We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Carmelina, what a pleasant surprise!”
Review of Carmelina Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carmelina Hotel
Ranked #22 of 39 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 January 2010

Ok, so I was staying at The Hotel Bucaneros, 2 days too long, on Isla Mujeres, I needed to change hotels. I met a couple whom I got talking to, and told them about my terrible hotel experience I was having there. They said too me, you gotta check out our hotel, we have been going there for the last 15 years, it is nothing fancy, but it is clean, comfortable, pleasant, friendly, and inexpensive. I thought great, sounds what I am looking for. I went and checked it out, and booked myself in.
I had a single room, dbl bed, the room was small, but it was clean and comfortable, and really, it was even more than what I was looking for. It had a new fridge, TV, A/C, as well as a fan overhead of the bed, toilet, shower,(with lots of hot water), and sink. It was bright and airy, I could open the windows, and it felt very safe. The staff are great, a friendly family affair. I met other people that had been coming back to this hotel for years, who had watched the children there, grow up.
Really inexpensive, I paid M$350 a night. If I was going to go back to Isla Mujeres, this is were I would stay, and I highly recommend it to anyone else. It is close to everything, but then everything is close on Isla Mujeres.
If you are looking for it, the address is: Guerrero No.14 Isla Mujeres
Ph#[--]

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jake333Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2009

This is a comfortable, no-frills hotel in the downtown area, less than 5 minutes walk from Playa Norte and the rocky shore on east side of isla. It is family-owned; the owners speak enough English to get by. If you are more of a traveller rather than a tourist seeking packaged glamour, this is probably a good inexpensive, clean, very adequate choice. I had a room on the second floor with a comfortable queen bed, mini fridge, TV, hot and cold water, and coffee available at front desk in morning. The hotel is painted white and lavender, giving it a cheery Caribbean feel. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WyoGretchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

Oh boy, this is a tough one because I know the other rooms were better than ours. But larger, I'm not sure. We made reservations here because of some good reviews we'd seen online, and we got the last room. Apparently there is a new wing and an old wing--we were obviously in the old wing. Yes, it had great A/C and a fridge but with 2 people in the room it was difficult to even move around. The bathroom was so small you had to turn sideways to close the door. We thought we didn't have any cold water at the sink but then discovered that it had been turned off at the wall to avoid dripping. The sink area was in such bad shape I thought for sure a chunk of it was going to crack off. There were no side tables or reading lamps by the bed. There was a small desk & chair and some narrow shelves for storing your stuff. We were shown another larger room but it was dark and seemed overpriced. We prefer small, local run hotels but feel there are some much needed improvements for this particular room (#16).

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wherewillwego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2009

We stayed there for 6 nights (we planned for 4:). Location is very good (5 min to the store, 5min to the restaurant/bar street and 5-10 min to the beach, depends on which beach you're going to), I think all rooms has AC now, also a fan and fridge. It was very clean, bathroom and room cleaned every day & towels changed also. We enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwaysabsent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2008

Nice little budget hotel in downtown Isla Mujeres. They were nice enough to store our baggage behind the counter on the last day so my mom and I could tour around before leaving in the afternoon for the airport in Cancun. No a/c in our room, but fan worked fine and there was a mini fridge in the room. Great price and nothing to complain about. You can check out the photos we took.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank cielia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank NicoSutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mishito0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marcianito
Hotel Marcianito
#25 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
159 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
#10 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Privilege Aluxes
Privilege Aluxes
#4 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
3,037 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#6 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
2,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmelina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmelina Hotel

Address: Av. Guerrero No. 4, Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing