We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$415
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$296
InterContinental
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$346
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$270
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$206
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Allegro Cozumel(Cozumel)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cozumel Palace(Cozumel)
US$504
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$456
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
243
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmagda's breakfastsgreat hostsla chozacommon roomevery morninggourmet breakfastthe location is perfectwithin walking distancetwo blocksother gueststhe main houseguest roomsyogurtplenty of storagea wonderful staynice poolhome base
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Villa Escondida while in Mexico last Summer and it was perfect. Magda and Dave really know how to take great care of their guests: from delicious breakfasts (think fresh fruits and delicious Mexican specialties), to restaurant and activity suggestions, good discussions (Dave is Canadian and it was interesting to hear is perspectives), they helped us in booking diving trips and even took us out for great Margaritas in the town center!

We had a really good time and definitely would recommend this B&B, without any reserves! Did I mention the great pool?

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grosBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islacozumel, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2013

It was great fun having you stay at Villa Escondida! thank you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

There's not much to say that hasn't already been said about this place and the exceptional hospitality of David and Magda. The rooms? Beautifully appointed, comfortable, and squeaky clean. Magda's breakfasts? Delicious, satisfying, and healthy. A sampling of what we had to eat: Chilaquiles, motulenos, chorizo and eggs, pork sopes, pumpkin blossom omelets, banana pancakes, and always fresh fruit to start--David even squeezed fresh OJ for us every morning. The courtyard and common areas? A clean pool, a beautiful lush garden (banana trees, hibiscus, orange trees, and more), shaded hammocks, and outdoor tables on which to enjoy Magda's breakfasts. The location? 5 minutes or less walk to the ferry, the pick up piers for diving, the main square, and all the numerous shops and restaurants along the way.

For the divers, if you let Magda or David know that you're diving in the morning, then they will have coffee and breakfast ready for you early if you want. We had to be at the pier by 7:30 on most days during our stay and still managed to eat a full breakfast every day. We were usually eating a little bit before 7 and were out the door at 7:25, which was plenty of time to walk down to the pier.

This was our third trip to Cozumel, our first staying at David and Magda's. We'll be staying at their b&b for all our return trips.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank souladdikt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islacozumel, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2013

Thank you very much for chosing Villa Escondida for your Cozumel holiday!! and thank you for taking the time to write about your experience staying with us! your comments motivate us to keep doing what we love to do!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

My husband and I spent a wonderful week at Villa Escondida. It was just what we were looking for. Magda and David keep the place beautiful and impeccable.
Villa Escondida is only two blocks away from the water, we would get up early and go for a walk on the waterfront, it was great! We would see some people getting ready to go diving and some locals catching some fish right from the steps leading from the sidewalk into the water. Then we would get back and Magda would have a gourmet breakfast ready for us: coffee, sweet rolls, yogurt, fresh fruit, freshly squeezed OJ and a wonderful entree; we were there for 7 days and she made a different entree made with local ingredients every day, Magda would explain to us each dish and what part of Mexico it was originally from (we love food, so we really enjoyed all the information)....and all of them were delicious! We are so sorry we didn't take any pictures of the food!
They are located on a residential street, there is a great restaurant, La Choza, right across the street; also there is a really good bakery on the corner (try their flan!). They are only a couple of blocks from the main square and dozens of great restaurants.
We took walks avery evening and always felt very safe.
They have off street parking, so there is no problem to keep the car there, we rented a car and went to the other side of the island everyday where we had the beach all to ourselves.
The courtyard has a small pool, looked very inviting but we didn't get a chance to try it, we were always out at the beach.
They only have 4 rooms, our room was on the 2nd floor, we had plenty of space, there is an armoire to place all your clothes in, a table/desk and chair. And the bed was sooooo comfortable, we slept like babies. We had the windows opened and we really didn't hear any outside noise. Even though they are so close to the main square, the street where they are located is very quiet.
The bathrooms are spacious, the shower is great, good pressure and nice hot water.
They also provided us with filtered water, which came out very handy, they always had a pitcher ready for us in our room.
They lent us a cooler and beach towels, we would go to the store get some refreshments and snacks and head to the beach......what a life!
We had such a great time and finding the right lodging had a lot to do with it. We usually like to go to different places on our vacations, but Villa Escondida and everything that Cozumel has to offer makes us want to keep coming back. And we definitely will go back to Villa Escondida.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gladys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islacozumel, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Emmet and Gladys, it was so nice haveing you as guests! Life in Cozumel is full of small, simple pleasures and you guys seem to embrace them and enjoy them as much as we do! thank you for chosing Villa Escondida! it gave us the opportunity to met new friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Our second trip to Cozumel and Villa Escondida was wonderful. My wife and I spent six nights
(the first week of March) at 'Villa' with it's gracious owners Dave and Magda, who are always more than helpful answering any questions we had about the island or things to do. This is one of the few B&B's, during our many travels, that my wife and I really miss after returning home.
The Mexican culture and Cozumel are a unique vacation experience. Staying a few days at
Villa Escondida certainly enhances that experience, you will not find better accommodations.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islacozumel, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Thank you Steve and Barbara for returning to Villa Escondida and to our beautiful and beloved Cozumel island which you seem to enjoy as much as we do. We truly appreciate you taking the moment to write a few lines about your visit with us....it is great motivation to keep doing what we love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed at Villa Escondida B&B 2 years ago and had an amazing stay. See you can look up our previous review. This week long stay was every bit as wonderful as before. Escondida means hidden and behind that door on 10th Ave is a hidden place of lush green gardens, refreshing pool, awesome Mexican breakfasts (thanks Magda), comfortable, private and spacious rooms but best of all welcoming and gracious hosts - David and Magda.
My brother and his wife joined us this year for their first time at Villa Escondida. It was great to see them marvel at all the characteristics that we knew to be true in this oasis in the heart of San Miguel. Each day we chose different restaurants that were all with in minutes walking. I have reviewed many of these which vary from " taco joints" to what I would consider 5 star establishments. Nothing is better then walking through to the back garden and enjoying supper under the stars and cooling breezes. And then returning to Villa Escondida to enjoy the garden there.
I will end this review as I titled our first one written 2 years ago - "Why would you stay anywhere else" Enjoy

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Winnipeg_couple99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islacozumel, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2013

Bryan and Sandra, your visit with us was as delightful as the previous one...thank you again for your nice words about our place and Cozumel! hugs!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews