We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 25 Cozumel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 April 2014

You can't tell from the street the hidden oasis that awaits inside the red door. Quiet, clean, comfortable - a welcome respite after a day of exploring downtown or visiting a beach club for excellent snorkeling. The pool is serene & inviting. Magda and David are gracious hosts and the breakfast is wonderful. If you rent a car, you can also park it in their driveway in the back. If we had stayed an extra day or two, we would have taken one of their bikes for a spin, too. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PinkTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islacozumel, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us! we are happy you had a great time in Cozumel....gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

All the other reviews are spot on, but if you need further affirmation, read on...We stayed at David and Magda's lovely B&B from March 17-24. We've traveled to multiple areas in Mexico and this B&B stacks up with the best of the best. The location is wonderful - just a few blocks from the ocean and in the heart of El Centro with all the restaurants and bars and shops. The B&B is well designed, and the guest rooms are in a separate building from David and Magda's home, which provides for more guest privacy. Only four rooms are available, which means this B&B is always quiet. The entire grounds are enclosed by high walls, which creates a serene, quiet enclave in the middle of town. This was our first time in Cozumel, and we are happy that we stayed in El Centro. You can venture to other portions of the island to sit at the beach if you prefer, but you will definitely want to be close to downtown. We never had a bad meal anywhere, and we never ate at the same location more than once.

Magda's breakfasts are wonderful, and you won't be hungry for a good while afterwards. We had a few friends who stayed in Cozumel at the same time, but they stayed at a hotel closer to the pier. We are happy we did our research ahead of time and stayed at Villa Escondida. You will love it.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usam004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islacozumel, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

thank you very much for staying with us and for coming to Cozumel! we are happy you enjoyed your vacation and your stay at Villa Escondida! gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Walking down the street in front of Villa Escondida, you would have no idea what awaits you beyond the red door to this little piece of paradise! When you ring the bell, the red door opens and you find yourself in the perfect oasis, with David and Magda as the perfect hosts! Our first trip to Cozumel was to an all-inclusive but we often found ourselves out the front door and downtown so much that the next year we looked for something downtown to enjoy! Villa Escondida was/is a perfect fit for us! And we have been back every year since 2009. There is no other place for us! At Villa Escondida, you are in the center of things and restaurants, shopping, entertainment are just out that red door! David and Magda are very knowledgeable about the island and can direct you to anything you might be looking for! The breakfasts are amazing, the rooms clean and bright and the property offers many places to relax...our favorite spots include the pool and the hammocks! We often rent a car for a couple of days while we are on the island and having the secure parking space for our car is always nice! This is a cozy,peaceful bed and breakfast on a beautiful island!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mooseloverlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islacozumel, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

thank you for taking the time to share your experience staying at Villa Escondida....it was a pleasure having you as guests! gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I have reviewed this WONDERFUL B and B (and our second home) in the past. Everything was perfect ... as always with: cozy beds, Magda's wonderful, delicious breakfasts with very "colorful" presentation.

I am reviewing this again because this year we found Dave has added a nice "bonus" to staying here! He now has bikes for rent (with helmets too!) You can rent them daily, weekly or even monthly . We rented 2 bikes for the month as we left Villa Escondida to go to our condo in the north zone. Bikes were great for exercising in the north zone on the nice bike path. We also enjoyed having the bikes to ride in town while staying at the B and B. Great idea Dave! See you and Magda in 2015!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank CozSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islacozumel, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

as always, it is a pleasure to have you as guests! and it is wonderful to have you as friends!! thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This was our 2nd stay at Villa Escondida within 6 months. We originally booked based on the praise from some friends that have stayed with Magda & David for years, but after the 1st stay, we fell in love! The location is ideal - in town, close to the plaza, close to many, many restaurants and shops. But once you've walked into the walled garden (that David keeps looking so beautiful!) you'd never know you're so close to the hustle & bustle! The rooms are airy and bright; and quite comfortable. There's plenty of places to relax - sunning by the pool, a chair under the palapa, or any number of spots around the gardens.

Then's there's Magda's breakfasts! Along with the great coffee, fresh squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit and pastries, she's prepares the most delicious mexican dishes each morning to temp you with. They are AMAZING! (I only wish I could copy her recipes, but she cooks from the heart, not by a recipe!!)

We have traveled to Cozumel many times over the years, and stayed at many places on the island. But in a very short time, Villa Escondida has won our hearts, and we can't wait to stay there again!!

Room Tip: All 4 rooms are identical - 2 up, 2 down, so it would just depend on personal preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyConstant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islacozumel, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

thank you for taking the time to post a few lines about your experience at Villa Escondida....we appreciate it very much!...it has been really nice meeting you and having you as guests! you are welcome anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

All the reviews are true! Villa Escondida is a wonderful oasis right in the heart of beautiful Cozumel. Magda and David are wonderful hosts, and are ready to help make your stay in Cozumel a memorable experience. Magda's breakfasts, including David's fresh-squeezed orange juice, are out of this world, all home made fresh every day.

If you want to experience Cozumel, I highly recommend staying at Villa Escondida. All the best restaurants, bars, as well as the ocean are all within walking distance. But should you rent a car, the B&B provides their guests a secure parking space.

Cozumel is a wonderful island, full of friendly, cheerful faces. We felt very comfortable and at home. The island is safe, even at night and we walked the San Miguel without worry or apprehension. A beautiful B&B on a gem of an island. We can hardly wait to go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islacozumel, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

thank you for staying at Villa Escondida! it was great meeting you and having you as guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This is our 4thvisit at Villa Escondida. If you would like to be near all the best places to eat and mingle with locals.....this location is great!!!! My husband and I have enjoyed each visit and especially the past three times during Carnival!!!It The villa is very quiet, but during the afternoons at times, you may be lucky enough (during Carnival) to have a chance to watch a dance group outside the front door. Thanks Dave and Magda for another enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serendipitycalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islacozumel, Owner at Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

thank you for posting a few lines....we are happy you enjoy visiting Cozumel! it is always a pleasure having you as guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villas Las Anclas
Villas Las Anclas
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
386 reviews
3.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Blue Angel Resort
Blue Angel Resort
#11 of 52 in Cozumel
684 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Hotel
Flamingo Hotel
#20 of 52 in Cozumel
504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast

Address: 10th Ave. South | between 3rd st south and Adolfo Rosado Salas st, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Cozumel
Price Range: £39 - £411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Escondida is located only 0.3 miles from the city's main plaza and downtown square, so we are in the heart of everything!! We are a hotel-styled B&B ideal for adult travellers who want local attractions at their doorsteps. We have 4 private guest rooms with bathroom, swimming pool, lounge area with fridge and microwave, FREE WiFi, bicycles, gated parking, and personalized attention! We will be happy to help you organize all desired activities: massages, hair salon services, tours, private tours, fishing in kayaks, and more! Great dining, piers, the main plaza, local shops and more are all a short walk from this hidden Villa. David and Magda are looking forward to have you as guests in their home located in the heart of downtown Cozumel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Escondida Bed And Breakfast
Villa Escondida Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing