We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why would you stay anywhere else?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 25 Cozumel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 March 2011

We stayed at Villa Escondida the last 2 weeks in February. We love Cozumel for so many reasons but we found another when staying with David & Magda. I can only agree heartedly with what others have said about awesome breakfast, beautiful property, comfortable and clean rooms, cutie pie (the dog), great location, etc. However all of these are trumped by David and Magda who will make your stay in Cozumel a memorable one. They made ours memorable with their genuine interest in our enjoying their home and island. Better hosts you cannot find.
So if you are planning to visit Cozumel, why would you stay anywhere else?
P.S. Ask them about the 25+ wonderful dining restaurants within 12 minutes walking of their hidden (escondida) villa Yum!

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Winnipeg_couple99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
There are newer reviews for Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2011

Both Magda and David are friendly, kind, eager to chat and give great recommendations for diving, food, rental car companies, you name it. The hotel is clean, well kept, cozy, and great location-2 block walk from the downtown square. We stayed 5 nights and breakfasts were delicious, filling and different everyday accompanied by tea, coffee, fresh squeezed orange juice, fresh fruits and breads. The other guests were also friendly and quick to offer suggestions, it was nice to meet others traveling on the island and fun to see familiar faces went out and about in town.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jparak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

First off, everything you have read is true.

David and Magda = Wonderful, accomodating, helpful and could not have been better hosts. They were both approachable for any questions or anything we needed, and we both really enjoyed our conversations with them,

Breakfasts= Delicious! Magda goes out of her way to give you a great meal that lasts til dinner! So much great food.

Cozumel = safe, beautiful, lots to see, do and eat. Everything you could want is within walking distance of Villa Escondida. Awesome weather!

Cutie Pie (the dog) = A great little pup who couldn't have been cuter.

So to try and add things that may not have already been said... David and Magda are full of great recommendations on restaurants, things to do, and if you're lucky you may even get a fishing trip with David! He took us out to a sandbar where we spent the day in the sun watching the kite surfers and fishing. Never once did they steer us wrong, and they seemed very in tune with the different things that might interest my husband and i specifically.

The hotel itself is modern, clean, spacious, well decorated, comfortable, with great rooms. Everything is well kept. We stayed in the blue room. The location of the hotel is safe enough that I was fine walking alone at night without even a twinge of concern. The other guests at the hotel while we stayed there were friendly, interesting travellers and I expect that is the norm at this place.

If you are looking for a small hotel to make your home base during a trip to Cozumel look no further. I can't imagine you'd find anything more perfect than Villa Escondida.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reflection78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

My girlfriend and I just got back from touring the eastern coast of the yucatan. We only stayed in Cozumel for 2 days but David and Magda pointed us in the right direction to make sure we saw and tasted as much as we could. They also made sure we started our days with a full stomach of delicious Mexican breakfasts. Beautiful grounds and rooms. Kind a gracious hosts. If your looking for a central location to explore Cozumel look no further than Villa Escondida. I would book soon also becuase a place like this can only be a well kept secret for so long. Big thanks to them both!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BOB_SEALEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

An oasis in the heart of town. Gourmet breakfast,wonderful hospitality,very clean and quiet. The pool and lounge add to the ambiance. Well be back.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PLUDWIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

It has all been said by previous reviewers but here it is again.

Perfect Location- Villa Escondida is only a four minute walk to the waterfront which keeps you away from the crowds when the cruise ships are in town. Just a few minutes walk to the public square where many things are happening day and night. The B & B is located right across the street from "La Choza”, one of the best Mexican food restaurants in Cozumel ". Many other great Restaurants are within a two -three minutes walk like “Sorrisi's” for Italian, “La Mission” for Steak and Lobster and “El Coffee Cozumel” for an afternoon latte. We felt very safe walking in this area at all times of the day and night. We (four certified divers) went diving five days during our 7 day vacation. We left all of our dive gear at the Aqua Safari Dive Shop so that our five minute walk to the dive shop each morning was light and relaxed. We have been diving with Aqua Safari since 1994. They are the best dive shop in Cozumel.

Amazing Host- David and Magda are the perfect hosts. Immediately when we arrived we could tell that they were interested in making our vacation as enjoyable as possible. Magda's breakfasts were delicious, consisting of coffee, tea, fresh fruit and wonderful main dishes. Her chicken crepes with pablano sauce were our favorite. She put great pride and effort into these dishes. David and Magda were always ready and willing to make recommendations on our dining and Cozumel activities. At one point we had an urgent family matter come up and David and Magda dropped everything to help us deal with it. They are just the best and we look forward to staying with them again.

Wonderful Facilities- Every time we walked into Villa Escondida off the street it was like entering a private oasis. The guest rooms are very nice and like new. David built them just a few years ago designed to be a B&B. So many other B&B's are older structures remodeled into a B&B and often just don't work that well. It is clear that David put a lot thought into these clean efficient beautiful rooms. We had breakfast every morning sitting outside in the courtyard and we used the dayroom everyday to play cards and watch TV. This room also allows breakfast to be served indoors when the weather doesn’t allow outdoor dining.

You just can't go wrong by staying at centrally located Villa Escondida at $90 a night with a full breakfast and fantastic hosts.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SailingCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

My husband and I were heading to Cozumel for the weekend and decided to skip the all-inclusive hotels and stay at a B&B. We’ve been to Cozumel about four times together and have always stayed at a big hotel, so this time we wanted to spend some time downtown and see a different side of the island. Villa Escondida did not disappoint.

The first big bonus of this property is that it is just a few blocks from the passenger ferry from Playa del Carmen, so we were able to walk with our bags to the B&B and avoid having to pay for a taxi. We had let David & Magda know that we would be arriving late, and they waited up for us. They showed up right to our room and we went straight to bed.

The next day we took a look around the grounds and realized it is quite spacious, definitely the largest B&B in terms of size that we’ve ever stayed at. The main house in the front has the kitchen, a patio where breakfast is served, and a lounge area for guests with a water cooler, fridge, sitting area and small library. Behind that is the pool and garden, and in the back is a separate building with the four guest rooms, two on the ground floor and two on the second floor. We stayed in #3, the first one on the second floor. A private staircase led up to our door.

Our room was large and clean with an updated bathroom (shower only) and little Mexican touches. The bed was firm, but that has been our experience at almost all hotels and B&B’s in Mexico. The room also had a ceiling fan and individual air-conditioning unit. The hot water was quick and plentiful, and the A/C was quite cold. The room had two bath towels and two beach/pool towels. Soap was provided but not shampoo or conditioner.

The breakfasts were amazing, definitely the most gourmet breakfast we’ve had at a B&B. Delicious coffee, fresh squeezed orange juice, hot rolls, and a beautifully presented fruit plate started every breakfast. Then came the main dish, which was a traditional Mexican dish (but palatable for American tastes) which during our time there was chicken crepes with a creamy poblano sauce, chilaquiles with red sauce, and huevos motuleños (a traditional Yucatecan dish). Magda clearly takes pride in her work, making all the dishes including sauces from scratch and always with a restaurant-quality presentation.

The location of the B&B was perfect, walkable to the main plaza and with lots of great restaurants and stores within just a few blocks. The beachfront is also just two blocks away.

The only negatives I could mention would be that the staircase to our room was not lit, making it a little dangerous at night, and also being in the downtown there was some noise from the area bars at night and a nearby church tolling its bells early in the morning on Sunday. The weather was cool for us so we didn’t need the A/C or ceiling fan, but if we’d had it on I don’t think we would have heard anything. Within the B&B itself it was extremely quiet.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay at Villa Escondida and would recommend it for anyone looking for an upscale B&B in the middle of it all.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gemdomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,099 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villas Las Anclas
Villas Las Anclas
#2 of 52 in Cozumel
384 reviews
3.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Blue Angel Resort
Blue Angel Resort
#11 of 52 in Cozumel
682 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Hotel
Flamingo Hotel
#19 of 52 in Cozumel
504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast

Address: 10th Ave. South | between 3rd st south and Adolfo Rosado Salas st, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Cozumel
Price Range: £38 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Escondida is located only 0.3 miles from the city's main plaza and downtown square, so we are in the heart of everything!! We are a hotel-styled B&B ideal for adult travellers who want local attractions at their doorsteps. We have 4 private guest rooms with bathroom, swimming pool, lounge area with fridge and microwave, FREE WiFi, bicycles, gated parking, and personalized attention! We will be happy to help you organize all desired activities: massages, hair salon services, tours, private tours, fishing in kayaks, and more! Great dining, piers, the main plaza, local shops and more are all a short walk from this hidden Villa. David and Magda are looking forward to have you as guests in their home located in the heart of downtown Cozumel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Escondida Bed And Breakfast
Villa Escondida Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing