We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viva Villa Escondida!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 25 Cozumel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Viva Villa Escondida!”
Reviewed 10 November 2012

The room was lovely -- king bed, spotless, great shower in bathroom. The B&B is a delightful surprise -- hidden garden and courtyard right in center of town. Magda and David were gracious and generous hosts who went above and beyond to make our stay a pleasant experience. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcssokal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islacozumel, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
thank you for staying with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
171
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

If you would like your Cozumel visit to be unique, then arrange your lodging at Villa Escondida. Your hosts, David and Magda are truly wonderful and welcome you to their very safe and secure 4 bedroom B & B with the goal to make your stay with them extra special. Amenities include a sparkling pool, lush plants and well kept grounds, comfortable beds and clean rooms. Daily maid service is provided. Also, the breakfasts as others have mentioned in reviews are fantastic. Fresh squeezed Orange Juice, fresh fruit platter as well as very special breakfast entrees are such a wonderful way to start your day.

This is an adult only B& B, off street parking, Shared refrigerator and microwave. No TV or phone in the room, however, the WI FI is excellent and you can very easily stream Netiflix movies or shows if you need to have in room entertainment. There is a TV in the shared lounge and a phone contact is made via the owners phone with messages delivered promptly to guests. Otherwise, I found that it was also very convenient to keep in contact with the "outside" via FACEBOOK instant messaging from my room.

Villa Escondida is also nicely located for divers. It is a very short walk to the town dive pier where many of the Cozumel Dive Ops will pick you up.

Overall, if you are looking for small, quiet, intimate, friendly and personal lodging which is located within walking distance to restaurants and town sights, please do contact David and Magda at Villa Escondida.

Best Regards, Sue and Mike

Room Tip: Only four rooms to choose and all are excellent choices !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bd15d1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaEscondida, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thanks Sue and Mike for your nice words about Villa Escondida! we look forward to see you again this Summer! Hugs from David and Magda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

To describe Magda's breakfasts as delicious, just doesn't do them justice! They are Yucatan specialties that you probably wouldn't get in any restaurant, and prepared to perfection. The beautiful fruit plate that started each breakfast was devoured first, while waiting for the special of the day. I can't begin to name them now, but I do remember one dish that had crepe-thin omelets wrapped around pumpkin blossoms, topped with a Yucutan tomato sauce that was just heavenly! We went diving every morning, and she got up early just for us, so we could have those delicious breakfasts before heading out. We are SO grateful, Magda!
As others have said, the blue tiled pool is kept cool and is so inviting; and the location in town is so handy to walk to so many fantastic restaurants. We'll definitely be back, when we return, as Cozumel is one place in the world that we keep coming back to - easy to get to, low key pace, very reasonable prices, and fantastic diving!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stork90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaEscondida, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
It is soo rewarding to hear you enyoyed my breakfasts! I love cooking and breakfast is my favorite meal, so it is a pleasure to cook for my guests every morning....thank you for chosing to stay at Villa Escondida Cozumel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Well laid out, comfortable rooms-----lush garden/courtyard-----beautiful blue tile swimming pool banked with hammocks-----fresh, wonderful breakfasts-----in walking distance to most needs-----excellent hosts with great tips for enjoying the island. What else can you ask for?

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islacozumel, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
We are so happy you had a great time in Cozumel! thank you for staying with us! we sure enjoyed having you as guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bakersfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2012

First of all-- Cozumel, what a great island. The food is incredible and the people are inviting and very nice. My wife and I stayed with Magda and David for 8 days while we were diving and returned for another 2 days when Tropical Storm Debbie deluged Isla Mujeres.
I have stayed on the island many times for diving, always in a hotel. This was the first B&B experience on this island and it will not be the last. The B&B is in the center of town and everything is easily accessible. We found many places to eat that were all 4 to 5 stars. Magda has a book we reviewed for lunches and dinners and everyone of her picks was a hit. David is her husband and a local contractor with an immense amount of information on the local scene. The expectation bar was set high for meals after eating the breakfasts Magda prepared on the spot. Always a fruit plate with local fruits, banana pancakes, Caribbean french toast, breakfast enchiladas I have forgotten the names of, and fresh OJ in the mornings. This is a place we will return to as we revisit the Island for diving and eat our way through the beautiful ( and sometimes hidden) restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neb607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaEscondida, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
We truyly enjoyed Patrick and Janice's visit to Villa Escondida! they become more than our guests..our friends! they are gracious and easy going guests, who enjoyed our island as much as we do....it is a pleasure to have guests like you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I do not know where to begin --everything about our stay was wonderful !! The location is amazing, right in the heart of everything. A five minute drive from the airport or walking distance from the ferries. The bed and breakfast is walking distance to excellent restaurants, bars, shopping, and sightseeing.

The rooms where wonderful, exceptionally clean, with cute and comfortable bedding and mattress, the bathroom had a exceptional large shower which was a nice treat!! Hammocks and chairs decorated the outside of your room for a wonderfully relaxing spot. The pool was great, loved the umbrella- sitting in the pool- under the umbrella for some shade was something we did numerous times, the waterfall, where you can enjoy cool water flowing over you, there is a swimming area of the pool that is deeper and the shallow area of the pool around the umbrella. There is a bar/lounge area where you can store beverages in the refrigerator, watch tv, and hang out and socialize. David and Magda entertained here and you are always invited. We had a wonderful time, we meet their friends who where extremely inviting, it was like visiting old friends.

Magda makes great breakfast every morning, often with local favorites recipes for breakfast, accompanied by amazing coffee and fresh squeezed juices. We had a wonderful time enjoying a nice relazing breakfast on the beautiful patio, visiting with the other guests every morning.

Magda and David had excellent suggestions for restaurants and activities, with most of the suggestions within walking distance !!! It was also it was a lot of fun to have Sweetie Pie, their adorable, friendly, and extremely well behaved dachshund come by and say hi throughout the day and night.

Our stay was wonderful, we cannot say enough wonderful things about David and Magda, they are both extremely wonderful people and inn keepers.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank basildogpuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaEscondida, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
it sure makes us happy to read that you had such a wonderful time in Cozumel!
thank you for your nice words about Villa Escondida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at Villa Escondida in May 2012 for 10 days and could not have been happier. Of course we looked at all kinds of hotels and b and bs but ultimately decided on Villa Escondida. The location is the absolute best on the island. Close to the waterfront, the best restaraunts, and just so convenient for everything. The grounds, pool, and rooms are immaculate. When we showed other travelers where we were staying they were always jealous and wanted the name of the place for their next trip. As good as all this was the absolute best part of the stay was David and Magda. Our mornings there with fresh fruit, great coffee, and seriously GREAT meals were some of our highlights of the trip. I don't think there's a better way to start your day. We would never stay someplace else and can't wait to go back. The hotels are miles away from town and you'll have to pay for cabs all the time and probably miss out on all the great local food and drink and just the real experience of this friendly little island. This place made our trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaEscondida, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thank you Eric for your nice words about Villa Escondida! it makes us happy to know that you enjoyed staying with us. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,063 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villas Las Anclas
Villas Las Anclas
#2 of 52 in Cozumel
377 reviews
3.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Blue Angel Resort
Blue Angel Resort
#10 of 52 in Cozumel
679 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
3,687 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 52 in Cozumel
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast

Property: Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast
Address: 10th Ave. South | between 3rd st south and Adolfo Rosado Salas st, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Escondida is located only 0.3 miles from the city's main plaza and downtown square, so we are in the heart of everything!! We are a hotel-styled B&B ideal for adult travellers who want local attractions at their doorsteps. We have 4 private guest rooms with bathroom, swimming pool, lounge area with fridge and microwave, FREE WiFi, bicycles, gated parking, and personalized attention! We will be happy to help you organize all desired activities: massages, hair salon services, tours, private tours, fishing in kayaks, and more! Great dining, piers, the main plaza, local shops and more are all a short walk from this hidden Villa. David and Magda are looking forward to have you as guests in their home located in the heart of downtown Cozumel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Escondida Hotel Cozumel
Villa Escondida Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing