We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Got Back (again)”
Review of Privilege Aluxes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Privilege Aluxes
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2013

5th time in 2 1/2 years. Feels like home away from home. The staff is awalys pleasant and helpful. Yudith was the maid for my room and she was outstanding. With the amount of great restaurants and bars within walking distance, I do not get the all inclusive package so that I can get into town and enjoy the local flavors. Location is the best for beach access and a 30 second walk into town. I recommend the resort to everyone back home and several of my friends have made Aluxes their regular vacation destination as well. Thanks to the management and staff at Aluxes for your ability to make a visitor feel safe and welcome!

Room Tip: I always get an ocean view room as the sunsets are just beautiful. It is worth spending a few extra...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vic1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

We are pleased to greet you and at the same time we would like to convey our gratitude for your preference and your contribution with your comments.

We are specially glad that the service provided by our staff made your stay memorable.
It is great to hear that you feel right at home, which is always one of our main goals and we are looking forward to your next visit to give you our best servcice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,961)
There are newer reviews for Privilege Aluxes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,429 - 1,435 of 2,961 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

We had visited Isla Mujeres - Island of Women - a few years back, renting a golf cart and tooling around the island. It's only 5 miles long and a half mile wide, so it's a nice day trip and we vowed to return for a stay.
I found a very good (air/hotel) price on BJ's Travel, checked reviews on Tripadvisor and booked a weeks stay. We also arranged ground transportation through the hotel with AGI - very efficient outfit!
Our contact met us right outside the airport and we were driven to the dock, about 20 minutes from Cancun airport. We waited about 10 minutes for the ferry, crossed the bay (perfect weather, music, beer - about 20-30 minutes) and arrived to our waiting cab for a 5 minute drive to the hotel. It's a very easy walk from ferry to hotel if you don't have a lot of luggage and there are lots of options for transportation but AGI made it so convenient. It was a great start for our vacation.

Check-in seemed to take forever, in reality probably about 25 minutes but when you're tired from traveling and it's very hot and humid, it seemed a waste of time to have to fill out so much information. We should have been given the opportunity to pre-register via email like you do in other resorts. We requested a different building since Building 1 seemed to get the least positive reviews, but were told the hotel was booked. This is off-season and the hotel was far from booked as it turned out. Right as we were finally leaving for our room we were offered pink champagne. So, check in was disappointing.
After a couple days we were offered a room a couple floors higher, same building, but we declined since it really wasn't an upgrade. At check-in we upgraded to all-inclusive even though we planned to eat at other local places as well. It's probably not worth it if you don't drink. At their regular fare, breakfast is included and it's very good.

The resort has the modern, minimal look, lovely plantings, comfortable chaise cushions - never a problem getting one on the beach or by the pool. Decent shade when you need it.

The room was a good size, very clean and had a nice balcony (a tiny peek-a-boo ocean view but other wise expansive views of an unattractive abandoned building next door). The balcony had a large jetted tub which we used the first night only. The bathroom was spacious, good water pressure, etc. The bed, even with a mattress topper was pretty hard. After a couple days we asked for and received a 2nd topper which helped slightly but the beds are tough, especially for these senior travelers!
This resort isn't your typical huge, action-packed hotel but the pools (3 in tandem), swim-up bar, restaurants and fabulous ocean fit the bill for us. We've stayed at many resorts from Cancun and all along the Riviera Maya and while Priviledge Aluxes is quieter, we really liked the atmosphere and being on the island. We met lots of nice people from Europe, Canada and even New Hampshire. Here you can bury your nose in a book or socialize by the bars. Go to the mainland if you want pool vollyball and activities - lots of fun but sometimes you just want to chill.
Dinners on the sand with tiki torches and live music, or in the main dining room were romantic and tasty, We ate at the Japanese restaurant once - tasty. Breakfast offered decent selections of fresh fruit, eggs/omelets any way you like and the best pastries I've had anywhere! The food and service was very good all around. No complaints. And yes, the drinks aren't what you'd find in a top bar but they were good. (For the BEST drinks - walk to Fenix and enjoy a ginger margarita - what a great place). All along the main streets in town are fun places to shop, eat or drink and very close to the hotel. We had the best burrito ever at the little dive near our hotel, Taquera Glennssy.
The weather couldn't have been better. One guest told us we had just missed 3 days of rain so our timing was good. Check weather sites for when you might visit but most of the time, it's pretty perfect here and in the Cancun/Riviera Maya areas. You can easily rent a golf cart to explore the island and there are tours and excursions available.
All the wait staff were attentive and appreciated tips, and our attempts at speaking Spanish! Our daily maid was great - she even left us a couple Mexican super-hero capes for us to bring back to our grandchildren. Nice!
The beach is wonderful - one surprising detail though, this hotel, unlike others, don't have staff raking and removing the garbage that washes up (or the plastic cups, etc. left by stupid visitors). The hotel next door did this religiously every AM as do most resorts we visit. Other improvements would be to upgrade the mattresses, and offer better room upgrades when available. Many resorts do this and are rewarded with happy returning guests. If available, why not?
All around, our trip was fun, relaxing and we would go back to Isla for sure, and possibly this hotel with a good price. Isla Mujeres is a great place and Priviledge Aluxes, with a few improvements, could be heaven.

Room Tip: Read the reviews and hope for the best room available - but don't count on it.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelBugNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor, we value your feedback to help us improve the service we are offering and we take note of all your suggestions.
We were delighted to see you enjoyed the laid-back atmosphere that Privilege offers as well as the food and service.

We would love to welcome you back to this beatutiful destination to keep adding more memorable moments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This was my first time staying at Privilege although I have been to Isla several times. I booked a superior suite with hot tub on the balconey. Imagine soaking with your significant other while looking out on the Caribbean while the warm trade winds blow. Wow!!! The staff was so helpful in making reservations or attending to any need. Reyes at the fromt desk and Jaime were great..
Actually all the men working at this hotel are very attentive and great. If you need a relaxing getaway no worries/no problems stay at this hotel. I have traveled all over the world and its a great find.

Room Tip: Select a room with hot tub on the terrace. Very romantic.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laddiebuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you and thank you for your wonderful review.

We really love your sentence: "Imagine soaking with your significant other while looking out on the Caribbean while the warm trade winds blow." because we could not agree more!
We are delighted to see you mention our great staff, we will forward your compliments to our team.
We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you soon again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Very nice resort, we'll maintained, good service. Stayed in the Deluxe Suite, very spacious, clean, modern and awesome ocean view! Great beach with beautiful white sand, clear blue water and lots of lounge chairs. Rented a golf cart to tour the island, a must do. Lots of little local shops and restaurant/bars within walking distance. Would recommend this resort and can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view, you won't regret it!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

We wish to express our sincere appreciation for your contribution with your comments.
We are pleased that the staff lived up to your expectations and that you enjoy your suite, the view and our location in the lively heart of the city and right next to the finest beach.

We are particurarly glad to read that you would recommend this resort and can't wait to return, we will be more than happy to see you again in this gorgeous destination to provide you another unforgettable vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed at the Privilege Aluxes from Nov 5th - Nov 12th. Upon arrival, we learned that the ferry off of the island (back to Cancun) does not run between 12:00am - 5:30am. We had a 7:00am return flight to catch back to the U.S. and there wouldn't be enough time to make it by leaving on the first ferry out (5:30am). So we had to leave a night early and book a cheap hotel in Cancun near the airport. The hotel would not refund us for that lost last night. Jesus at the front desk helped us (at least tried to) book that hotel room (Comfort Inn) in Cancun, but unfortunately we found out when we got there it was for 2 weeks later, and not that night. Luckily they had an empty room for us anyway.

I must say, that the hotel and the property it is located on is among one of the cleanest on the island. We did a lot of exploring on our trip, and a good 80% of the island just seems to be in ruins. We stayed in building 2 on the 3rd floor (really the 4th) in a deluxe ocean view suite. It had beautiful views looking over the pool/ocean. It was very spacious, with a seperate living room and kitchen.

Here is a basic list of pros and cons:

Pros:

1. Staff is friendly & helpful. A big shout out goes to Rosa who was our maid. She cleaned our room daily like a pro and attended to all of our needs.

2. Peacful. The hotel is quiet for the most part. I never heard my neighbors talking or watching tv. Only on one night did I hear some banging around above me.

3. Hotel grounds & atmosphere is superb. The staff is constantly cleaning, trimming the greens, painting, sweeping, etc. The beach is gorgeous!

4. Safe - The hotel is constantly patrolled by hotel security. We came back to the room one night, and the door did not shut behind us. About 5 minutes later we kept hearing a security guard outside speaking in spanish on his walkie-talkie. I got up and noticed my front door was open and closed it. Five minutes after that the front desk was calling me to tell me that my front door was open. Very nice.

5. Hidden Jacuzzi's - there are 2 behind the pool area, near the spa and the gym. We went in these almost every day. They were almost always empty... I heard one guy walk by and say "I've stayed here 6 different times and never knew these were here." Great place to get away from everyone and relax.


Cons:

1. Hot water is spotty. I took a few ice cold showers, and on more than one occassion when we went to use the outdoor jacuzzi, the water was luke warm at best.

2. Smelly rooms. I'm not sure exactly what we were smelling in our room. At times it smelled like raw sewage. Other times it had a very musky, damp smell. The hotel is obvioulsy aware of this since your room will come equipped with incense to burn. Could it have something to do with the graveyard next door? (We did take a tour of the graveyard by the way, where all of the bodies are buried above ground, and my wife and I both smelled a strong sense of rotting corpses).

3. Wifi isn't the greatest. I've read worse reviews on trip advisor about not having wifi at all. Our room was pretty good... but the connection did slow to a crawl at times.

4. Bed is hard as a rock. The pillows are even worse, and the sheets are like wrapping yourself in cardboard.

5. Alcoholic drinks at the hotel bar(s) are watered down and have no flare. There is a great little bar on the beach, right next door on the other side of the rope which divides the property. The drinks are cheap and they put big pieces of fruit with umbrellas, etc... on the glasses which just makes you feel tropical. They have these little swings you can sit on at the bar. The only issue is that they close at 5pm... and be careful bringing the drinks back to your side of the beach... the hotel has signs hanging up that says they frown upon you bringing in outside food/drinks (but what are they really gonna do???)


Suggestions:

1. Avoid booking day trips through the hotel. Guillermo is the only person in charge of this and he messed up pretty bad with the one day trip we booked. We wanted to go to Isla Contoy which is a nature preserve about 45 min away by boat. We left a deposit with him the day before and were told to be at the front desk by 8:00am. He said he comes in at 7:00am and he would 100% be there. We arrive at the front desk around 7:50am the next morning... No Guillermo. We wait 40 minutes and this guy still doesn't show up. We also never received a reciept to even prove we had left a deposit the day before. It's our last full day on the island, and the boats going there are very limited, leaving only early in the morning. Guillermo had promissed us he could get us on a larger boat that went directly to the island (We wanted the larger boat because my wife gets very sea sick). So after waiting around forever, we decided to run down by the ferry where we were just able to jump on a small boat heading out to the island for $30 cheaper then what the hotel was going to charge us. Unfortunately, this boat rocked around so much that my wife got really sea sick. They also stopped in the middle of the ocean to go snorkeling which my wife and I didn't want. We both got really sick at that point. After the trip, and back to the hotel we confronted Guillermo. He said he had been running all over the island trying to find a boat for us that morning. Yeah... ok. We got our deposit back, and Guillermo promised us champagne and fruit with chocolate to be delivered to our room for our troubles. We waited for it but it never showed up. After asking for it a 2nd time, he came through and I must say, it was thoroughly enjoyed. Thank you for that Guillermo!

2. Don't go all-inclusive. We had just the breakfast option which was more then enough. We filled up each morning enough to skip lunch... and then would go pig out at the local restaurants for dinner. The local food on the island is increddible. We didn't have a bad meal the entire time. Hidalgo street is 1 block away and you will find some incredible dishes there. Try Faynes, Ronaldis, Lola Valentina, Oliva and for a quick bite - Don Cheppo's. All-inclusive option in my mind is just not worth it. If you really want to do the all-inclusive, or at least try it when you get there, you have that option. They told us it would be $80 a day for our room, and if we wanted to upgrade we could at anytime, but it would have to be for the remainder of our trip... like the last 2 days, or last 3 days, etc...

3. The island is completley safe. I was a little paranoid going to Mexico due to all the stuff you hear on the news. Not once did I ever feel unsafe on this island. Rent a moped for 2 and go explore! It's almost half the price of a golf cart. Get it for 24 hours. Most places want $400 pesos, you can talk them down to $350 pesos easily. They hold your drivers liscense until you bring it back. Don't worry about it... it's safe. We rented from 2 different places without any issues. Drive it over to the southern end of the island and check out Punta Sur. Some of the greatest views you will ever witness.

4. If you're seeking a massage, there are people on the beach that will do a great job for 1/3 the price that people at the hotel will do it for.

Room Tip: Go for the honeymoon / deluxe rooms that have a hot tub on the balcony. Make sure to request a highe...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mitch V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This was our 17th time to visit Privilege Aluxes in Isla Mujeres. We were treated very special beginning with the helpful front desk staff (Jesus). This atmosphere continues throughout the entire hotel thanks to Maria overseeing all areas. We especially loved the Satay Restaurant, Hector is the best and the food was delicious. We did the all-inclusive this time but sometimes we do the bed and breakfast. Speaking of breakfast Hosea really knows how to make a "mean omelette". He is very friendly as are all the staff. The restaurant at the beach Cafe del Mar's food is delicious and the right portions for lunch. Jorge, Edwardo and Miguel were especially helpful every day. The beach and pool are well kept, we definitely will return probably in the spring.

Room Tip: We always pay the extra for the deluxe suite. Especially like building 6 but all are good.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Inas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your comments, we really appreciate it and it was a pleasure to read your review.
It is very flattering to read from loyal guests as you are, we are very thankful for your preference and your trust.
We hope that Privilege Aluxes will always be your home away home because for us it is a pleasure to see you and we feel honored everytime we welcome you back.

Looking forward to Spring!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We recently spent a week at the Privilege Aluxes. It was a great vacation. Our first room wasn't the greatest but when they had another one open up they moved us and that one was very nice. The staff was amazing and we were well taken care of. We'd especially like to mention Reyes...he went out of his way to make our stay the best it could be. Thank you Reyes.

Also, the beach service was excellent!! All the servers were absolutely top notch and it made our vacation so much more relaxing.

Good food, nice accommodations, wonderful beach, fun little island, and GREAT service. We will most certainly be back. Thank you!

Room Tip: It was worth it to get a room with a jacuzzi on the deck.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you for posting a review for us, we really value your feedback.
We are delighted to see you mention the food, accommodations, beach and our great customer service, we will forward your compliments to our staff.

It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you at Privilege and we look forward to the next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
727 reviews
1.8 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
418 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
355 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Privilege Aluxes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Privilege Aluxes

Address: Ave Adolfo Lopez Mateos, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#3 Luxury Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: £123 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Privilege Aluxes 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privilege Aluxes: Truly a privileged experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Privilege Aluxes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres
Privilege Aluxes Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing