We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit the US in Mexico”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Soggy Peso Bed & Cocktail
Ranked #16 of 40 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 March 2013

This place looked to be a lot of fun based on reviews. So four of us went to have drinks and just to hang out. It was like visiting a sports bar/ Margaritaville type place. All US visitors or people who just left behind their lives in the states and moved to the island. Maybe it was just not the place to go after a week of indulging in the amazing culture of the island and the Yucatan. I found that it reminded me of a lot of things that are very arrogant and disheartening about my own culture. To say the least, it didn't make me homesick, rather it made me want to run away from that bar! We didn't eat, just had drinks. Went with a group of 4 and after spending way more than we should have on drinks and dealing with rude people who just wanted us to rent their properties from them, we left and went back to the northern part of the island.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AmbrosiaB1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2013

We stopped in the Soggy Peso only because of reviews on Tripadvisor. To get there you have to walk down a little alley next to a small hotel. Behind the hotel is the little beach side bar which not much more than a hut surrounded by plastic tables. The place is American ex pat owned and its clientele are mostly American locals hanging out for the cheap but really cold beer. There are daily food specials. On Sundays the place is packed. Sundays is ribs and the owner begins smoking and grilling them a full 24 hrs before. For about $17 US you get an enormous full rack platter with chorizo sausage, refried beans, assorted vegs and cornbread. The meat literally fell off the bone. It's was awesome. Next time back to Isla Sundays at the Soggy Peso is a must.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank galomax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Very simply you MUST go to the Soggy Peso for Sunday BBQ. No question. Go early, we arrived at 4 o'clock and the place was packed. Luckily some friends had arrived earlier and saved us a couple of chairs. They can also run out of the ribs, which are their speciality. As I do not eat red meat we ordered a plate that had chicken and ribs. Delicious chicken, corn bread, potato salad, corn salad, yummy. They smoke everything overnight so it has an amazing deep flavor. We did not stay at the hotel but our friend's parents are, very nice. The service was great, he asked our names and used them each time he came to the table. Couldn't have felt more welcome. We enjoyed the food so much we are going back for the lobster tacos today!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Elaine1131571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

...but I'm so glad we did. The ribs at Soggy Peso are amazing. We arrived on the island Friday and ribs are served on Sunday. Soggy Peso was recommended to us at least a dozen times within the first two days on the island.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessmont812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

One of my favorite places on the planet! This was my first trip to the island and was so glad we stayed here instead of a large resort! Very comfortable room and bed! Enjoyed meeting all the local people that also enjoy this place! Freddie and JoJo make the best margaritas that I have ever had and don't miss out on the ceviche. This is a one of a kind place that you will tell all your friends about. The sunset at the Soggy Peso pier is one my of favorite photos and memories.
Take a hat, sign it and hang it up at the bar.... I will look for it next time I am there because
I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Be sure to grab a seat at the bar and plan on staying for a while talking to new friends!!! Such a fun place, we will be back. Not a meat eater but my husband and friend swear the best baby back ribs EVER worldwide are located here on Sundays. Do NOT miss the Soggy Peso while visiting Isla Mujeres!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Went here twice as first time was really good. Had the ribs on Sunday (amazing) and Fajitas on Tuesday (good). Menu is essentially a daily special so not much selection.

I usually don't go for non local food when travelling but this place is a definite must for travellers. Great bar, people, and food.

I will say this, they had the best Micheladas on my trip.

I only ate here, I did not stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
465 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
373 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#4 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.4 mi away
Marina Paraiso
Marina Paraiso
#15 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
178 reviews
1.6 mi away
Privilege Aluxes
Privilege Aluxes
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
3,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Soggy Peso Bed & Cocktail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Soggy Peso Bed & Cocktail

Address: Avenue Rueda Medina, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: £87 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ISLAND TIME Located on the beautiful Bahia de Isla, The Soggy Peso --unique and full of character--is just a short distance from El Centro(the island's business district). Our waterfront view allows the visitor to check out the fishermen leaving in the mornings and returning with their catches at sunset.......sunsets that are absolutely breathtaking over a cold cerveza or a glass of wine. But we are also convenient to the white sands of North Beach and the numerous bars and restaurants on Hidalgo Street But don't forget the Soggy Peso Palapa Bar where fishermen and colorful characters of the Island alike take pride in swapping their Caribbean experiences-----some true....some not so true. And the bartender....who refuses to be outdone......has the tendency at times of being slightly more interesting than his customers. Our laid back life style at The Soggy Peso personifies that famous line in one of Jimmy Buffett's songs..."Keep it simple , Stupid".So..... Bienvenidos!!!! Parrot Heads,Yayhoos, SnubQueens, and Good Ole' Boys!!!!!!! ALMOST FORGOT!.....In keeping with our Bed & Cocktail theme, each room guest will be entitled daily to some free Bloody Marys in the morning and some free Margaritas in the afternoon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Soggy Peso Bed & Cocktail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Soggy Peso Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing