We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am ready to trade”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 25 Cozumel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I am ready to trade”
Reviewed 5 December 2009

This is the best B&B / inn I have ever stayed in. The location is perfectly situated on a quiet block - a 3 minute walk to the plaza and a handful of excellent local restaurants within three block radius. Our bedroom is spacious, clean and comfortable; it faces the pool that is surrounded by a beautiful garden. The owners, Magda and David are super friendly and helpful in giving us advice (we were welcomed like old friends). Breakfast is made with fresh local ingredients by Magda. David is a great bartender- thanks for the potent coconut rum cocktail- It was delicious! I would stay there again without a doubt.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PuraVida4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
173
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2009

My wife and I were staying in a hotel on the beach in Cancun and it was excellent but we wanted a few nights in a low key envirornment also. It was found. After reading terrific reviews we booked the Villa Escondida B & B. There are four rooms, two at ground level and two above located in a walled oasis a lush garden tropical trees and refreshing pool in the center. There is a guest comfort room with fridge, sink, and dining area for relaxing evenings.
The owners are so friendly and helpful. Magda serves hot, savory coffee and a variety of fresh fruit and creative main dishes for breakfast. David gives great advice on where to eat, the best beaches, and how to get there and back.

There hospitality is a sweet thing to experience.

We want to return.

Bob and Marva

San Diego

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chilenobayswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne, Wyoming
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2009

We just returned home from an eight night trip to Mexico. While we have been to Cancun on many other occasions, this was our first trip to Cozumel. We usually stay at a large resort when in Cancun, so we decided to look for something more casual and cozy in Cozumel. We were delighted to have found Villa Escondida just a few blocks from where we got off the ferry from the mainland, and a stone's throw away from the quaint downtown area. It is also only a short walk to the "Walmart" type store where we were able to pick up some staples at a reasonable cost. Magda and David are wonderful hosts, and we enjoyed their company, as well as Magda's wonderful homemade mexican breakfasts. The B&B rooms were spacious and lovely, the grounds and foilage beautiful, and the nightly charges very reasonable. We highly recommend Villa Escondida, and look forward to a return visit at some point in the future.

Rick and Cathy

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moomsa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2009

This is a fantastic B&B. It's close to everything you need. It's surprisingly quiet for it's location. Breakfast was delicious. In fact I'd say it was the best we had on our whole trip. There are lots of nice little extras, such as locally made soap and shampoo, a stocked beer fridge and free bottled water. David and Magda are great hosts and have lots of recommendations on where to go and what to eat. When I go back to Cozumel I'll be staying here!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gahram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed at Villa Escondida for three days in January. We originally wanted to stay at another bed and breakfast nearby, but it was booked up and they recommended Villa Escondida. We're glad they did.

As the name suggests, the establishment is hidden behind street front facade like any other in the island's small city, just a few blocks from the main square. Behind the facade is a modest but beautiful compound. Set in the middle is a small pool with deep blue tiles. Palm trees surround a little garden. Four guest rooms are located in an outbuilding off the garden. They are small but stylish, with a bathroom and shower with good water pressure. The owners, David and Magda Sihikal, live in the main building, where there is a small common room for guests. There is a television there and a refrigerator usually stocked with beer. In the mornings, Magda makes breakfast. A native Yucatecana, she is an excellent cook and made dishes like huevos motulenos and chilequiles, stuff we loved so much we try to make it at home now.

Dave and Magda were helpful hosts. They gave us advice about the best car rental in the city, the most peaceful and beautiful places to visit on the east coast and what restaurants to try/avoid. An added bonus is that it's across the street from one of the island's best eateries, La Choza. We had a wonderful time in Cozumel and hope to go back soon.

The nightly rate was a bargain, $90.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mkennethamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

We spent a week in September '09 with David and Magda. Initial dealings with them over the internet were easy. They answered all our questions and were most helpful. We arrived on foot after an easy walk from the ferry terminal and spent a very relaxing week in Cozumel. David showed us around the island, dropped us at a northern beach where we had access to their condo, and generally advised us on best places to eat etc. He was never wrong. Magda provided us with some great breakfasts, the fruit,coffee and Mexican hot dishes were first class and always accompanied by a cheerful and informative explanation. She even took us to the supermarket to stock up. Although we visited in the hot off season the impact of the weather was greatly reduced by use of the immaculate pool, air conditioning, and frequent visits to the refrigerator. A plentiful supply of filtered water was just another of the thoughtful touches supplied.
We had a great time!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldgreydiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca NY
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

An impeccable, comfortable, quiet gem in Cozumel's historic district, three blocks from the main plaza and from the ocean, this was the perfect spot for our family's six days on Cozumel. B&B rooms are in a separate structure with a palapa-roofed sitting area overlooking the lovely pool and garden. Magda and David welcomed us with coffee and delicious breakfast every morning, and directed us to swimming, wave-jumping, parasailing and snorkling sites and boats and great restaurants. I would love to return here annually -- so much more comfortable and welcoming than a big hotel! Rooms? Perfect. Comfy beds, efficient fan and AC, great showers. Added bonus: sweet turtles hiding in the gardens!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zenthyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,071 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villas Las Anclas
Villas Las Anclas
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
381 reviews
3.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Blue Angel Resort
Blue Angel Resort
#10 of 52 in Cozumel
680 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 52 in Cozumel
3,710 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 52 in Cozumel
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast

Property: Villa Escondida Cozumel Bed and Breakfast
Address: 10th Ave. South | between 3rd st south and Adolfo Rosado Salas st, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Escondida is located only 0.3 miles from the city's main plaza and downtown square, so we are in the heart of everything!! We are a hotel-styled B&B ideal for adult travellers who want local attractions at their doorsteps. We have 4 private guest rooms with bathroom, swimming pool, lounge area with fridge and microwave, FREE WiFi, bicycles, gated parking, and personalized attention! We will be happy to help you organize all desired activities: massages, hair salon services, tours, private tours, fishing in kayaks, and more! Great dining, piers, the main plaza, local shops and more are all a short walk from this hidden Villa. David and Magda are looking forward to have you as guests in their home located in the heart of downtown Cozumel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Escondida Bed And Breakfast
Villa Escondida Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing