed to their room--not some roll-in cot, but a proper full-sized bed, which they assembled. The whole thing was accomplished, without drama on our part or theirs, in less than an hour while we enjoyed a refreshing adult beverage. That was impressive.

As it turned out, this was not a fluke. Without exception, when there was a problem--and there always is--it was dealt with promptly and effectively, and this almost never happens anywhere. For example: a few days after arrival, our air conditioner started dripping and making noises. We reported it and it was fixed before we returned to the room. A few times, internet service went down; I reported it as a self-assigned IP address, and the router was promptly rebooted. The girls had a fridge that didn't work. Not only was it replaced, but there were TWO follow up calls from the front desk to the room to check whether the work had been completed--the first one coming after only 20 minutes. The established standard here seems to be: if something is wrong, deal with it immediately. Don't put it off. People notice these things.

This attention to detail is reflected throughout the resort. When we looked around, there was always something being washed--either beach cushions, or legs of chairs in the Oceana dining room, or the façades under the balconies, or new stain on the pier. The staff, from Sandy and Fernando at the front of house, to maitre d's Rolando and Chewy, to wait staff like Gilberto, Oscar, Marco the singing waiter, and far too many well-deserving chefs, bartenders and others to mention--they all make this a top drawer Cozumel destination.

Secrets is a child-free zone and definitely designed for couples. It offers a variety of romance and wedding services. As a group of 5 women and one man, we were certainly the "oddballs" in that respect, but we never felt odd or out of place. On the contrary, the treatment we received was especially welcoming. We'll be back.

Room Tip: If you want two beds, check in advance, and/or book the more expensive rooms. The ocean views are ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank crunchcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear crunchcom,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

Our team is grateful for the chance to have shown you our usual warm hospitality. It was most inspiring to see your positive comments concerning our exceptional attention to detail, food quality and wonderful customer service. We have already forwarded your comments to the staff; they will be honored and delighted to know that they were part of making your holidays a wonderful experience.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We just returned form a week at secrets Aura Cozumel.
Overall we had a great time !
Staff was very nice, our room was a swim up king ocean view, all was good with the room.
the food and drink was very good and room service was awesome !!
pools were fun and scuba diving was awesome !!! we will be back !!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AMResorts
Thank Larry(Scvss) J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Larry(Scvss) J,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We are certainly pleased to understand from your comments about your wonderful Thanksgiving trip to Secrets Aura that you enjoyed the resort staff, room, food and activities at Secrets. As a hotel company we will continue to create wonderful guest experiences where personalized service is concerned in an effort to become a highly regarded resort in Cozumel.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Secrets Aura Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We went with another couple and had 2 other couples from Chicago surprise us while we were there. We had all met at Secrets in Huatulco last November. This resort is definitely not up to the Secrets brand. We have stayed in Huatulco, The Vine and Silversands. All much better than Secrets Aura Cozumel. First off I will say we had a nice ocean view room building 10 on the main floor-so easy access to pool and beach and nice and quiet. I loved the fact that the bedroom was separate from the rest of the room but that's about it. The room is very tired and worn. There was a lot of rust in the shower and the hand nozzle didn't work. The overhead shower was so weak that it took forever to wash your hair. The furniture is very dirty and the room smelled of must/mold. We didn't ask to move because we heard people moving 3 times and things were no better and since we liked our location we sucked it up because we don't spend a lot of time in our room. The pool outside our room was clean for the most part-it will never be perfect thanks to people rinsing their feet off in it instead of at the tap. Towels were hit and miss and you never knew when they would be brought out and they always ran out. Very frustrating when you are up early and sitting at the pool in wet chairs. The food was ok but nothing fabulous. The breakfast buffet was below standards and the bacon was uncooked. At lunch at Windows/Oceana service was slow and the food was cold. We had to ask several times for it to be hot. Dinners were ok but not consistent. Because of limited menu you would order the same thing a couple of times and it wouldn't be consistent. Several people in our group got sick from the food and to me that is unacceptable in this day and age when you are going to a so called high end resort. There is no excuse for it. Out of 10 people we went with 8 got sick and those are only the ones we know about. This resort in 2 years might be nice but we would never go back. I enjoyed going to Cozumel and touring around downtown and on the eastern side-they were the highlites of our trip. I think you see so many mixed reviews on here because Diver's think Secrets is 5 star because many places they go to dive don't usually offer that type of hotel. For people who do travel a lot and are used to 5 stars-this is not the resort to go to. On a positive note I will say the staff are excellent for the most part. We were told we would get Coors Light and unless we paid money to the server it was difficult to obtain. It shouldn't be like that. If you have it you have it. We are always good tippers so that isn't a problem. But the waitress would go in and come back and say no coors light and then we would go in and show some money (each day I might add) to get the beer. We ended up going into town and spending $50 and getting it for our room. This should not be necessary when they have it onsite. If you are booked to go I would recommend a little place called Lobsteria off the beaten path downtown. We had the best meal ever there and the owner treated us like gold! Thanks to the bellman who recommended it to us. We were going to go to a different one but we wanted to be downtown. Justine the concierge was also fantastic and would do whatever she could to make things right. Problem is she can only do so much with what she has available to her. Personally if you want luxury I would go to a different Secrets like The Vine or The Royal or Excellence in Cancun.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica1969Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaczEconcierge, eConcierge at Secrets Aura Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Monica1969Ontario,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

Thank you for your kind comments about our friendly service despite the fact that you were underwhelmed.It is unfortunate that your vacation spent with us was below par and we assure you this is not the typical feedback of our guests who visit Cozumel as we remain committed to ensuring that guests do not leave unsatisfied. To this end we rely solely on your communication. We expect that guests will make reports and complaints and communicate through our Management. As a result we have spoken with our General Manager and relevant department heads from Housekeeping, Maintenance and Food & Beverage so that they can ensure these situations do not happen to another guest.


We sincerely hope to welcome you to Secrets Aura Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Aura Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
4.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 53 in Cozumel
600 reviews
3.8 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#18 of 53 in Cozumel
2,416 reviews
2 mi away
Occidental Cozumel
Occidental Cozumel
#19 of 53 in Cozumel
5,125 reviews
2.5 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#12 of 53 in Cozumel
5,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Aura Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Aura Cozumel

Address: Carretera Costera Sur KM. 12.9 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Aura Cozumel Grand Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#9 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £162 - £480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Aura Cozumel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a perfect blend of luxury and excitement, Secrets Aura Cozumel is the ultimate adults-only, all-suite resort located on the island of Cozumel. Sitting just 12 miles off the coast of Mexico’s Yucatan Peninsula, Secrets Aura has it all. Bask in a world of Unlimited-Luxury® while staying in one of 266 contemporary, stylish non-smoking suites complete with private terraces or swim-up access, stunning views, 24-hour room service, daily refreshed minibar and more. For added luxury, guests can upgrade to the Preferred Club and enjoy additional amenities and inclusions. The experience continues with limitless gourmet dining at gourmet restaurants plus 24-hour dining options allow guests to devour late night bites at the Coco Cafe or stay in and order room service all without reservations and top-shelf spirits at three bars and lounges throughout the resort. Light up the night with live nightly entertainment and activities. Or enjoy land and water sports, three sparkling pools, live entertainment with pool and beach wait service throughout the day. Dive into the Caribbean at nearby world-renowned dive sites; explore the natural wonders of the second largest coral reef system in the world, the Mesoamerican Barrier Reef System. Learn to dive deep with the help of the fullservice, on-site dive operator, Dive House. Indulge in specialty treatments at the Secrets Spa by Pevonia®, located right next door at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, the most complete spa on the island, or simply spend time with the ones you love. Secrets Aura Cozumel – Light. Luxury. Love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Secrets Aura Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aura Cozumel Grand Hotel Cozumel
Wyndham Cozumel
Cozumel Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing