We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COMFORT & CARE IN COZUMEL” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Escondida Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Escondida Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 31 Cozumel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“COMFORT & CARE IN COZUMEL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2011

Nancy my friend at www.cozumelliving.com recommended that I stay at Villa Escondida while in Cozumel. I didn't know what to expect but I was very impressed at how comfortable, relaxing and clean everything was. David and Magda went out of their way to make sure we had a great experience and having a great restaurant like "La Choza" right across the street that served breakfast, lunch and dinner made Villa Escondida B&B an excellent choice and I highly recommend it to anyone staying in Cozumel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tejas5347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
168
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

David and Magda were wonderfully gracious hosts -- helping us out with bicycles, scuba diving advice and restaurant recommendations. The villa itself is beautiful and accomodating, boasting a comfy pool and an adorable little dog. But the highlight has to be Magda's breakfasts -- huge servings, and really delicious. Both clearly take pride in the place and it shows. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank razhaeltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

Caryl and I have been to Villa Escondida several times and have always enjoyed the beautiful pool and atmosphere, a wonderful place to spend several days in Cozumel. Located in town and near all the good restaurants and night life.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2010

The owners of Villa Escondida we attentive to all of my requests and made me feel at home. They greeted me as a guest when I arrived and as a friend when I left. I'm looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 368727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

This B&B is just the right size for special attention and a really laid back environment. Magda is a super cook and makes a generous breakfast that will take you through until dinner. She makes everything fresh and you can tell she enjoys doing it. David is very friendly and accommodating. They have done a great job with the decor and have added many small details like candles. There is a very good traditional restaurant directly across the street with the best margueritas in town (we tried several places). Many more excellent restaurants within walking distance. Parking is a bit tricky, but we made it work. Loved our stay!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marccaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

Just returned from a 10 day stay on Isla Cozumel for a wedding. We were recommended to stay at Villa Escondida by friends who live on the island. When we drove up to the entrance-a red door on a typical looking busy street in San Miguel-we were a bit nervous. What had we booked-right in the middle of the busy downtown area? All nervousness was laid to rest once we entered the inner sanctum that is Villa Escondida. LOVELY! A beautiful garden setting awaited us with a pool, covered verandas, lounge area for indoor relaxing and a very privately laid out guest room-one of four. The room was cozy, big bed, plenty of space in the armoire for 10 days worth of attire and a nice, clean bathroom. Although our location was very close to the bustle of San Miguel we slept so soundly that the first few nights we awoke thinking we were still at home! Villa Escondida is walled in all around by the adjoining buildings which provides a sense of security and privacy as well as sets the tone for the lush gardens.
Our hosts, Magda and David, are lovely people. The information they gave us about dining, car rental, beaches, stores and the things they shared about life on Cozumel were all accurate and interesting. Oh-and and Magda's breakfasts were to die for! Sopes, Chilaquile, Panuchos and more delighted us daily as we ate breakfast outside. Magda was proud that she did not repeat the same menu once in 10 days. Magda is from Campeche and her knowledge of the culture and history of Mexico is extensive. Oh yes-and lets not forget the star of Villa Escondida-the dachsund Cutie! Cutie greeted us every morning with tail wagging and escorted us to our rooms when we returned at night.
Everything to do in San Miguel-dining-shopping-ferry-museum-is within a short walking distance from this great location.
The maid service was daily and the rooms are very, very clean.
All I can say is "WOW!" We will return!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WayOutWestMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2010

We choose this B&B based on the excellent trip advisor reviews and the convenient location. We stayed for only 2 nights and were the only guests at the time. David and Magda were fantastic hosts full of good advice for activities and restaurant recommendations.

Unlike other B&B's that I have stayed at in the states, the room was modern, immaculately clean, and tastefully decorated. The location is away from the main drag so it is quiet but it was no more than a 5 minute walk to the center of town.
We loved it and we will surely stay there again in the future!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank surfbuddy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#4 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villas Las Anclas
Villas Las Anclas
#5 of 51 in Cozumel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
3.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Casita de Maya
Casita de Maya
#13 of 51 in Cozumel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
0.7 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#1 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Escondida Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Escondida Bed and Breakfast

Property: Villa Escondida Bed and Breakfast
Address: 10th Ave. South #299 | Centro, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Escondida is located only 0.3 miles from the city's main plaza and downtown square, so we are in the heart of everything!! We are a hotel-styled B&B ideal for adult travelers who want local attractions at their doorsteps. We have 4 private guest rooms with bathroom, swimming pool, lounge area with fridge and microwave, free WiFi, bicycles, gated parking, and personalized attention! We will be happy to help you organize all desired activities: massages, hair salon services, tours, private tours, fishing in kayaks, and more! Great dining, piers, the main plaza, local shops and more are all a short walk from this hidden Villa. David and Magda are looking forward to have you as guests in their home located in the heart of downtown Cozumel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Escondida Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing