We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an awesome experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 25 Cozumel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
galveston, tx
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What an awesome experience.”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

If you want a laid back time, but close enough to the main square, this is the place to go. Quiet yet, close enough to all the activities. Thank you David and Magda for allowing us to enjoy your home, it was truly an amazing time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doxsins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaEscondida, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you Deb for chosing to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
173
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This was our 4th or 5th visit to Villa Escondida and we are counting the days until we can return! Magda and David are the perfect hosts and we feel like they are our friends now. The location is perfect for walking into town where we've discovered some wonderful restaurants. They are also a great resource for information on enjoying the area. Magda's breakfasts are delicious and unusual. I always look forward to her descriptions of what is being served and the ingredients she has used. The B&B is beautiful with a lovely pool for relaxing and cooling off. The lounge area is a nice place to gather in the evening and chat with other guests. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and a bargain! We would highly recommend Villa Escondida B&B. Hope to see you soon, Magda and David!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdpayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islacozumel, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
we are soo happy to hear you still enjoy staying at Villa Escondida! Jeanie and Michael, thank you again for returning to our beloved B&B! we always look forward to your visit! hugs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My Husband and I had a Cozumel condo reservation 4 years ago that covered only 7 nights of a 10 day trip and we just needed a place to hold us over. We "found" Villa Escondida here on Tripadvisor and thought we would just give it a try. Since that time however, we have moved from a "Just a place to stay" to a "Home away from Home". In previous reviews, which continue to apply, I have posted about the four Super Clean, comfortable, quiet rooms. I have also give 5 stars to Magda's and David's hospitality as well as the unique breakfasts that are served every morning. I can not forget to mention the beautiful and well kept plants and foliage as well as the sparkling pool. My review would not be complete as well if I did not mention Cutie Pie, the resident pup, who is a true ambassador of sweetness.

Also, not to overlook is how so very convenient the location for restaurants, sights and services. Just walk out the front door and within minuets you are anywhere you need to be. If there is a need for a taxi all one has to do is walk out to the street, perhaps walk to a corner and find one passing by or ask Magda or David to call for one which will arrive to the front door in no time at all. TIP: For those who arrive to Villa Escondida from the airport via the shuttle, just tell the ticket rep you need transportation to Villa Escondida, located across from La Choza Restaurant.

As avid divers, we also appreciate our stay at Villa Escondida. Our dive op, Blue XT SEA, has a pick up point at the town pier which is only a 5 minuet very easy walk. Upon our return to Villa Escondida, David is ready with a rinse hose for our wetsuits. There are racks available to hang everything out to dry. However, we were informed that David has plans to add a rinse tank and expanded areas to dry equipment in the near future. This plan does not surprise us as Magda and David are always looking to how they can make their guests happy.

After diving, it is so wonderful to sit outside, on the Palapa covered breezeways or on the chaise lounges and hammocks. There is also a community room with a shared fridge for guest snacks/light lunch makings or personal beverages. There is also a microwave there in order to heat up leftovers and a TV for those who just need a fix in addition to the excellent WI-FI connection that covers the entire complex.

If you are interested in staying at Villa Escondida, do contact Magda and David and they will take good care of you. Best Wishes to all for a wonderful holiday !!

Mike and Sue, Austin, Texas

Room Tip: Only four identical rooms, King bed, two on first floor, two on second floor. Outside steps to seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bd15d1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islacozumel, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Having you staying at Villa Escondida is like having a family visit! we truly enjoy having you stay with us, and we love the fact you enjoy visiting Cozumel and everything our island has to offer. Thank you for taking the time to write a beautiful review of your time spend at Villa Escondida! we love you guys!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I can't think of a nicer place to stay or greater hosts! David and Magda, the innkeepers, provide a beautiful vacation for the eyes and the tummy! Both are very knowledgable of everything from the best cigar shops to the best restaurants. Stay here when you vacation in Cozumel!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NancyG59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islacozumel, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Bryan and Nancy, it was great meeting you! we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you had a good time in Cozumel island....it was a great idea to come along with your friends Mike and Jeanie! thank you for taking the time to write a few lines about Villa Escondida! ...and we hope to see you one day again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here in November 2012 (my former review somehow never uploaded). All the reviews I read before I booked were spot on. This is a great little paradise in the midst of it all (but you'd never know you weren't on the outskirts of town while sitting by the pool relaxing). Magda and David were tremendous hosts, going about and beyond the call of duty, as well as serving a breakfast to die for. While Cozumel wasn't my favorite vacation destination (too many pushy retailers), if I returned this would definitely be the place I'd stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islacozumel, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Thank you Suzanne, for taking the moment to share your experience with us....we appreciate it very much! thank you for staying with us at Villa Escondida Cozumel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galloway, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We have visited Cozumel 10 times - we love the food, the people, the snorkeling. We always stayed in a resort except for last year we stayed at Miramar condos. This trip we chose Villa Escondida B&B because we always eat in town anyway and it sounded like a lovely change for a reasonable price. Plus, the idea of learning more about the island from the owners and other guests was a plus for us. Well, it truly exceeded all of our expectations - frankly, we were a bit concerned about not staying on the water and had only been to a B&B once before - and we never stayed in town. This place is amazing! Beautiful gardens, sparkling pool and the cleanest rooms! Not to mention the fabulous daily Mexican breakfasts prepared by Magda. Both David and Magda were terrific hosts and they certainly contributed to our best vacation in Coz ever! We will not hesitate to stay again at Villa Escondida! This is a truly special place for an outstanding value. I would rate it more than excellent if that were an option. Short walk to the plaza, great restaurants and shops. This place has the convenience we wanted but the personalized service and amenities you will not get in a hotel or condo.

Room Tip: Any of the 4 rooms are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NanaNancy1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islacozumel, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Nancy and Ray, thank you for staying with us! it was a pleasure meeting you! and thank you for the kind words about Villa Escondida. Hugs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We had a fabulous time at Villa Escondida bed and breakfast. It's right in the center of San Miguel near the ferry and central square. The setting is relaxing with a refreshing swimming pool and hammocks. Delicious Yucatanian breakfasts were made by Madga. Cutie Pie (dacshund) was a wonderful host and her owners David and Magda helped out quite a bit as well. David and Magda helped with directions and were able to get us locals' rate on taxi rides! (saved us quite a bit on our trip to Punta Sur, thanks again!). We highly recommend a trip to the friendly isle of Cozumel and a stay at Villa Escondida.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddleboardoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islacozumel, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Thank you Tom and Elizabeth for finding us and staying with us! thank you for taking the time to write this review....it means a lot to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,071 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villas Las Anclas
Villas Las Anclas
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
381 reviews
3.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Blue Angel Resort
Blue Angel Resort
#10 of 52 in Cozumel
680 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 52 in Cozumel
3,710 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 52 in Cozumel
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast

Property: Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast
Address: 10th Ave. South | between 3rd st south and Adolfo Rosado Salas st, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Escondida is located only 0.3 miles from the city's main plaza and downtown square, so we are in the heart of everything!! We are a hotel-styled B&B ideal for adult travellers who want local attractions at their doorsteps. We have 4 private guest rooms with bathroom, swimming pool, lounge area with fridge and microwave, FREE WiFi, bicycles, gated parking, and personalized attention! We will be happy to help you organize all desired activities: massages, hair salon services, tours, private tours, fishing in kayaks, and more! Great dining, piers, the main plaza, local shops and more are all a short walk from this hidden Villa. David and Magda are looking forward to have you as guests in their home located in the heart of downtown Cozumel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Escondida Bed And Breakfast
Villa Escondida Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing