We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot for relaxation”
Review of Privilege Aluxes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Privilege Aluxes
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at Privilege. We were greeted with champagne and a cold cloth at check in, which was so welcome after a long trip! This hotel was the perfect spot to relax and unwind, with a beautiful water view from our balcony, and fantastic service. The bellhop was very pleasant and helpful, the waitstaff at both Sabor and at the beach restaurant were great, and Luis, our drink server at the beach was just wonderful! Thank you all for making our trip so great.
Part of the appeal of this hotel and island was the lack of crowds. We were able to get chairs and even the lounge beds both at the beach and poolside when we wanted them. Our room(s) were clean, spacious and comfortable.
We had requested a high floor when we reserved the room, but by the time we arrived after flight delays, we ended up on the second floor. When my husband asked about something higher, the front desk staff graciously offered to move us the next day when a 4th floor room became available. The move was easy and did not disrupt our stay, and the staff moved our bags when the new room was ready. We had a fantastic view and enjoyed the hot tub on the deck. The only thing we did not like about the room is that you appear to have no control over the lights on the balcony, and there was a bright light right above the tub, which we would have liked to turn off.
We ate at all 3 restaurants and enjoyed the food. For the size of the hotel, we felt the buffets had a ton of choices, and there was always a cook to prepare something fresh, whether it was omelettes at breakfast or grilled meat at dinner. The last morning I was surprised to sit down and find my eggs were cold, but when I went back to get a fresh omelette instead, the staff had already recognized the problem and were quickly working to rectify the warming tray issue. We really felt that above all, the staff wanted all guests to enjoy themselves and be completely comfortable and satisfied.
At the beach, we were so pleased with the waitstaff (you are awesome Luis!). We were greeted quickly and offered drinks, and as soon as our glasses were empty, it seemed Luis was back to offer another drink. We recall last year's vacation at a very expensive resort on Paradise Island in the Bahamas were we actually had to wait and wait and wait at the beach bar to fork over a boatload of money to get a drink. Here, it was all inclusive and the service was amazing. In the evening, we sat on the couch on the beach and listened to some great live music.
We would recommend this hotel for any adults looking for a relaxing, get-away-from-it-all vacation, and feel the all-inclusive option was well worth the money.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TakeMeAway321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,036)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,332 - 2,338 of 3,036 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2011

Love isla but 2 day stay is enough. If u want to do excursions which I highly recommend xcaret and xelha, u have to take the ferry 20 min then be picked u by bus to destination and its 6.00 usd per person one way. It adds up everytime u want too leave isla. Not much to do on isla but I do recommend visiting at least 2 days. Playa north beach beauty and great shopping here. If u want good food eat at Amigos bar and grill. Tried others and this is best. We stayed 1 week and next time we staying in Cancun or Riviera Maya. Marcelo hotels amazing. Hotels on isla are smaller cuz the island itself is small so we weren't to impressed cuz we used to the huge luxury hotels with golf courses, lots os greenery, saunas etc... privilege aluxes ok nice for its size lobby small not like grand entrances at barcelos. Food great beach great. Will go back but only for 2 days which is enough to see everything.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank butterpopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

1) Our room's air conditioning didn't work. They sent a man to fix it three times. We couldn't sleep it was so hot. It took a day and a half and a lot of talking to the manager just to get another room that would cool properly. 1/3 of our vacation was spent just trying to get a decent room.
2) The rooms have a slight sewer smell. It isn't unbearable but it is unpleasant and not very romantic.
3) The pool bar and the beach bar play loud techno music all day.
4) The spa services aren't great. Their "deep tissue" massage is basically a rub down. The pedicure was bad too. The ladies working there know just enough to pretend like they know what they are doing. Not trained and with no idea of what a proper massage or pedicure is.
5) The food is very very average. The buffet looks nice but is dry and tasteless. The sushi at SATAY was the worst crap I have ever seen passed off as sushi. I ordered the combo with sashimi and nigri of which neither came. And what I got was old tasting rolls with cream cheese and vegies. The only seafood was cooked shrimp and smelt roe. No fish!!! The menu said it came with Salmon and Tuna. I asked the manager and he just acted like I didn't know anything about sushi.
6) The spot on the beach is nice and the hotel looks nice but our stay was unpleasant because of the room situation and the poor food and service.

Room Tip: Ask for one that doesn't smell!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrivilegeIslaMujeres, Quality Control at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2011

Dear Reviewer, We would like to offer you our sincere apologies for the inconvenient with the AC. We have fixed this immediately when we knew that 5 out of 124 rooms thermostat were not working properly. We are glad that you have enjoyed your room upgrade and have decided to extend your stay and stay with us for one more night. On another note and thanks to your remark on the music by the pool, we took this into consideration and are offering variety of music for our guests in this area. Thanks for helping us to improve our work.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

WOW! Just got back from ISLA and the most beautiful wedding you could imagine.This place is great, HOLA ! The priveledge has the perfect location on the north end of the island, access to the best beaches and town are footsteps away, From the moment we checked in, with a champagne toast, To ordering brownies and cheescake to celebrate my daughters birthday at midnight , the service was impeccable, The attention to detail was second to none. Javier Marcia,l thank you .Carlos at Cafe Del Mar, I made a friend for life. Idias at the pool bar,Very attentive. I would recommend this resort to any friend and me and my family will be returning to this place soon.

Room Tip: book the premium room for good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cosmogadget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We did not get the room we prepaid and had to settle for an inferior room for two nights, and they tried to "make good" by elevating to a "better" room for three nights. Not too happy about it, and it happened to at least two other couples we talked with. The location, the restaurants, and the pools are great, and this could go from average to very good if you get the room you envisioned. One recommendation -- do not pay for the all-inclusive; there are some good restaurants within walking distance. The check-in staff tries to pressure you to make a decision on all-inclusive or not as soon as you arrive, and if this is your first visit, you may not know that there are some true Mexican restaurants two blocks away -- you don't have to settle for an elegant Thai restaurants or a ho-hum buffet on site.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DuaneSandul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

My partner and I stayed at Privilege Aluxes at the end of May. We had reserved a Platinum Suite, which was price-matched to Expedia and since we reserved directly with the hotel online, our door to door transportation was included. I highly recommend this process.

Getting there was a breeze. At check in we were told our room wouldn't be ready until 3pm (it was about 1:30 at the time), so we changed clothes and headed out for lunch and to the pool. We were given the gold bands but I'm still not sure what the difference was between the gold and the blue. The front desk is terrible at providing information and it was not unusual to have guests asking other guests where things were located, how to find the towel exchange, etc. Since we were there early we were able to scope out the hotel, the restaurants, the beach and the pool pretty easily. Unfortunately the room wasn't ready at 3...or 4. It wasn't until closer to 4:30 and after asking repeatedly for an estimated time that we were able to get into our room. Jaime brought our bags up and was very helpful with any questions that we had at that time.

Our room was 542. The view was truly amazing and well worth the money. I would not hesitate to get another Platinum Suite when we return. These suites have a private plunge pool, which in theory is great, but not so perfect in function. Either they are not equipped with "skimmers" or "filters" or they did not work the entire time we were there. We repeatedly asked to have it cleaned and for someone to check the filters, and each time the hotel obliged quickly. Unfortunately even after they skimmed the pool by hand it was somewhat dirty and full of gnats and other particles that were too small to be caught by the net. Even with this, I would still request this room as the view was priceless.

I believe the rooms have been described well--beds are hard, no drawers, etc. One of my favorite parts of the suite was the upstairs shower--the door opens to the very large balcony/deck/pool area, which made you feel like you were showering outside.

Drinks and food at the restaurants and bars are average to good, with great service. The beach service was amazing and we rarely waited more than 20 minutes between drinks (lunch can be had on the beach as well). You never have to leave your chair if you choose not to. The house wines were actually quite good, an unexpected surprise.

The beach itself was beautiful and the water was crystal clear. Of note, several large boats dock just up from the beach and drop off visitors from Cancun (I think). Most tend to congregate to the upper beach or the beach/bar next door and were no bother. As this is not a private beach, you may also encounter guests from other hotels, locals, etc. For us that made it an even more unique experience. Many vendors sell on the beach, however security keeps a watchful eye on them and always asked them to move behind the roped off area when they ventured too close.

The cleanliness of the hotel was probably about average. Though our bed was made each day (and new towels provided), I wouldn't say housekeeping did much cleaning. Our refrigerator also was not restocked every day, though a quick call to the front desk fixed this. On our next to last day, I believe they sprayed for cockroaches as we returned to the hotel to find a number of them in the process of dying along the corridors and in the walkways. Later that night we found a large one in our room as well. Though it's gross, it's not unexpected from a large resort with lots of people and food, I just wish they would have cleaned them up immediately rather than leaving many for the next days clean up.

Like others we rented a golf cart to see the island for an afternoon. For us, 9a-5p was plenty (do not miss seeing the views at Punta Sur, they are unforgettable). We also went on a snorkeling excursion with Casa del Buceo, which I highly recommend. We had our own tour earlier in the morning to avoid all of the boats that tend to take our large groups. I believe we paid $35 USD per person for approximately two hours and our guide was Enrique.

As I've said, even with the issues described, we have decided that this is the place for us. The island itself is a true gem. The hotel was certainly worth what we paid, even with the minor problems. Additionally, it attracts a very diverse clientele, and gay travelers should feel welcome here. During our visit we encountered a number of other gay couples who were staying at the hotel as well.

Overall this was an amazing trip. Much of it was due to the beauty of the island itself, however Privileges definitely met our expectations.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank lsojaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We are a gay couple traveling for our 7th anniversary and we were treated very nicely and respectful. The hotel, location and beach are awesome. Our room was very nice, huge and had a very good view. I loved the huge bathroom with the walk in shower. We did the all inclusive and it was very well worth it. The food was great and we really loved eating on the beach every night at Cafe del Mar. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cotx13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#4 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,413 reviews
1.8 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
442 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Privilege Aluxes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Privilege Aluxes

Address: Ave Adolfo Lopez Mateos, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#3 Luxury Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: £151 - £480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Privilege Aluxes 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privilege Aluxes: Truly a privileged experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Privilege Aluxes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres
Privilege Aluxes Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing