We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth”
Review of Privilege Aluxes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Privilege Aluxes
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We have been to privileges 3 times over a the past 2 years.

We keep going back because it is an amazing place for so many reasons.

The resort is gorgeous, clean and well maintained but what is a gorgeous place if the service was not quite there. Well, the people at Privilege Aluxes are top notch. All the workers are there to please their guests and make sure everyone is happy. From the check-in process to the very end, including the transfers, everything is efficient executed and well managed.

Now, what also makes this place so special is the island itself. The beaches are beautiful and the water is beyond clean and clear. I have been to many islands including Turks and Caicos, Bermuda, Bahamas etc and Isla Mujeres has one of the best beaches.

We love the food at PA including the ala cart restaurant Satay. Satay has come a long way....we went there on our first visit and it wasn't too impressive but in our most recent visit, it was amazing. We had dinner there at least 3 times.

The island also has lots of restaurant options as well and most are very very good. We had breakfast at Cafe Mango (this is a must try) - absolutely amazing. We have also had dinner at several restaurants on Hidalgo Street.

We stayed there most recently just before christmas and there was even a Santa Parade! All very fun to see.

One thing that we would like to see is an adjustment to their room service menu. The 1st time we stayed, they had chicken wings, chicken fingers and mozzarella sticks on the room service menu. Well, something must have happened and those items are no longer avaialble for room service. They are ONLY available at Cafe del Mar, which is very inconvenient. We would love to see those three items get back on the room service menu. That would have made our stay even better.

We are planning on returning in April this year so I hope the menu gets updated by then.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiloandBobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
We are pleased to greet you and at the same time we would like to convey our gratitude for your preference in our hotel and your contribution with your comments.

Thanks to reviews like yours we reiterate our ongoing commitment to improve, we would like to inform you that we are already working on the room service menu so you will find it improved on your next visit.

Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you in April!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,707
    778
    235
    79
    53
See reviews for
309
1,995
41
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (911)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This was our 3rd year staying at the Privilege Aluxes and have to say it keeps getting better every year! The food was wonderful, the staff and service was impeccable! We have traveled in Mexico and the Caribbean for the past 17 years and have not encountered such exceptional customer service at any other resort. We had a wonderful stay! Kathia, Guillermo, Enrique, Renaldo, Gorge, and all of the staff went above and beyond to make our stay sensational! Many many thanks to you all! We will be back again next year.

Room Tip: Deluxe suites have beautiful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twemery97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
It is so encouraging to know that you always enjoy the whole experience at Privilege Aluxes and it keeps getting better.
We found your praises very gratifying, after the work and effort made by our team.
We thank you for your comments and look forward to providing you with the best of our attention and service excellence for the 4th time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Privilege Aluxes is by far the most reasonable and beautiful hotel in all of Mexico.

Getting there: A 20 minute shuttle ride from the airport to the ferry, then a 15 minute ferry ride to the island with live music. Sit on the top deck for the best views. Privilege Aluxes is a 4 minute taxi ride from the ferry and is walkable if you don't have too many bags.

Flights: This July we have Aeromexico from NYC nonstop. 4 hours, $750 for 2 people.

Overall: I can't recommend Privilege Aluxes enough! Book it today! You wont be sorry! Please feel free to message me if you have any questions at all!

Check in: Seamless and friendly. Baggage porters are available. We were able to check in about 11 am.

The room the room the room! From the pictures all the rooms are nice. Lots have hot tubs on the decks. We booked a Platinum Suite all inclusive for a very reasonable rate. Check www.privilegehotels.com Thursday's around lunchtime for the best deals. The Platinum Suite is 2 floors with a kitchenette, huge living room, tons of closet space, very nice bedroom and bathroom on the first floor. Both floors have a balcony! By far the highlight of the Suite is the top deck. Another bathroom, huge deck with 2 sun chairs and the best of all, your own private plunge pool! It is about 4x10 feet and heated if necessary. We rented a raft for the ultimate in lounging. There is clear glass about 3 feet around 3 sides of the pool and awesome views. There is also frosted glass so the neighbors cant see you. There are about 10 Suites with plunge pools scattered on 4 floors. Sorry the best Suite is occupied July 17th to the 24th 2014. We have traveled from Hawaii to Nice and this is the best room we have ever had! I think only Fiji or the Maldives would offer a nicer location. The price there is 10 times the cost! Maybe when I win the lottery.

Location: Located on Isla Mujeres off the coast of Cancun away from the party atmosphere of Cancun. A day trip to Cancun is easy if you like more than a few adult beverages. The hotel is located on Playa Norte (North Beach for those of you who don't habla Spanish).

The island: I recommend renting a golf cart for a day to see the entire island. www.mapchick.com has awesome maps. Head all the way around the island. There are many places to stop for views and and snorkeling. A stop at the south end of the island is a must for some ruins, waves, and views. In the summer a boat trip to see the wale sharks and manta rays are a must! The whale sharks are the largest are not whales but the largest fish in the world!

Dining: As I said we did the all inclusive, however all rooms come with a free buffet breakfast. We did the buffet every morning, included room service for lunch and a couple of dinners on the beach with live music. All were very good to excellent. Town starts 2 blocks away and ends about .6 miles away at a plaza with food carts and a grocery store. Restaurants and souvenir shops line the main drag (Hidalgo Street). All were good and I cant mention them all but the 2 best are Lola Valentinos and Fueguitos Steak House were the best. We went out 5 out of 7 nights despite having the all inclusive. Please message me if you want more recommendations. I love talking about the island!

I would say you need 5 days minimum. We did 7 for about $1800. You can get 14 days all inclusive for $5000. My wife cried when we left.

This July we will be returning to our same plunge pool and have 167 days and counting.

Room Tip: Platinum Suite is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
We would like to thank you for choosing Privilege Aluxes as your holiday destination and moreover we thank you for reviewing it on TripAdvisor

It is so encouraging to know that you enjoy the whole experience at Privilege Aluxes and Isla Mujeres.We found your praises very gratifying, after the work and effort made by the whole team.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to offer another great vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor Ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The service at this resort is absolutely amazing. The café del mar on the beach is wonderful, and Edwardo is a great manager. He goes out of his way to make your stay enjoyable. The beach service is the best I've ever had. And for the beer drinkers out there all the beer is served in bottles and you have a choice between Victoria (which my husband loved) and Corona.

I would like to mention Amelia at the front desk. She is really good at her job. We had a problem with hot water in our room and she went out of her way to rectify this issue and in the end I believe the whole resort was having issues with hot water between 5 and 7 every night. The last night we were there we got a note under our door saying they were "maintaining the hot water lines" and there would be no hot water the next day between noon and 4pm.

Would I recommend this resort? Absolutely. Other than the hot water everything was wonderful. I especially enjoyed the Jacuzzi on the balcony. Beautiful powder sand and enough chairs for everyone. I hope to return one day.

Room Tip: ocean view was great worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ConnieWoodslee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
We would like to thank you for choosing Privilege Aluxes as your holiday destination and moreover thank you for posting a review and taking the time to share your experiences.

We are sorry for the inconveniences with the water, we are currently working on it to ensure the best service to our valued guests.
We are glad to read that overall you had a great vacation and you hope to come back one day, we would be delighted to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Privilege Aluxes for our honeymoon. We reserved a superior room with jacuzzi. Our stay was impeccable. The service, food, and installations are perfect. If you want to relax this is the place to stay. Quiet, without lots of people or partying, laid back and intimate. Would definitely return!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LauE82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thank you for choosing Privilege Aluxes to enjoy your honeymoon!
We are delighted to learn that your stay was impeccable and you will keep unforgettable memories from such a special occasion.
It is great to know that you would definitely return and we are looking forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Obviously we must love it there. We go back every 6 months and never plan on stopping. Although the value is incredible, I wouldn't even say it's the price that's so alluring. The island is just so dang convenient to get to compared to other tropical locations, and once you are there, the entire world just disappears (except for the WiFi). This is not a typical tourist destination (like Cancun is), but instead a small secluded slice of paradise.
Aluxes has the best staff, and the best location on the island. And don't forget to go to the spa for a massage or a facial - they are absolutely wonderful.
I recommend room 242, as well as the mango tangos!

Room Tip: 242 - the premium suite is sometimes referred to as the honeymoon suite depending on where you are l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank douglassm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thank you for your wonderful and kind words.

It is a pleasure for us to know that we will have the honor to keep welcoming you, we are delighted to know that our staff make you feel at home at Privilege.
The whole team sends their warm regards to you and we hope to host you at your slice of paradise soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We love this place. Going back in 5 weeks for our 4th vacation at this awesome hotel! Food is good, rooms are nice and the staff is wonderful. Make sure you use the spa! All inclusive is a plus!
Very convenient location as well!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna-Arkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. It is so flattering to read about experiences like yours. Thank you for giving Privilege Aluxes the chance to offer you those wonderful moments.

We are honored to be on your favorite vacation list.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in 5 weeks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.4 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
1.8 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.3 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Privilege Aluxes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Privilege Aluxes

Property: Privilege Aluxes
Address: Ave Adolfo Lopez Mateos, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#2 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#3 Luxury Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Privilege Aluxes 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privilege Aluxes: Truly a privileged experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Privilege Aluxes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres
Privilege Aluxes Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing