We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Blend of Mexico”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Privilege Aluxes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Privilege Aluxes
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Perfect Blend of Mexico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I don't think we could have experienced a better first visit to Isla Mujeres. We have stayed on the Riviera Maya 10 times since 2007 - from Tulum to north of Cancun. Excellence all-inclusives to 6 room palapas on the beach. This resort and this island are the perfect balance of everything you could want.

Location: North end of the island has the best, white sand beaches. We went to three other beaches on the north end and the one in front of PA had to be ranked 1 or 2. You won't need to leave it. The property is walking distance to the ciudad. And speaking of, this town center still has charm. You can spend a couple hours walking and hit several fun little shops, bars and some excellent restaurants (Olivia, Lola Valentina). And, you won't be relentlessly hounded.(see Playa del Carmen) The south end has beautiful views, but we did not see a beach in four stops and there is nothing aside from B&Bs and hotels.

Property: Looks like it was built yesterday and could handle anything mother nature could throw at it. Clean. Bright and new. Nice little spa. Good restaurants. Pool and hot tub were always popular, even with the beach only a 60 seconds away. Two small notes, specific to those rainy days. There is no where to go. No indoor area with pool tables or lounging areas. The outdoor bar next to Sabor would do huge business if the patio area could be protected from rain. And the roof over the pool bar is too small. Cold rain runs down your back while sitting on the in-pool bar stools. #coldcrack #nitpicking

Rooms: We had a suite deluxe on the third floor. Modern decor, reminiscent of Excellence or Secrets properties. HUGE. If you are the type to stay in your room, you will love it. We had a big balcony w pool and beach view, roomy living area with bar and kitchenette. Very nice bath, although the hot water was hit and miss. The bedroom was comfy, dark and quiet. Ours had a view of the town and colorful cemetery. Quiet, with the exception of one night where a party in town went until 3am. And, the room is dual-zoned for AC. Cool only your sleeping room instead of burning up electricity cooling the rest of this massive room.

Food and Drink: Excellent breakfast buffets. As good as anywhere in Mexico. I'd rate the beach bar and Sabor lunches and dinners as good to very good. Service was average on the beach, as it was always packed. Satay, the Asian-inspired dinner place, was good. Nothing memorable either way. The only area that I would rate as poor were the all-inclusive cocktails. Worst margaritas ever. Stick with beer. We ended up paying for drinks($8 avg for top shelf), but even those were not the best quality. I'd love it if they offered a premium drink package for those of us who like to partake more than others.

Tips: The all-inclusive package is a MUST. If you only have breakfast, a snack and couple of beers each day, it is worth it. PA could drop the drinks from the package and it would still be a great deal.(did I say that out loud?)
Unless you like to camp in your room, I'd trade a smaller room with a great view for one of the larger, like the suite deluxe.
Get a massage. Or two. They are very skilled and priced extremely fairly.
Do the golf carts for a day. A drive around the island is fantastic and other resorts and bars are so happy to have you visit. If you get one from the hotel, you don't have to leave your license or CC. They are $10/day more, but worry-free.

I do my best to rate everything according to the immediate area vs. everywhere I have stayed in the world. While there, we toured 3 other top rated resorts, and when you take into account the location on the island, the accommodations and the value, I'd give it 4.5 stars, but since that is not possible on TA, then 5 stars it is!

Room Tip: If you have a suite deluxe, ask for the highest floors (3 or higher) in the middle, facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Enachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for choosing us on you first visit to Isla Mujeres.
We wish to express our sincere appreciation for your contribution with your comments.
The consistent feedback and support we get from you help us to scale new heights in improving the quality of our service and also help to motivate the whole team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,677
    775
    233
    78
    52
See reviews for
306
1,969
41
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (896)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We enjoyed staying at this resort although we were not impressed with the restaurants. The room was nice and we overlooked a beautiful cemetary. The staff was very nice and helpful as well. The chairs on the balcony are very cheap and one of them broke on us. Overall we had a great time but enjoyed food off of the resort. We did not purchase the all-inclusive deal but did get free breakfast buffet every morning until 11am

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemino1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
We would like to thank you for choosing Privilege as your holiday destination and moreover we thank you for reviewing it.

We are glad to read that overall you enjoyed staying here, our hotel is the best option to enjoy the wonderful beaches that this island offers. Please accept our apologies for the issue regarding the chair.

We would love to see you in this beautiful paradise again to offer a flawless experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We are actually still here and have been here for the last 5 nights. We did the all inclusive for the 1st time and are staying in a Platinum Suit. For those visiting here, just keep in mind you are not staying at the four seasons in some big city. This is a wonderful hotel on an amazing stretch of beach with fun local shops and restaurants. The staff are as friendly as any hotel I have ever stayed at. There were a few minor maintenance glitches in the room, but they were fixed very quickly. They work hard here to make your stay wonderful. The food was good, it's not iron chef quality, but if you are looking for tasty food next to a beach without breaking the budget, then go with the all inclusive. There are also tons of great places to eat just down the street and we have tried almost all of them during our last 3 times here. Rent a golf cart and drive around the island, it's a must. Only thing I would suggest is softer bed sheets... That's all until we come back again next year. I'll miss this place the moment I check out on Monday. Thanks to everyone who made our family feel so welcomed and cared for...Again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jin319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We greatly appreciate your preference at Privilege Aluxes, Isla Mujeres.
We are specially glad that the service provided by our staff made your stay memorable.
It is great to hear that our team made you feel at home, which is always our goal for all our guests.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon for the 5th time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

No better place to celebrate one of the happiest days of your life!

When we got there we were greeted with drinks (which was sooo nice since it was quite hot!) My now husband and I stayed in the grand Platinum suite... Free upgrade when you book your wedding which was awesome. It was a 2 story room with a HUGE roof top terrace and our own pool! The big pools and the pool on the terrace were warm and refreshing but not hot- which felt nice on hot days. AC definitely kept the room cool... And the free wifi was great. Most of my family has iPhones so we were able to iMessage and FaceTime for free. The wait staff was amazing. Very friendly and personable- and we always had drinks. The day we were leaving we wanted to get lunch at 11am... An hour before their beach cafe opens... But one of their staff ran over to another restaurant (off-site) and brought back wings and chips so we could eat before leaving! Crazy good customer service! These guys alone make me want to go back!
Our beach wedding was beautiful too... Gorgeous flowers, very attentive staff (again!), reception was fun! The night after the wedding we had a private dinner on the beach... 5 courses all delicious. All the flowers were brought back to our room after the wedding which was nice. Elba was my wedding planner and she was wonderful. It was the wedding of my dreams.
My sister and I had mani/pedis at the spa. The ladies there were very nice.
The pool and beach are great at the hotel! The location works out nicely if you want to shop or find a restaurant.

I love this place and cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sunnnshine99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We are so grateful for your preference and your kind words, it was our pleasure to have the opportunity to host your wedding.

We will share your comments with our team, who certainly will be encouraged by your remarks.
It is an enormous pleasure to know the satisfaction of our customers, because this is our aim, give you an unforgettable experience, being satisfied and making you feel at home.

Looking forward to welcoming you back for your 1st anniversary!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

loved the island, the people, the hotel, the beach!!!! just returned from a week on Isla Mujeres - booked for 3 couples and we can't wait to go back. Privledge Aluxes was the place to stay. Can't beat the all inclusive. Food was good, service was great. Loved the Jacuzzi on our balcony and the beach was wonderful. Be sure to rent a golf cart and explore. We felt very welcomed and safe. We filled in a survey on site and only suggestion we felt was needed was an additional bartender at the pool bar. The manager sought us out at breakfast to discuss our suggestion and to make sure we were happy and taken care of! book today, loved it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you very much for your time and comments.
We appreciate your words regarding the staff, the service, the food, the rooms…Privilege constantly strives to improve the level of service we provide to each of our clients and your experiences are our best assistance.

We would love to welcome you back soon to offer another unforgettable vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

12 of us just returned after a 7 day stay. We had a great time. The food was very good for an all inclusive. I suggest eating at the beach restaurant you can always order fresh from the menus. If you like Corona the beer is good. Very few choices other than that. We had upgraded to a Superior room but if I were to stay here again I would upgrade to a suite. The rooms are small and we had no view from the room. We had to walk out on to the balcony which was not covered and it rained for two days. There is no where to sit and have a cup of coffe or glass of wine if it is raining. (Room 634).

The only real draw back that we had was that during the rain there is no place to hang out except your room. There was no place for us to gather as a group and have drinks or play cards. So two days of rain kind of messed things up.

The beach is beautiful and the wait staff were great. The front desk got snippy with us when we were trying to find something to do during the rain and when we were trying to find somewhere to watch the Spurs play.

All in all it was a good trip but we probably won't go there again. We prefer Cozumel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Stacietexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thanks for reviewing our hotel and describing our facilities.
We are committed to get better day by day and listening to your comments and observations is the best way to achieve it.

We would like to thank you for choosing Privilege as your holiday destination and we are glad to read that you had a great time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were upgraded to a suite and it was enormous. Bed was comfortable and we were never bothered by noise, so we always had a great sleep. Breakfast is fantastic with a daily changing spread. Beach amenities are great.

Word of advice, be careful with the sink and shower. The water pressure is good, so if you turn the water on full blast in the sink, you'll end up soaked, because the basin is a bit shallow with a sharp curve. The shower has a glass panel that covers half the length of the shower, my sister, who's never used one of these style showers, ended up flooding the entire bathroom.

They've instituted a new policy since I was there last year that non-guests of the hotel aren't even allowed on the premises or there is a fine of a few hundred dollars. Something to keep in mind for those of you with friends staying at other hotels.

Only other issue we had was that the pool guy blatantly lied to us about the pool closing. There is a sign posted saying that the pool closes at 8. I was swimming laps and he just started hosing off things, pulling the hose through the water area I was in, and when I asked him what time it was, because he was acting like they were closing down, he said they were closed. Went to my room and saw that it wasn't even 7:30 yet. It's only half an hour, but that was all rude. The one gripe I always have with this hotel is how they fail at the service aspect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jwpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your opinion, at Privilege we are always working to improve our services and facilities and the best way is listening to you.
We apologize for the issue at the swimming pool, as you noticed our main objective is to give an excellent service and thanks to opinions like yours we are in constantly improvement and growth

We look forward to welcoming you back to deliver the highest quality of service and another great vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.4 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
1.8 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.3 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Privilege Aluxes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Privilege Aluxes

Property: Privilege Aluxes
Address: Ave Adolfo Lopez Mateos, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#3 Luxury Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Privilege Aluxes 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privilege Aluxes: Truly a privileged experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Privilege Aluxes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres
Privilege Aluxes Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing