We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not so friendly”
Review of Privilege Aluxes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Privilege Aluxes
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The place is very nice looking, the rooms are very nice as well, but the staff could be more welcoming. Smiles are expensive it seems in that place. Out of reach of most of the staff. Maybe they think smiling makes the place look less exclusive... The breakfast is really good, So is it worth the money? I'll have to think about this one a little more :-)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicolas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrivilegeIslaMujeres, Quality Control at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2011

Dear Reviewer, We are truly sorry! We are normally friendly and love to smile. Please apologize for this. We dont know what to say but to humbly ask you to give us a chance to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,393 - 2,399 of 3,102 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

My wife and I were guests here in Nov 2010 and loved it so much. The food, the staff and of course the beach. We had a blast so as we just sat down to plan this year’s trip we started looking for a new spot. No matter what we saw we just knew it would not measure up to Isla and Privilege Aluxes. The only think I found disappointing was that the pool was too cool to swim in comfortably and same for the whirlpools. They are all cold. Other than that we had a great time.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EBSGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at Privilege. We were greeted with champagne and a cold cloth at check in, which was so welcome after a long trip! This hotel was the perfect spot to relax and unwind, with a beautiful water view from our balcony, and fantastic service. The bellhop was very pleasant and helpful, the waitstaff at both Sabor and at the beach restaurant were great, and Luis, our drink server at the beach was just wonderful! Thank you all for making our trip so great.
Part of the appeal of this hotel and island was the lack of crowds. We were able to get chairs and even the lounge beds both at the beach and poolside when we wanted them. Our room(s) were clean, spacious and comfortable.
We had requested a high floor when we reserved the room, but by the time we arrived after flight delays, we ended up on the second floor. When my husband asked about something higher, the front desk staff graciously offered to move us the next day when a 4th floor room became available. The move was easy and did not disrupt our stay, and the staff moved our bags when the new room was ready. We had a fantastic view and enjoyed the hot tub on the deck. The only thing we did not like about the room is that you appear to have no control over the lights on the balcony, and there was a bright light right above the tub, which we would have liked to turn off.
We ate at all 3 restaurants and enjoyed the food. For the size of the hotel, we felt the buffets had a ton of choices, and there was always a cook to prepare something fresh, whether it was omelettes at breakfast or grilled meat at dinner. The last morning I was surprised to sit down and find my eggs were cold, but when I went back to get a fresh omelette instead, the staff had already recognized the problem and were quickly working to rectify the warming tray issue. We really felt that above all, the staff wanted all guests to enjoy themselves and be completely comfortable and satisfied.
At the beach, we were so pleased with the waitstaff (you are awesome Luis!). We were greeted quickly and offered drinks, and as soon as our glasses were empty, it seemed Luis was back to offer another drink. We recall last year's vacation at a very expensive resort on Paradise Island in the Bahamas were we actually had to wait and wait and wait at the beach bar to fork over a boatload of money to get a drink. Here, it was all inclusive and the service was amazing. In the evening, we sat on the couch on the beach and listened to some great live music.
We would recommend this hotel for any adults looking for a relaxing, get-away-from-it-all vacation, and feel the all-inclusive option was well worth the money.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TakeMeAway321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Love isla but 2 day stay is enough. If u want to do excursions which I highly recommend xcaret and xelha, u have to take the ferry 20 min then be picked u by bus to destination and its 6.00 usd per person one way. It adds up everytime u want too leave isla. Not much to do on isla but I do recommend visiting at least 2 days. Playa north beach beauty and great shopping here. If u want good food eat at Amigos bar and grill. Tried others and this is best. We stayed 1 week and next time we staying in Cancun or Riviera Maya. Marcelo hotels amazing. Hotels on isla are smaller cuz the island itself is small so we weren't to impressed cuz we used to the huge luxury hotels with golf courses, lots os greenery, saunas etc... privilege aluxes ok nice for its size lobby small not like grand entrances at barcelos. Food great beach great. Will go back but only for 2 days which is enough to see everything.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank butterpopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

1) Our room's air conditioning didn't work. They sent a man to fix it three times. We couldn't sleep it was so hot. It took a day and a half and a lot of talking to the manager just to get another room that would cool properly. 1/3 of our vacation was spent just trying to get a decent room.
2) The rooms have a slight sewer smell. It isn't unbearable but it is unpleasant and not very romantic.
3) The pool bar and the beach bar play loud techno music all day.
4) The spa services aren't great. Their "deep tissue" massage is basically a rub down. The pedicure was bad too. The ladies working there know just enough to pretend like they know what they are doing. Not trained and with no idea of what a proper massage or pedicure is.
5) The food is very very average. The buffet looks nice but is dry and tasteless. The sushi at SATAY was the worst crap I have ever seen passed off as sushi. I ordered the combo with sashimi and nigri of which neither came. And what I got was old tasting rolls with cream cheese and vegies. The only seafood was cooked shrimp and smelt roe. No fish!!! The menu said it came with Salmon and Tuna. I asked the manager and he just acted like I didn't know anything about sushi.
6) The spot on the beach is nice and the hotel looks nice but our stay was unpleasant because of the room situation and the poor food and service.

Room Tip: Ask for one that doesn't smell!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrivilegeIslaMujeres, Quality Control at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2011

Dear Reviewer, We would like to offer you our sincere apologies for the inconvenient with the AC. We have fixed this immediately when we knew that 5 out of 124 rooms thermostat were not working properly. We are glad that you have enjoyed your room upgrade and have decided to extend your stay and stay with us for one more night. On another note and thanks to your remark on the music by the pool, we took this into consideration and are offering variety of music for our guests in this area. Thanks for helping us to improve our work.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

WOW! Just got back from ISLA and the most beautiful wedding you could imagine.This place is great, HOLA ! The priveledge has the perfect location on the north end of the island, access to the best beaches and town are footsteps away, From the moment we checked in, with a champagne toast, To ordering brownies and cheescake to celebrate my daughters birthday at midnight , the service was impeccable, The attention to detail was second to none. Javier Marcia,l thank you .Carlos at Cafe Del Mar, I made a friend for life. Idias at the pool bar,Very attentive. I would recommend this resort to any friend and me and my family will be returning to this place soon.

Room Tip: book the premium room for good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cosmogadget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We did not get the room we prepaid and had to settle for an inferior room for two nights, and they tried to "make good" by elevating to a "better" room for three nights. Not too happy about it, and it happened to at least two other couples we talked with. The location, the restaurants, and the pools are great, and this could go from average to very good if you get the room you envisioned. One recommendation -- do not pay for the all-inclusive; there are some good restaurants within walking distance. The check-in staff tries to pressure you to make a decision on all-inclusive or not as soon as you arrive, and if this is your first visit, you may not know that there are some true Mexican restaurants two blocks away -- you don't have to settle for an elegant Thai restaurants or a ho-hum buffet on site.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DuaneSandul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#4 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,447 reviews
1.8 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#3 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Privilege Aluxes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Privilege Aluxes

Address: Ave Adolfo Lopez Mateos, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#2 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#3 Luxury Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: £143 - £391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Privilege Aluxes 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privilege Aluxes: Truly a privileged experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Privilege Aluxes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres
Privilege Aluxes Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing