We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location,location,location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 25 Cozumel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“location,location,location!!”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My Wife and I stayed at this charming B&B for a third time....a short walk from the downtown square, conveniently located for access to shopping, dining, culture and such....
Love the authentic, made from scratch everyday, breakfast enhanced by the breads,fruit,coffee and juice....relaxed atmosphere, no T.V.'s, no hurrying here!
Magda and David are very in tune and knowledgable on local happenings....
Well worth the time to spend a week or two for a splendid holiday, treat yourself!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 801JanB801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islacozumel, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
It was great to have you as guests! thank you for visiting and for your nice words about Villa Escondida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
169
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Yet another 5-star review for Villa Escondida. If enjoy the option of quiet evenings, lazy mornings, and afternoon walks, then come to the Villa. If you like to learn about local culture and food, and to explore other parts of the island, then come here for the expert advice. Come here to share the home-made breakfasts with the other guests, bound to be as interesting as you and soon to be friends. I went diving most mornings, and Magda accommodated the schedule for breakfast accordingly. My wife is gluten-sensitive, and Magda could likewise prepare appropriate breakfasts for her (fortunately, traditional Mexican fare is mostly corn-based anyway).
I don't think you could find a location that was both more convenient and quiet. The dive shops next door were just fine and easy to work with. The restaurant across the street (La Choza) is one of the best on the island, and all of the others are but a few minutes walk away anyway. Even when the main square fills up with cruise-shippers, you are only a few minutes walk away from quiet.
As a post-script, we were bumped on our flight home, and the airlines put us up for a night in a local all-inclusive hotel, just north of town. If they choose, guests there can remain completely isolated from the local community and culture, which is perhaps relaxing for some and I don't mean to judge. Better to travel than not, even when it is artificially constrained by a hotel perimeter. But it's not for us. It just confirmed how right Villa Escondida was for us. We travel to learn, make friends, and build bridges.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StxMan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islacozumel, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Thank you Jim and Amy for your nice words!! it was a pleasure having you as guests here at Villa Escondida!! your comments are a wonderful motivation to keep doing what we are doing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

MY husband and I have stayed at Villa Escondida several times. It is such a calm ,relaxing home away from home.We feel very blessed to have found such wonderful place to stay, along with peace and tranquility and WONDERFUL CARING hosts . Our last visit my husband and I both became ill with the flu...and it was so touching to have hosts who were so caring and concerned .Dave and Magda were so very caring offering to make toast and offering anything they could do to make sure we were ok. They are a class act. Thanks again for another lovely stay at Villa Escondida.

.

Room Tip: all rooms the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serendipitycalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islacozumel, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Thank you again Rochelle and Ted for coming to Villa Escondida! it is wonderful to know that you enjoy our island's culture and people as much as we do. After 3 visits, you are no longer just guests, but friends!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grosBob
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Villa Escondida while in Mexico last Summer and it was perfect. Magda and Dave really know how to take great care of their guests: from delicious breakfasts (think fresh fruits and delicious Mexican specialties), to restaurant and activity suggestions, good discussions (Dave is Canadian and it was interesting to hear is perspectives), they helped us in booking diving trips and even took us out for great Margaritas in the town center!

We had a really good time and definitely would recommend this B&B, without any reserves! Did I mention the great pool?

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grosBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islacozumel, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
It was great fun having you stay at Villa Escondida! thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2013

There's not much to say that hasn't already been said about this place and the exceptional hospitality of David and Magda. The rooms? Beautifully appointed, comfortable, and squeaky clean. Magda's breakfasts? Delicious, satisfying, and healthy. A sampling of what we had to eat: Chilaquiles, motulenos, chorizo and eggs, pork sopes, pumpkin blossom omelets, banana pancakes, and always fresh fruit to start--David even squeezed fresh OJ for us every morning. The courtyard and common areas? A clean pool, a beautiful lush garden (banana trees, hibiscus, orange trees, and more), shaded hammocks, and outdoor tables on which to enjoy Magda's breakfasts. The location? 5 minutes or less walk to the ferry, the pick up piers for diving, the main square, and all the numerous shops and restaurants along the way.

For the divers, if you let Magda or David know that you're diving in the morning, then they will have coffee and breakfast ready for you early if you want. We had to be at the pier by 7:30 on most days during our stay and still managed to eat a full breakfast every day. We were usually eating a little bit before 7 and were out the door at 7:25, which was plenty of time to walk down to the pier.

This was our third trip to Cozumel, our first staying at David and Magda's. We'll be staying at their b&b for all our return trips.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank souladdikt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islacozumel, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Thank you very much for chosing Villa Escondida for your Cozumel holiday!! and thank you for taking the time to write about your experience staying with us! your comments motivate us to keep doing what we love to do!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North merrick, new york
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

My husband and I spent a wonderful week at Villa Escondida. It was just what we were looking for. Magda and David keep the place beautiful and impeccable.
Villa Escondida is only two blocks away from the water, we would get up early and go for a walk on the waterfront, it was great! We would see some people getting ready to go diving and some locals catching some fish right from the steps leading from the sidewalk into the water. Then we would get back and Magda would have a gourmet breakfast ready for us: coffee, sweet rolls, yogurt, fresh fruit, freshly squeezed OJ and a wonderful entree; we were there for 7 days and she made a different entree made with local ingredients every day, Magda would explain to us each dish and what part of Mexico it was originally from (we love food, so we really enjoyed all the information)....and all of them were delicious! We are so sorry we didn't take any pictures of the food!
They are located on a residential street, there is a great restaurant, La Choza, right across the street; also there is a really good bakery on the corner (try their flan!). They are only a couple of blocks from the main square and dozens of great restaurants.
We took walks avery evening and always felt very safe.
They have off street parking, so there is no problem to keep the car there, we rented a car and went to the other side of the island everyday where we had the beach all to ourselves.
The courtyard has a small pool, looked very inviting but we didn't get a chance to try it, we were always out at the beach.
They only have 4 rooms, our room was on the 2nd floor, we had plenty of space, there is an armoire to place all your clothes in, a table/desk and chair. And the bed was sooooo comfortable, we slept like babies. We had the windows opened and we really didn't hear any outside noise. Even though they are so close to the main square, the street where they are located is very quiet.
The bathrooms are spacious, the shower is great, good pressure and nice hot water.
They also provided us with filtered water, which came out very handy, they always had a pitcher ready for us in our room.
They lent us a cooler and beach towels, we would go to the store get some refreshments and snacks and head to the beach......what a life!
We had such a great time and finding the right lodging had a lot to do with it. We usually like to go to different places on our vacations, but Villa Escondida and everything that Cozumel has to offer makes us want to keep coming back. And we definitely will go back to Villa Escondida.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gladys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islacozumel, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Emmet and Gladys, it was so nice haveing you as guests! Life in Cozumel is full of small, simple pleasures and you guys seem to embrace them and enjoy them as much as we do! thank you for chosing Villa Escondida! it gave us the opportunity to met new friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Our second trip to Cozumel and Villa Escondida was wonderful. My wife and I spent six nights
(the first week of March) at 'Villa' with it's gracious owners Dave and Magda, who are always more than helpful answering any questions we had about the island or things to do. This is one of the few B&B's, during our many travels, that my wife and I really miss after returning home.
The Mexican culture and Cozumel are a unique vacation experience. Staying a few days at
Villa Escondida certainly enhances that experience, you will not find better accommodations.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islacozumel, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you Steve and Barbara for returning to Villa Escondida and to our beautiful and beloved Cozumel island which you seem to enjoy as much as we do. We truly appreciate you taking the moment to write a few lines about your visit with us....it is great motivation to keep doing what we love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,040 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villas Las Anclas
Villas Las Anclas
#2 of 52 in Cozumel
374 reviews
3.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Blue Angel Resort
Blue Angel Resort
#9 of 52 in Cozumel
672 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel B Cozumel
Hotel B Cozumel
#21 of 52 in Cozumel
767 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast

Property: Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast
Address: 10th Ave. South | between 3rd st south and Adolfo Rosado Salas st, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Escondida is located only 0.3 miles from the city's main plaza and downtown square, so we are in the heart of everything!! We are a hotel-styled B&B ideal for adult travellers who want local attractions at their doorsteps. We have 4 private guest rooms with bathroom, swimming pool, lounge area with fridge and microwave, FREE WiFi, bicycles, gated parking, and personalized attention! We will be happy to help you organize all desired activities: massages, hair salon services, tours, private tours, fishing in kayaks, and more! Great dining, piers, the main plaza, local shops and more are all a short walk from this hidden Villa. David and Magda are looking forward to have you as guests in their home located in the heart of downtown Cozumel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Escondida Bed And Breakfast
Villa Escondida Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing