We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Budget Option”
Review of Carmelina Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carmelina Hotel
Ranked #22 of 38 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Barbados
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good Budget Option”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed five nights in Hotel Carmelina- cost was M$350 per night for a double room with WIFI. This included free coffee/hot water for tea drinkers!

Our room was small and got quite warm at times. The bed was comfortable and sleep quality was good. The bathroom was pretty standard and had hot water. Storage was not great in our room but I think we had the smallest room in the hotel and there are more spacious and more expensive rooms available. We had a fridge and a TV in the room. There was a little porch outside our room which was nice to sit out on in the evening time.

The hotel is in a really good location. It is a few minutes’ walk from the beach and main eating/drinking area. There is also a supermarket close by.

The staff in the hotel are very nice but only speak Spanish. They are very friendly and will help you out even if you are not fluent in Spanish!

Overall, we would recommend this hotel as good value for money and a good budget option.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank BarbadosSecret1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    21
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
5
25
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Beach
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

This hotel has a balcony so that you can sit and visit with other quests. I shared a very large room with my girlfriend. We were there the third week of March, no a/c, but a large ceiling fan.
The room had three large beds, a long dresser, a chair and a small but clean bathroom.
Always had hot water for showering, I know other rooms on the third level had problems with no hot water. Close to the grocery store, shops and restaurants and beach. Price per week was very reasonable. Nice place to vacation at.

Room Tip: Ask to see it first
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

This hotel has 28 rooms wrapped around a very attractive welcoming outside courtyard. The rooms are bright and very clean although somewhat small. The bed was comfortable. End rooms have two windows. We had a small fridge in our room. The bathroom was very functional with lots of hot water and a good shower. TV, internet, fans and air are all provided at no extra cost. A plus is that you can sit and relax on the balcony outside each room in the evenings. Rooms were cleaned and linen changed every day. Free coffee in the morning at the desk. They have bike rental at a small cost.
We found this family run hotel to be very friendly. Many people return year after year to the hotel. For 350 pesos a night it was great. It is close to down town but does not have the noise of the bars to keep you awake at night. There is a laundry on the next corner that was convenient and inexpensive.

Room Tip: The upper level was airy and had a nice breeze. Corner rooms have two window and better light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Hotel Carmelina offers very simple rooms at an awesome price! The hotel is within walking distance to everywhere on the island that you want to go. You can easily walk there (with luggage) upon the ferry boat arrival. The people are friendly and the rooms are clean. However, it is VERY simple. Just a bed, a rod to hang your clothes with some wooden shelves, a ceiling fan, air-conditioning (we don't use air-conditioning, but a bonus for some people) a tv, a shower, a toilet and a sink. It is all cement walls and not pretty. But the price is great and the location is perfect. From now on, we will always go straight to this little treasure!
If I recall correctly, it was $25.00 per night.
Bonus: They offer wi-fi internet inclusive!
Please keep in mind this is not for people who need anything fancy or pretty. This is functional and clean.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has a breeze if you don't use air-conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Blitzpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

It's not the WORST we've stayed in, but it's definitely low on the list. They have rooms with one, two or three beds. And even though we had reservations, when we checked in they said they were full and the only room available was one with three beds...their most expensive at $500/night. Not wanting to deal with having to find another hotel, we took it. But after a couple nights realized the hotel was NOT full.

PROS: The beds are good. Clean sheets, comfortable mattresses. The A/C works great. There's a small fridge, lots of TV channels to choose from and free wifi! Good location too.

CONS: Rooms are old, bathrooms are VERY old and small. Ants coming out of the electrical outlets. Water literally dribbled out of the showerhead. My husband actually removed the showerhead which made it better. They didn't empty the garbage in the bathroom from the guests before us. Pretty sure there's a sewage line leaking behind the building because whenever we opened the bathroom window the smell was horrendous. And while most hotels are loud, this one was VERY loud. You hear everything. People coming and going at all hours of the night and children shouting and running around early in the morning. The managers live on sight but I think they're the loudest of all.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank playagirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2010

If you remember the Carmelina from years ago be aware that it has upgraded. It still has large rooms with a number of beds but now has cable TV, a small fridge, and better mattresses. The Carmelina is a friendly place and is set up to promote interaction. In March 2010 the rate was 500 pesos a day.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

Ok, so I was staying at The Hotel Bucaneros, 2 days too long, on Isla Mujeres, I needed to change hotels. I met a couple whom I got talking to, and told them about my terrible hotel experience I was having there. They said too me, you gotta check out our hotel, we have been going there for the last 15 years, it is nothing fancy, but it is clean, comfortable, pleasant, friendly, and inexpensive. I thought great, sounds what I am looking for. I went and checked it out, and booked myself in.
I had a single room, dbl bed, the room was small, but it was clean and comfortable, and really, it was even more than what I was looking for. It had a new fridge, TV, A/C, as well as a fan overhead of the bed, toilet, shower,(with lots of hot water), and sink. It was bright and airy, I could open the windows, and it felt very safe. The staff are great, a friendly family affair. I met other people that had been coming back to this hotel for years, who had watched the children there, grow up.
Really inexpensive, I paid M$350 a night. If I was going to go back to Isla Mujeres, this is were I would stay, and I highly recommend it to anyone else. It is close to everything, but then everything is close on Isla Mujeres.
If you are looking for it, the address is: Guerrero No.14 Isla Mujeres
Ph#[--]

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jake333Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
#16 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
226 reviews
0.0 mi away
Francis Arlene Hotel
Francis Arlene Hotel
#27 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel D'Gomar
Hotel D'Gomar
#32 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marcianito
Hotel Marcianito
#22 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#11 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
863 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#17 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmelina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmelina Hotel

Property: Carmelina Hotel
Address: Av. Guerrero No. 4, Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing