We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation ever”
Review of Privilege Aluxes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Privilege Aluxes
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best vacation ever”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a 6 night stay. What a wonderful experience. The hotel staff were friendly, the social hub (aka the swim up bar) was full of great people (looking at you Philly, Pittsburgh, Austin and Indy), and the beach was amazing.

If you want a party atmosphere, stay on Cancun. If you want a fun, peaceful and relaxing vacation, this is the place to be!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience as a satisfied guest with others.
Your testimony is very important to us and we truly appreciate it.
We are glad that you enjoyed a relaxing vacation at Privilege Aluxes, Isla Mujeres.

We would like to assure you our commitment to continue improving to keep offering more unforgettable moments and wonderful experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,745
    791
    238
    80
    54
See reviews for
318
2,034
41
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (920)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Property was spotless. Staff was amazing and friendly ....made u feel welcome. Food was delicious. Loved service on beach. Buckets of beer and lunch delivered to your lounge chair, best all-inclusive beer selection I have ever encountered. +++++Great room with hot tub and view of beach and town. Maids were great. Fridge in room stocked daily. Location is perfect. Beach was amazing. Wifi was free and even worked on beach. OUTSTANDING resort.

Room Tip: We had big deck with hot-tub and ocean view. Perfect to watch action on street. Room and hotel seeme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jrocknh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank your for choosing Privilege Aluxes Hotel for your recent stay in Isla Mujeres.
We really appreciate that you took the time to post your feedback, we are delighted to hear that you loved your stay with us and appreciated the services provided by our staff, enjoyed the food, the room view and the best all-inclusive beer selection!
Thank you again! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed 3 nights. Did not do all inclusive, and was somewhat happy since Isla had the best restaurants of any place we stayed. Better than Playa or Tulum by far. Barlito, Limon, basically hit the top 12 or so on Tripadvisor. Great pool set up, great beach set up. Close to Hidalgo St area. We would go back. Only issue was our city view room, 530_ something.... overlooked a schoolyard and the kids would be playing soccer and screaming starting at 7am! Room was very small and somewhat spartan, but was OK since were were rarely in there. If we went back I would look for a room facing a different side. Breakfast buffet was included, and was OK, some items would be cold as they are in any buffet.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pdxhugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor, we value your feedback to help us improve the service we are offering.
We were delighted to see you enjoyed the pool set up and the great beach where we are located
We would agree that Isla Mujeres offer not only a wonderful beach but also a great variety of local restaurants and bars.

We would love to welcome you back to this beautiful destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed here twice in the past 3 years and the Staff and Servers are top notch. After the first stay my wife and I said if ever we come back we would stay here. The beach is wonderful along with the beach serving crew. And after a day on the beach stop by the pool bar and be spoiled by the pool bar crew. Had a friend with us that had an issue with their booking and the hotel took care of it with no problems.

Room Tip: Get a room with the Ocean/pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
We are very grateful for your preference and for sharing your good comments.
Privilege Aluxes seeks to provide experiences and services based on criteria of excellence. We really appreciate that you took the time to share your good experiences with us.
We hope to see you soon again in this wonderful destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This was my 3rd year in a row to stay at Privilege Aluxes and it was great yet again. This time we stayed in the Presidential Suite with our friends and enjoyed a great balcony, private pool and amazing views. The staff again was very attentive and we already knew most of them from previous years. The property is still very well kept, beach is amazing, and even though there were 2 large weddings on back to back nights and the hotel was completely full, we still weren't crowded on the beach or at the pool. My one and only complaint is I get tired of the food after a few days. Obviously the taste of certain things is different there so I'm not necessarily sure it is their fault. The food during the day at Cafe del Mar is great but breakfast and nighttime dining is hit or miss. It takes WAY too long to eat at Satay but I love the food there. We stayed for 5 nights as we usually do and enjoyed our time so much. We love the resort, the people, and the island in general and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jflippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
We are pleased to greet you and at the same time we would like to convey our gratitude for your preference at Privilege and your contribution with your comments.
Thanks to reviews like yours we reiterate our ongoing commitment to improve.

We are glad to read that you had another great experience and we look forward to provide you the 4th one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We are a couple on honeymoon vacation at this hotel for 5 nights.
The reception was amazing, the service was outstanding, we got a Honeymoon Suite with Jacuzzi on the balcony and we got a view to the pool and the ocean.
The food is great, especially SATAY restaurant.
We felt like kings on this vacation and no doubt this hotel is highly recommended!

Room Tip: choose the honeymoon suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gil993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
The aim of Privilege Aluxes Hotel is to provide positive and unforgettable experiences so we are delighted to read that you have had the best vacation ever!
We really appreciate your comments regarding the food and outstanding service we will forward your compliments.
Thank you very much for your kind words and recommendation, we hope to see you soon to keep adding more unforgettable moments in your life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We arrived on our honeymoon to Isla Mujeres ready to relax and do nothing after 2 weeks in London and New York. We checked in and paid for the room and were shown to the room 352 by a pleasant staff member. He showed us around the ridiculously spacious apartment but then we went outside and it dawned on us this was not the 'Platinum Suite' that we had booked. We also had the email confirmation, reply emails from the hotel saying clearly we booked 'Platinum Suite'.

No problem we thought, we rang reception & politely told them there was a mistake. We then went downstairs as asked and explained. The hotel supervisor now spoke with us & tried to explain we were now in the honeymoon suite one floor below as "you are on honeymoon". We explained that's fine but we booked the penthouse, the top floor room (of which there are 9) with our own pool & large terrace which was an extra US $70 per night. He tried to blame my wife saying in our special notes we mentioned that we are on honeymoon and put all emphasis back on us. After our own Mexican standoff for a few minutes he just sat there and shrugged. I showed him the email confirmation and he still just sat there almost smirking at us. No offer of an explanation why they had double booked (clearly someone else wanted the room for a longer period so they bumped us down & hoped we would not say anything). No offer of a discount or drinks vouchers or a free meal or even an apology. We sat there stunned and then walked back to the room. My wife was extremely upset as she explained she wanted the best for our honeymoon. We tried to be positive and went our for dinner.

The hotel on the surface is pleasant, a beautiful pool area. However we noticed when checking in dirty plates with congealed food were left outside elevators, empty beer bottles laying around outside rooms and clearly had been there some time. The restaurants on offer were particularly bad. They cater purely to an American-style clientele and the nachos we ordered at one of the bars were the worst we've ever had. If you like good food do not come here, we had incredible authentic, fresh Mexican food just two streets down on Calle Miguel Hidalgo for less, at Lola Valentina & La Terraza.

The wait staff at the hotel however were on the whole absolutely lovely, polite and helpful. The spa employees were very nice also. Unfortunately the compete lack of courtesy offered by the management and take-away style food means we would not recommend this to our Australian or European friends if they want a luxury experience. Thankfully we left after two nights and went to stay in the breathtaking Tulum.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank terrythetourist1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
We would like to offer our sincere apologies for the issues you encountered during your visit and that we did not meet your expectations.
Please rest assured that this is not a common occurrence and these issues have been addressed with your comments to the relevant managers to avoid a similar re occurrence in the future.

Once again I would like to thank you for such valuable feedback that helps us to monitor and improve our standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,340 reviews
1.8 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
400 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
493 reviews
0.3 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Privilege Aluxes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Privilege Aluxes

Property: Privilege Aluxes
Address: Ave Adolfo Lopez Mateos, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#2 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#3 Luxury Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Privilege Aluxes 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privilege Aluxes: Truly a privileged experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Privilege Aluxes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres
Privilege Aluxes Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing