We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best vacation ever...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 26 Cozumel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ithaca NY
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best vacation ever...”
Reviewed 27 August 2009

An impeccable, comfortable, quiet gem in Cozumel's historic district, three blocks from the main plaza and from the ocean, this was the perfect spot for our family's six days on Cozumel. B&B rooms are in a separate structure with a palapa-roofed sitting area overlooking the lovely pool and garden. Magda and David welcomed us with coffee and delicious breakfast every morning, and directed us to swimming, wave-jumping, parasailing and snorkling sites and boats and great restaurants. I would love to return here annually -- so much more comfortable and welcoming than a big hotel! Rooms? Perfect. Comfy beds, efficient fan and AC, great showers. Added bonus: sweet turtles hiding in the gardens!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zenthyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
168
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

What a wonderful place to stay. It's hard to believe when you're enjoying the delicious breakfasts or sitting at the pool that you're in the middle of downtown! The rooms/gardens are beautiful. The hospitality of David and Magda cannot be duplicated anywhere. After previous trips to the island at a resort, it was a great to find out about many of the local restaurants and businesses. We totally enjoyed our stay at the beginning of the summer and we are looking forward to another visit in August!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MenomonieTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comox
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Our stay with David and Magda was memorable on many levels. The food... oh the food with fresh picked bananas and avocados right off the tree from their courtyard. They have their own family of 3 turtles that cruise the deck several times a day. Fantastic central location to everything, seriously, and I don't even scuba. Walk a very short distance to the market I can't believe how quiet it is inside the courtyard walls. There's nothing like having a late night dip in the pool before bed, like at 2 am. We were scheduled for only 5 days but we stayed 5 more as the ease and beauty of the location was too good to be true.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeanneElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Location of this gem is key. Behind the closed door is peace and quiet, yet one step outside you are close to the best restaurants Cozumel has to offer, numerous dive outfits, markets, and the central square. Once inside Magda and David's place you are surrounded by lush gardens with large fruit trees, where we relaxed in lounge chairs by the dip pool, listening to the fountain. Our room was very nice-spacious, comfortable and CLEAN! Nice warm shower. Last, but most important were our welcoming host and hostess. It was a special treat to have a hostess who is native to the Yucatan. Magda's cooking was delicious...we were treated to specialty Yucatan dishes and spices for breakfast. Magda shared her knowledge of Yucatan fruits and spices only found there. David helped us with activities, including diving, beaches, fishing, and exploring. They both have lived on Cozumel for a number of years and their knowledge and help to make our vacation memorable was invaluable. We will return to Villa Escondida!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Durang0Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2009

We had the pleasure of spending 5 nights with David and Magda in April. If you are not a "resort" person, this is the place to be. It is within easy walking distance to the square, ocean front, shopping and resturaunts. Our room was the cleanest out of our 5 other trips to the island. Madga's breakfast were wonderful. She even made me Jamica tea after I mentioned that I usually order it when going out. David was always out working in the beautiful yard, which is a private get-a-way within the town! The pool is very refreshing after a hot day at the beach. David and Magda made us feel as if this was our home. We have stayed at many B&Bs in the states and a few in MX, and the hospitality, service, and cleanliness of Villa Escondida is the best. We can call David and Magda our friends whom we have had the pleasure of staying with.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happystacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Park, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

...but.....it would not be fair to be so selfish. My husband and I truly enjoyed our 3 day stay at Villa Escondida. Hosts, Magda and David are fantastic. They welcomed us and got us settled into our room very quickly. King size bed, AC, ceiling fan, very large shower and bathroom area. There was plenty of storage to keep our belongings. The rooms were spotless.

In no time at all we were swimming in the beautiful pool, relaxing under the umbrellas, lounging in hammocks on the palapa covered patio, walking around the well kept grounds and taking photos of the many blooming flowering plants on the property.

Included in the rate is a full breakfast each morning. Due to our daily schedule we asked for light breakfasts for two of our mornings. These breakfasts consisted of a beautiful selection of fruit and breakfasts breads, fresh squeezed orange juice and Coffee, which is available early. For the morning we opted for a full breakfast, Magda prepared for us delicious banana pancakes with a side platter of freshly cut assorted fruits.

Since Villa Escondida is located in town, walking to the many restaurants for lunch and dinners is very convenient. In fact, one of our most favorite restaurants, La Choza is across the street. However, even though Villa Escondida is in town, one would never know it once inside the front door. Michael and I have stayed at various places on the island and we definetly have never had such quiet and restful sleep. Even during the day very little traffic noise can be heard. Villa Escondida is very quiet, private, and relaxing.

We highly recommend Villa Escondida and look forward to future stays there.

Mike and Sue Behm, Texas

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scubasuebeedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Villa Escondida is a wonderful retreat. David has fresh coffee waiting for you in the morning and Magda fixes an excellent breakfast served by David on the patio. Villa Escondida is a wonderful change form the hustle and bustle of the large resorts. It is ideal for a romantic get away and adventure. You can relax by the pool or the patio, take a short walk to the main plaza to visit local shops and people watch. If you like the feel of a resort you can spend the day at Caribe Beach Club for the price of a drink or lunch. For adventure try spending morning deep sea fishing – David will help you arrange it. We were in Cozumel during Carnival. The nightly parades were the best that we have ever seen. Amazing costumes, dancing, and music! We highly recommend spending your vacation at Villa Escondida with David and Madga.
Bruce and Irene

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloraMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
990 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villas Las Anclas
Villas Las Anclas
#3 of 51 in Cozumel
363 reviews
3.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Blue Angel Resort
Blue Angel Resort
#9 of 51 in Cozumel
663 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casita de Maya
Casita de Maya
#10 of 51 in Cozumel
319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mi Casa en Cozumel
Mi Casa en Cozumel
#2 of 26 in Cozumel
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast

Property: Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast
Address: 10th Ave. South, 299 between 3rd st south and Adolfo Rosado Salas st | Centro, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Escondida is located only 0.3 miles from the city's main plaza and downtown square, so we are in the heart of everything!! We are a hotel-styled B&B ideal for adult travelers who want local attractions at their doorsteps. We have 4 private guest rooms with bathroom, swimming pool, lounge area with fridge and microwave, free WiFi, bicycles, gated parking, and personalized attention! We will be happy to help you organize all desired activities: massages, hair salon services, tours, private tours, fishing in kayaks, and more! Great dining, piers, the main plaza, local shops and more are all a short walk from this hidden Villa. David and Magda are looking forward to have you as guests in their home located in the heart of downtown Cozumel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Escondida Bed And Breakfast
Villa Escondida Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing