We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Privilege Aluxes
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Na Balam Beach Hotel(Isla Mujeres)
US$170
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casa de los Suenos(Isla Mujeres)
US$321
US$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Isla Mujeres Palace(Isla Mujeres)
US$570
US$498
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ixchel Beach Hotel(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$339
US$246
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rocamar(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$128
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$779
US$757
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Xbulu-Ha(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$51
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Francis Arlene Hotel(Isla Mujeres)
US$71
US$67
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Isleno(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (3,176)
Filter reviews
3,176 results
Traveller rating
1,935
841
255
82
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,935
841
255
82
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssataydel marplatinum suitepool barthai restaurantsuperior roombeach restaurantall inclusive packagebreakfast buffetgolf cartbeach clubjacuzzi on the balconyall inclusive planliving roomchicken wingsocean viewbeach service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,378 - 1,383 of 3,176 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We traveled from the US, with our large group occupying two of the Presidential Suites, two Grand Platinum Suites as well as a number of standard rooms. My partner and I shared the Presidential Suite in building 5 with another couple.

Most importantly, three members of our group of 12 have developed a bacterial skin infection as a direct result of our stay at Privilege Aluxes. The three infected guests all stayed in different buildings and collectively did not sit on any similar surface other than the ensuite pools. It is evident that Privlelege Aluxes has poor hygiene practices and does not properly treat their pools and hot tubs with the necessary chemicals, which would kill harmful bacteria. The three infected guests did not share any surface or pool other than those at Privilege Aluxes.

Based on the illnesses alone, I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone. It is unhealthy, unsanitary and if it were located in the US – would be shut down immediately, of this I am certain.

In addition to the unsanitary conditions, our stay was fraught with misrepresentations and a blatant indifference to our questions and issues. So if you’re a (health) risk taker and are still hedging your bets on a great stay here, please keep reading.

We’ve traveled to many countries that are not English speaking and have found that if you make an effort and are unfailingly polite, people will try to help. However, this was not the case at Privilege Aluxes. Check in was unnecessarily confusing, with the front desk representatives speaking such little English that it was quite difficult for us to understand what was being asked of us. While my Spanish is admittedly rudimentary, I was assured that the majority of the staff spoke English well enough so that my lack of local language wouldn’t be an issue. I was misinformed. Housekeeping, bar staff and some waitstaff spoke only Spanish, and communicating with the front desk was difficult. Laundry service took three days, even after I confirmed same day service with the front desk.

We opted to have Privilege Aluxes arrange all transportation to and from the resort, at an additional cost of $78 USD per person. This included a private shuttle to and from the airport, round trip ferry tickets as well as taxi rides from the ferry to the resort. Upon arrival in Mexico, there were no issues. We confirmed with the guide (for lack of a better word) that he would meet us on the day of our departure and run the same logistics. However, the morning of departure, he never arrived. Since no one was at the front desk at the time of our departure, we had no choice but to secure the one small taxi available, purchase additional ferry tickets and find our own ride to the airport, at an additional cost of $100 USD. An important side note when considering this resort: when you call the hotel from a landline outside of the hotel, you are unable to reach them directly. You are routed to a random woman’s voicemail and she neither answers her phone nor returns voicemails. So if, per chance, you are stuck without your previously arranged (and paid for!) transport at a resort where the staff conveniently forgets to speak English, you’re out of luck. And money.

We have emailed Privilege Aluxes three times, asking for an explanation and a refund of our $78 per person travel cost that but they have not responded.

In regard to the infrastructure of the pools, there is a cover missing from a filter type mechanism underneath the water in at least two of the ensuite pools, located in different buildings. It sucks water in so violently, that if any part of your body comes within inches of it, it will suck you toward the filter and leave a mark on your skin in the shape of a large circle. I would caution you to not leave poor swimmers, small children or the elderly unattended, as getting caught by this filter-type mechanism will lead to serious bodily injury, including drowning.

The rooms are furnished with inexpensively made, modern furniture (think Ikea’s “as is” room) and they are beginning to show their wear and tear. For example, our kitchen table had a broken piece of laminate on the leg, which caused scratches on our own legs, if we weren’t careful to avoid them.

The patios are water stained and have cracked concrete in most areas. The chaise lounge pillows are furnished with a stained, white vinyl and the woods on the pool decks are cracked, faded and obviously dirty. The patio glass is perpetually cloudy.

The photos you see on the Privilege Aluxes website and various social media outlets are heavily photoshopped. I was stunned at the glaring difference between what Privilege Aluxes portrays online and what greeted us in person. Whomever is responsible for Marketing and Social Media for this resort deserves a serious raise and promotion, because I was sold – hook line and sinker – on a resort that is nothing like the one we stayed in.

Many reviewers indicated that the best place for dinner was the Café on the beach. However, we found the food to be inconsistent from night to night. Inedible at times. The breakfast buffet in Sabor was sufficient and fresh: the coffee was hot and the pastries varied.
Wifi signals were spotty and slow.

However, not all was bad! Table service in both Sabor and the Café were outstanding. The bathrooms in the rooms are well appointed and spacious. The AC was on point, it never failed as it so often does in South and Central America and it was a welcome relief from the humid daytime weather. Room Service was prompt, polite and efficient. Truly, the fastest room service we’ve ever experienced anywhere – with a max of 30 minutes. We ordered the Chicken Club Sandwich almost every day and it was consistently good and fresh.

Housekeeping was excellent; our bedrooms and baths were immaculate daily.
Bottom line: If it wasn’t for the filthy infections a third of my group came home with, I may not have posted every little thing that went wrong. But to have something so unhealthy, gross and unnecessary happen as well as the complete lack of response by the resort leaves me no choice but to post it all.

I encourage you to keep looking. Anywhere else but here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank zukolivie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrivilegeIslaMujeres, Quality Control at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

First of all we would like to thank for your review and for allowing us the opportunity to extend our management response. Our concierge services are already aware of what happened with the transportation charges and will be taking care of this for you to proceed with reimburses accordingly. We are very sorry to hear about the bacterial infection, surprisingly we never heard of it during their stay as we would have done something immediately. We have never received complaints about bacterial infection at the hotel since we opened in 2009. At Privilege, we do have unannounced monthly visits from international company Preverisk, they test and certificate the water in our swimming pool on monthly basis, so far we have had great results on our pool treatment and maintenance. However and based on your review we have contacted the agency to run quality tests and the results came clear, we can confirm to the traveler community that our pool is adequate and well for use. We appreciate your remarks on hotel services, we are taking them into consideration. Our staff is Mexican, they do speak English however their main language is Spanish, which is something that most of our guests understand, while others do not. Again, thanks for sharing and for allowing us the opportunity to give our perspective and point of view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a week and we had a great experience. If you are picky, this is not for you. We're not, so it worked for us.

The bartenders were great (Gaspar at Cafe del Mar) and the service was great by everyone working at the restaurants. Drinks were good and well poured, food was good. I understand that food is something that depends on individual taste so i am not judging the hotel on their food selection as they try to please a wide range of visitors from different backgrounds. Satay restaurant was our favorite! We wished we could have eaten there more.

The mini bar... sigh. We had issues with getting our fridge restocked with beer. We called twice in one day to get the fridge restocked and nothing. Second day.. nothing either. For 2 days they did not restock our beer and my wife was pretty upset. We left a tip in the room days before thinking that would encourage them to keep it stocked, but no. Save your money, just go to the bar. I found it easier to get a bucket of beers at Cafe del Mar than having people bring us our beer for the mini fridge. We made it work.

Friendly staff, great location, semi private beach (a lot of visitors but not overcrowded).

Great time overall.

PS. Ask to get your sheets changed every day. Every morning I would wake up to new bites on my legs. BUT, I always get bit, bugs love my blood for some reason. My wife was fine, but I was not.

Room Tip: floors 3 and up have the best view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

First of all thank you for choosing us to enjoy your honeymoon, we are delighted to read that it was an awesome experience.

We really appreciate your comments and remarks, thanks to opinions like yours we are in constantly improvement and growth.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, from the beach to the restaurants including the staff.
We would love to welcome you back soon to offer another memorable vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights and we wish we wish we had more time in isla to stay at this hotel. After leaving another hotel we came here and fell inlove. The staff is incredable! Everyone of them try to make you feel like a king and queen, the bar in the pool with its amazing bartenders can make you anydrink you desire and the room service is like no other. The food is exellent and very rich.
The rooms are big and very clean, equiped with everything you need and then some.
The beach is not the best in isla but you can walk 5 minuts to the best beach in the island.
Wi-fi is everywhere including in the beach and rooms.
The price is a bit high but you get every penny back in service and smiles from the staff.
I would definatly come back here and recomand everybody to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelerallthetime1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you very much for you review and kind words.
It is a pleasure for us to know that your stay at Privilege Aluxes was an incredible experience because our principal aim is to give you our best service, make your stay unforgettable and reach your expectations.

Your positive comments will help us with our continuing effort to improve the service quality.
Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We got back from PA today after spending a week there. We have been to PDC several times and wanted to try something else. PDC is getting awfully big so we thought this might be a good fit. We were looking forward to being beach bums and Privilege was a great place to just sit on the beach and do nothing. Even on the weekend we did not have trouble finding a palapa. The all inclusive upgrade was well worth it and we still were able to eat out several times.

A few specific areas of feedback:
- We got the deluxe suite and it was WELL WORTH the upgrade price. It was huge and really nice. We had a corner unit 143 (building 1, floor 4, unit 3) and had a great ocean view with the bedroom looking out on the cemetery. I thought looking out on the cemetery was very cool.
- The bed is hard, so believe the reviews. We got used to it by the end of the week, but our pillow-top will feel very good.
-The room had a few things that needed fixed but nothing major.
- The buffet was ok for breakfast but we went out 3 times for breakfast because it was just ok.
- Lunch on the beach or at Café del Mar was very good. The guacamole was ok; the shrimp tostadas were excellent.
- We had dinner at Café del Mar. I had the new york strip and I did not know it was possible to cut a steak that thin. It tasted fine but I felt a little cheated.
- Nightlife- It was weird that there was not even a place to easily get a drink in the evening without sitting at a dinner table. I don't need big shows like the larger resorts but there basically was not a place to meet people in the evening.
- The grounds were immaculate.
- Beer selection was extremely limited.
- The pool bar was the place to be late afternoon, but most days we were "sunned out" by then.
-Service was inconsistent: sometimes it was tough to get service at the beach; we had to ask on 3 different days to get water in our room because the minibar was not restocked.

Overall we had a very nice week and I'm glad we chose to stay at Privilege Aluxes. We wanted to relax and we get 6 stars for not doing much of anything. I see how people give it 5 stars but for us it does not quite measure up to places like Royal PDC that we felt got 5 stars.

Room Tip: Make sure you choose a deluxe suite or better.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mmiller001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you very much for giving us the opportunity to offer you a nice time in Isla Mujeres.
We want to let you know that your comments do not go unnoticed. You’re a necessary piece to this puzzle.
It is important that we keep growing to do our best to meet your needs.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to offer our best service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel is nice. The rooms were kept clean, the staff is friendly, the amenities are good, it is just not quite the 5 stars that it is billed. The beach is amazing and having a security guard keeping the riff-raff away was nice. The water is clear and the sand is soft. Some of the rooms probably do not have the best view, as the hotel is right next to an old cemetery, but the island is so small you can look past it and see the ocean. The all inclusive is definitely worth it for the aspect of getting all the drinks you want while laying out at the beach, or swimming up to the bar in the pool. The buffet menu also changes daily to keep things interesting. I would do it again and go from Thursday to Thursday so you start with the weekend crowned and it being busier, and then by the end of the trip it would slow down and you could have the place mostly to yourself.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilege A, Social Media at Privilege Aluxes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for you review, we very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Privilege Aluxes as your feelings are the best assistance to keep working to do it better and better.

It is a pleasure to receive your comment about this positive experience with us.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews