We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, Quiet, and Sensational Climate”
Review of Privilege Aluxes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Privilege Aluxes
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We just experienced a week where every day was sunny and 82, while the nights were a perfect shirt sleeve 76 degrees.

The Privilege Aluxes is extremely convenient to the beach and the restaurants in town. Everything was within walking distance.

The service at PA was exceptional. The staff continually greets you with a smile and goes out of their way to make sure you're happy.

The grounds and pool area is immaculately maintained. The twin pools at PA are quiet and the guests there are very respectful of one another.

We had breakfast included in our stay and really enjoyed the morning buffet. The chef will also cook up whatever omelet you desire.

Our room was a little odd. The bathroom with extremely spacious, way more so than the room itself. We had a king sized bed and it dwarfed our bedroom. They had a chair wedged in a corner that you couldn't quite sit on. So any laptop work I needed to do had to be on the bed.
I think our room was a fluke, because other guests we met had very nice accommodations.

We rented a golf cart to peruse the island. I strongly recommend this for really getting a feel for this cozy island and all it has to offer.

The town in the evening was a great time with all its bars, restaurants, and even musicians and street performers. Just about every type of cuisine you can imagine is offered.

I think Privilege Aluxes is a very well managed property. Isla Mujeres is a beautiful island that unfortunately is no longer a secret.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank timbuck2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank yo very much for your time and nice words.
We are specially glad that the service provided by our staff made your stay memorable.
It is also great to read that our location, grounds and facilities made your experience a great one which is always our goal for our guests.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,035)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,425 - 1,431 of 3,035 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014

My husband and I traveled to Privilege Aluxes January 20-25 and stayed in room 352 with the "Lifetime Everlasting Feeling" All-Inclusive Package. It was our first visit to the island but our third trip to the Cancun area. We have stayed at many all inclusive resorts in the Riviera Maya and Jamaica, and this one is definitely at the top of our list!

From the moment we arrived, we were greeted with a smile and a room that was ready for us to check into. The check-in process was easy, and we were escorted to our room where we found kissing swan towel animals and flower petals on our bed! It was very romantic. The room was separated into a kitchenette/living room and master suite. Everything was extremely clean; however, there was a slight smell of sewage in our room from time to time. We had read about this on Trip Advisor prior to our arrival, so we didn't feel the need to complain about it. Between the incense and aromatherapy candles in the room, we were able to mask the smell.

The focus of this resort is definitely on the beach, not the pool. The pool is very quiet and laid back with plenty of chairs and shade - perfect for relaxation. The beach also has plenty of chairs and shade as well as beach service - the staff will deliver food and drinks right to your chair! The beach is wide with beautiful soft white sand and sunsets that will absolutely take your breath away!! The beach is public though, so there are lots of vendors, children, massage therapists, walkers, etc. throughout the day. It makes for some great people watching!

The location of the hotel couldn't be better. It is in the middle of everything, yet still surprisingly quiet. It is just a few blocks from the ferry, and just two blocks away from Hidalgo Street (the main pedestrian street where local restaurants, stores, etc are located). There is so much to see and do within walking distance of the hotel. We rented a golf cart for a couple of days to venture to the North end of the island, and there was plenty of parking on the street outside of the hotel for our cart when we weren't using it.

The food at PA just gets an average rating from us. There was not much variety, and the breakfast buffet was limited. I write all this while disclosing that we traveled during the first trimester of my first pregnancy, so food and I didn't have a great relationship; however, my husband would agree that the food options were limited and average as well. Perhaps changing up the menu at Cafe del Mar from time to time would be helpful to create more variety.

Having said that, there are lots of food options away from the resort should you choose not to participate in PA's all-inclusive option. We had three meals off-site, and they were all fantastic. Please don't think the food selections will hinder your vacation experience at PA in any way.

I had a prenatal massage at the spa on a day when they had regular massages on special. They honored the prenatal massage at the discounted price, and it was one of the BEST massages I have ever had. I was treated like a queen, and the massage therapist was one of the kindest, most nurturing women I have ever encountered.

Overall, we give Privilege Aluxes a 5 star rating! We had the most amazing experience and look forward to coming back in a few years. Thank you, PA, for reminding us why we love Mexico and the Mexican people so much. You are all fantastic!!

Room Tip: Oceanview/front rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your whole experience at Privilege Aluxes.

It is a pleasure to receive your comments about the staff, the location and the All Inclusive option as it help us to improve our quality.
Our best prize is to read that you had the most amazing experience and we look forward to welcoming you back with the new member of the family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We have been to Isla Mujeres for 9 years running. The last 3 have been at Privileges Aluxes and we are hooked. The hotel is clean and quiet and the staff is beyond compare! Our favorite part is the beach area strictly for the hotel. It's quiet and away from all the day-trippers that invade the island each day. The restaurant food and service on the beach are top notch! We will be back again next year and it can't come soon enough!

Room Tip: We wake at different times, so the Suite Deluxe is PERFECT for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 13Kristen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Thank you very much for your preference and your review, it is very flattering to read that you are hooked on Privilege!
We are pleased that the staff lived up to your expectations and that you enjoy our location in the lively heart of the city and right next to the finest beach.

We will be happy to see you next year in this gorgeous destination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We have stayed at Privilege Aluxes 2x in the last year and would recommend it hands down over any other luxury hotel on the island. It has the best location, largest private beach area, huge pool, great restaurants and top notch staff. The staff is incredibly attentive and service oriented. The rooms are large, have plenty of storage and very clean.

We have gone with the Superior rooms (whirlpool tub on the balcony) and the all inclusive as the food/drinks are fabulous.

The beach is wonderful! In addition to many chairs, they have 4 beds with canopys near the beach...perfect for a nap. If you prefer a cleaner (non sand) experience, the pool is perfect. Plenty of chairs, a nice cool pool, a few whirlpools, beds and hammocks. The swim up bar is very fun.

We love breakfast at Sabor as their buffet has everything we would want...made to order omelet station and everything else you'd imagine. The Sabor dinner buffet has also impressed us...it's upscale food in a casual setting.

Cafe Del Mar is our choice for lunch most days and dinner a few times each week. For lunch, the Shrimp Tacos, Guacamole, Fish and Nachos are the favorites. For dinner, everything has been great!

We recommend PA and look forward to another trip back soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Thank you for choosing Privilege Aluxes again for your visit to this beautiful island.

We are delighted to have offered so many good moments at this beautiful destination as your satisfaction is our main objective. It is great to read that you enjoy the beach, restaurants and the most important that the staff make you feel at home.
We really appreciate your recommendation over any other hotel on the island and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We have stayed here twice and now and can't even consider going anywhere else!! The hotel is extremely well done, everything about it is first class! We are coming back in August with the family!! I am a real foody and have stayed at other all inclusive hotels and the food at Privileges is by far the best. On Italian Night, the head Chef was in the dining room making fresh pasta, what a treat!!! The service was amazing and the staff was very friendly and always willing to help. Ponce at the pool bar was the best, always having our favorites ready when we arrived. The location is the best part because you can walk right out of your hotel and your in the middle of everything. The island itself is beautiful and has a special feel about it, much quieter and relaxing than anywhere in Cancun. I have read that some people didn't like the closeness of the school because in the morning the children would wake them with their singing, but I say, what better way to start your day! My husband refuses to vacation anywhere else or at any other hotel and I totally agree with him. I can't wait to share this island and hotel with my whole family this summer. Thanks to everyone at Privileges for making this such a special place.

Room Tip: Try a suite. worth the extra cost Make sure the elevator is working if your on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

We really appreciate when one of our guests spend some minutes letting know their good experiences at Privilege Aluxes to the TripAdvisor readers.

It is a pleasure to know that you enjoy your stay with us and our best reward is to be in your list of favorite vacation places!
Looking forward to welcoming you and your whole family this summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We decided to travel to Isla Mujeres for our 10 year anniversary trip! We had never been and this was also our first time at Privilege Aluxes! We were pleasantly surprised by both the island and the hotel!! Upon arrival we were greeted with smiles and glasses of champagne and we immediately felt at home!! The resort is gorgeous and small which is exactly what we wanted!! Our only "complaint" if it can be one is that our original room (434) was very small and the air conditioning unit was blowing directly onto the bed which made the room a bit uncomfortable for us. We immediately let them know we'd like to upgrade to a larger room and were accommodated within a day to do so!! Once we settled into our new room (501) we were THRILLED!
We decided to go for the all inclusive option b/c we wanted to just relax and not worry about where to eat. The food was great! Lunch at the beach was fantastic- dinner at Satay was amazing! All in all it was a great trip and we look forward to our next visit to Privilege and Isla Mujeres! Thank you to the staff for making our stay so wonderful!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stella815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Thank you very much for choosing us to celebrate your 10 year anniversary and for taking the time to post your kind comments on Tripadvisor.
Your opinion is of great help to us in our efforts to improve and achieve our main objective, which is the full satisfaction of our customers.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, our restaurants and the All Inclusive option and that the staff met yours expectations and made you feel at home.

We would love to see you again to offer more memorable moments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed here last March but I never entered a review. This year we tried a different hotel which was much bigger with more facilities and better food. However, we really liked this hotel, beach, and especially the charming and friendly island much more than we liked the big facility. We are in our 60s and loved relaxed ambience, huge condo style "rooms", friendly and helpful staff. The beach area was fantastic with many palapas under Palm trees, great service and a neat restaurant and bar we could take a few steps to for lunch. Rented a golf cart and toured the whole island in a morning, stopping at a fantastic local restaurant - many are rated highest on TA and price is great., as well as saw some neat attractions. Hotel is probably a 3+ star but overall the whole experience was a 4+! Only one downside - verify which all inclusive package you really want - some restaurants were just ok and we couldn't get our special scotch. Solution? A staff member ran down the street and bought it for our room! Great service!

Room Tip: Not many ocean views and distant so save your money and get pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotelSnobMacon_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

We wish to express our sincere appreciation for your contribution with your comments.

The consistent feedback and support we get from you help us to scale new heights in improving the quality of our service.
Let us inform you that we have improved our All Inclusive option to provide you with our best options. We would love to welccome you back to appreciate this changes and enjoy another memorable experience in Isla Mujeres.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#4 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,412 reviews
1.8 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
442 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Privilege Aluxes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Privilege Aluxes

Address: Ave Adolfo Lopez Mateos, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#3 Luxury Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: £148 - £475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Privilege Aluxes 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privilege Aluxes: Truly a privileged experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Privilege Aluxes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres
Privilege Aluxes Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing