We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa el Pio
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Rocamar(Isla Mujeres)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel D'Gomar(Isla Mujeres)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Boca Iglesia(Isla Mujeres)
View Hotel
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi(Isla Mujeres)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Osorio(Isla Mujeres)
View Hotel
Hotel Isleno(Isla Mujeres)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Xbulu-Ha(Isla Mujeres)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Francis Arlene Hotel(Isla Mujeres)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
198
33
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
33
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach bagcomplimentary beerrecommend casaclothes linewater coolersoaking poolrooftop patioprevious guestslittle touchesfree drinking watercoffee makerferry stationtown squarehome baselocation is idealsitting areawatching the sunrise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
209 - 214 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2009

I have vacationed in Isla four times and have never found a place like Casa el Pio. The staff is very friendly; the room was very clean. The beds were comfortable which is a
rarity in Isla. They had a beach bag and extra towels ready for us upon arrival. With its
off-the-beaten path, we rarely heard any noise. The hotel is located across the street from the supermarket and city central. Although the hotel is not located on the beach,
it is a very short walk. The rooms come with a mini kitchen, all the free filtered water
you want, and a day room with bed and chair which made entertaining guest very easy. All in all we would recommend this place and will stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryanac23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2009

We stayed at Casa El Pio because of the comments through TripAdvisor. In addition, we liked the location because it is downtown and most everything is nearby and within walking distance.

When we arrived we were greeted by Margaret, the property manager of Casa El Pio. She is a warm and friendly person, and was very helpful in answering questions during our stay.

We chose room #3 because of the ocean view (although you do have to look over rooftops). The size of the room was adequate for just the two of us. And for the price, you can't beat it! It came with a mini fridge, coffee maker (and the coffee), and two beachtowels (with the beach bag) daily. The dipping pool was very relaxing after a hot day in the sun. Housekeeping did a wonderful job of leaving us a clean room everyday. The premises was also well-kept..

The only thing that I would add to the room is one or two curtain panels to each window for added privacy and to also help keep out some of the sunlight in the morning. Perhaps even putting the bed on the opposite wall would help (and for privacy as well since it is directly across from the bathroom).

We felt Casa El Pio was a good bang for your buck and because of that, the cleanliness, and the friendliness we received from Margaret, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xrcise4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

We stayed at Casa El Pio boutique hotel for 7 nights in Room No 1. We choose this room because it has a patio with table and chairs as we like to sit out and also it had a second bed which we needed as my son was staying with us for a few nights over from Cancun.

You get a great welcome by Margaret, who manages the hotel very efficiently, and an information pack is provided, which offers lots of useful guidance for eating out and places of interest to visit.

The room was clean and fresh and the contemporary decor and finishes made or stay most enjoyable. Sure you don’t have a pool or restaurant or other facilities that you might expect in a standard hotel but you not paying big bucks either. We like to eat out for breakfast, lunch and dinner so as to sample the local cuisine and I have to say we didnt have a bad experience at any of the local cafes recommended by Margaret.

The AC unit, coffee maker, safe and other amenities all work very well although the showers wasn’t great. The towels were changed regularly and the room cleaned daily. Beach towels were also provided daily, which was great.

Our only criticism is that storage/hanging space for clothes was limited and we had to live out of our suitcases, and the toilet paper bin had no lid, which made for some rather smelly moments. I must add though that none of this spoiled our stay at all.
We would definately return to Cas El Pio.

Email me if you wish denis.robinson7@ntlworld.com

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisRob13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hillarybee, owner at Casa el Pio, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2009

Thank you for your positive review! We are so happy that you had a nice time and I just wanted to let you know of some updates we have made based on your response.

We actually do have a pool, although it is a small one. It's meant for cooling off and not swimming laps.

We have provided additional storage/organizing space in the closets to minimize having to live out of your suitcase.

We have also upgraded all of the shower heads to provide much better water pressure.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2009

This place is great! Very well positioned on Isla Mujeres. It's just a few blocks from the ferry, restaurants and the north beach. This summer they have a special: 7 nights for the price of 5. For $65 USD a night, it's a great deal for a newly remodeled room that you'll fall in love with. The rooms were cleaned every day by the staff and they even took the time to make " animals" out of towels that were displayed on the bed. A really nice touch in my opinion. Each room comes with a book that tells you where the owners favorite restaurants are and some fun things to do. This is great feature if it will be your first trip to Isla Mujeres. I can't say enough about this place! The owners are super friendly the rooms are amazing in a location that just can't be beat!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimikakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2009

Casa El Pio on the island of Isla Mujeres is the best deal for the buck. the pristine white walls call to you like the endless miles of white sand beaches. The aqua blue doors scream the color of the ocean. Everything about the place will scream to you RELAX and ENJOY!!!

Casa El Pio is just a mere few feet from all the excitement and entertainment Isla has to offer!!! The hotel is clean, with beautiful handmade local furniture, beautifully decorated rooms and a inn keeper (Ms. Margaret) that can help you with anything on the island.

The hotel has small little unique touches that will make it feel more like home than a hotel. The community is small and friendly and so welcoming to new comers! Coming to the island was my first trip out of the country by myself and I must say that it was the easiest most relaxing trip I've ever taken.

It is with my highest recommendation that everyone should come stay at CASA EL PIO!!! You owe it to yourself to relax and just chill!!! PLEASE STAY IN ROOM 4!!! I mean all the rooms are awesome but I would say try to stay in rooms 3 or 4 to take in more of the views of the town and beaches!!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwaellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews