We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Cozumel B&B!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 25 Cozumel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Cozumel B&B!”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is a beautiful B&B two blocks off the square: four rooms, very quiet and beautiful grounds. The rooms are clean and comfortable; nice waterfall shower. After a morning of diving, we would rinse off and jump in the pool, then lay out and read and nap. Magda and David are great hosts. The breakfasts were incredible! Fresh fruit, coffee and pastries to start. And then, a different gourmet entree each day: omelets, french toast, mole sopas, chilaquiles, enchiladas.

In sum, a great B&B with the best breakfasts I've ever had.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaEscondida, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you Alan and Kathy!! thanks for staying with us following Sue and Mike's recommendation! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to your next visit in January.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
173
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

If your planning a trip to Cozumel and would like to avoid the large hotels, consider Villa Escondida B&B. Villa Escondida is a private oasis in the heart of down town with resturants and shops steps away. The hospitality that you will recieve from Magda and David is exceptional. This is our second stay at Villa Escondida and has become our home away from home. Magda's cooking is simply the best. They have beautiful property with a pool, the rooms are cozy and clean and their dog Cutie Pie is adoreable. We are very happy to have found them since we travel to Cozumel quite a bit and can't wait to go back in December:) Barb and Sean from Toronto.

Room Tip: There all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaEscondida, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Barb and Sean, now dear friends!! thank you for finding us and staying with us and now been part of our select group of returning dear guests! it has been soo nice meeting you, your friends, and Barb's mom...see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Staying with David and Magda was the best decision we made on this trip!
The B&B was exactly what we were looking for: it was clean, quiet, and relaxing.
Magda's homemade breakfasts were such a treat, with warm baked goods, fresh fruit, yogurt with granola, and homemade breakfast entrees to start our mornings.
We came to Cozumel with no concrete plans and we are glad we did, as what David and Magda helped us arrange was incredible. We wanted to dive, and so they had a local scuba dive company owner come to the B&B to meet us and arrange our dive trips. Instead of having to go to a resort or shop to get massages, Magda arranged for a personal masseuse to come to the B&B and we got relaxation massages beside the pool. Between their restaurant advice, hand-written book of local recommendations, and great island connections, it felt like we had personal trip planners who took the guess work out of our decisions.
We will definitely be staying here again, we cannot say enough great things about this gem.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C-and-J-YYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaEscondida, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Janelle and Casey, thank you for staying with us! it was so nice meeting you! and love the fact you visited us from Calgary, a city to dear to our hearts, where our children were born!! you are welcome to Villa Escondida any time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My wife Shirley and I spent a week at Magda and David's exquisite B&B, Villa Escondida, the first week in July, 2013. From the moment Magda met us at the street door until we sadly said goodbye a week later, everything was really perfect. We could not have asked for better hosts. The room was charming, decorated tastefully with plenty of storage for our things. We are divers and David has installed a rack to hang gear outside, and hoses are provided for rinsing. The pool is wonderful, comfortable lounge chairs and towels provided. The breakfasts were just amazing! Magda is a wonderful cook and the presentation was perfect, too. They were full of advice and tips for things to do and places to eat. We had a wonderful late lunch with Magda and David at a nearby restaurant and David took us to get the best hamburger in town one evening. Awesome tacos al pastor are just out the back gate of the property. We were two blocks from our dive shop, two blocks another direction to the pier, and two blocks from the main town square. Perfect facility, perfect food, perfect location and the perfect hosts. Yes, we have already booked another stay!

Room Tip: We prefered the downstairs rooms, but the upstairs rooms have a view and ocean breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Webmoment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaEscondida, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Jim and Shirley, it was a pleasure meeting you!! and we are happy you will be our guests again in January! thank you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galveston, tx
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013

If you want a laid back time, but close enough to the main square, this is the place to go. Quiet yet, close enough to all the activities. Thank you David and Magda for allowing us to enjoy your home, it was truly an amazing time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doxsins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaEscondida, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you Deb for chosing to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This was our 4th or 5th visit to Villa Escondida and we are counting the days until we can return! Magda and David are the perfect hosts and we feel like they are our friends now. The location is perfect for walking into town where we've discovered some wonderful restaurants. They are also a great resource for information on enjoying the area. Magda's breakfasts are delicious and unusual. I always look forward to her descriptions of what is being served and the ingredients she has used. The B&B is beautiful with a lovely pool for relaxing and cooling off. The lounge area is a nice place to gather in the evening and chat with other guests. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and a bargain! We would highly recommend Villa Escondida B&B. Hope to see you soon, Magda and David!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdpayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islacozumel, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
we are soo happy to hear you still enjoy staying at Villa Escondida! Jeanie and Michael, thank you again for returning to our beloved B&B! we always look forward to your visit! hugs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My Husband and I had a Cozumel condo reservation 4 years ago that covered only 7 nights of a 10 day trip and we just needed a place to hold us over. We "found" Villa Escondida here on Tripadvisor and thought we would just give it a try. Since that time however, we have moved from a "Just a place to stay" to a "Home away from Home". In previous reviews, which continue to apply, I have posted about the four Super Clean, comfortable, quiet rooms. I have also give 5 stars to Magda's and David's hospitality as well as the unique breakfasts that are served every morning. I can not forget to mention the beautiful and well kept plants and foliage as well as the sparkling pool. My review would not be complete as well if I did not mention Cutie Pie, the resident pup, who is a true ambassador of sweetness.

Also, not to overlook is how so very convenient the location for restaurants, sights and services. Just walk out the front door and within minuets you are anywhere you need to be. If there is a need for a taxi all one has to do is walk out to the street, perhaps walk to a corner and find one passing by or ask Magda or David to call for one which will arrive to the front door in no time at all. TIP: For those who arrive to Villa Escondida from the airport via the shuttle, just tell the ticket rep you need transportation to Villa Escondida, located across from La Choza Restaurant.

As avid divers, we also appreciate our stay at Villa Escondida. Our dive op, Blue XT SEA, has a pick up point at the town pier which is only a 5 minuet very easy walk. Upon our return to Villa Escondida, David is ready with a rinse hose for our wetsuits. There are racks available to hang everything out to dry. However, we were informed that David has plans to add a rinse tank and expanded areas to dry equipment in the near future. This plan does not surprise us as Magda and David are always looking to how they can make their guests happy.

After diving, it is so wonderful to sit outside, on the Palapa covered breezeways or on the chaise lounges and hammocks. There is also a community room with a shared fridge for guest snacks/light lunch makings or personal beverages. There is also a microwave there in order to heat up leftovers and a TV for those who just need a fix in addition to the excellent WI-FI connection that covers the entire complex.

If you are interested in staying at Villa Escondida, do contact Magda and David and they will take good care of you. Best Wishes to all for a wonderful holiday !!

Mike and Sue, Austin, Texas

Room Tip: Only four identical rooms, King bed, two on first floor, two on second floor. Outside steps to seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bd15d1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islacozumel, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Having you staying at Villa Escondida is like having a family visit! we truly enjoy having you stay with us, and we love the fact you enjoy visiting Cozumel and everything our island has to offer. Thank you for taking the time to write a beautiful review of your time spend at Villa Escondida! we love you guys!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,082 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villas Las Anclas
Villas Las Anclas
#2 of 52 in Cozumel
381 reviews
3.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Blue Angel Resort
Blue Angel Resort
#10 of 52 in Cozumel
682 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Hotel
Flamingo Hotel
#19 of 52 in Cozumel
501 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
3,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast

Property: Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast
Address: 10th Ave. South | between 3rd st south and Adolfo Rosado Salas st, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Escondida is located only 0.3 miles from the city's main plaza and downtown square, so we are in the heart of everything!! We are a hotel-styled B&B ideal for adult travellers who want local attractions at their doorsteps. We have 4 private guest rooms with bathroom, swimming pool, lounge area with fridge and microwave, FREE WiFi, bicycles, gated parking, and personalized attention! We will be happy to help you organize all desired activities: massages, hair salon services, tours, private tours, fishing in kayaks, and more! Great dining, piers, the main plaza, local shops and more are all a short walk from this hidden Villa. David and Magda are looking forward to have you as guests in their home located in the heart of downtown Cozumel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Escondida Bed And Breakfast
Villa Escondida Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing