We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Xbulu-Ha stands out on Isla Mujeres”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Xbulu-Ha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Xbulu-Ha stands out on Isla Mujeres”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

You are on the small island of Isla Mujeres where Xbulu-Ha stands out as the little hotel that reflects the laid-back down-home feeling of this small community. Everyone knows everyone - there is always someone to chat with - the inside courtyard is open to the breezes and available for chatting with your neighbours - and you are steps away from Playa del Norte - voted 14 out of the top 25 beaches in the world by Trip Advisor -as well as two more beaches. A fridge in all of the rooms and some rooms even have stoves - so you can supplement the wonderful food at the local restaurants with the local food and drink kept in your room. Xbulu-Ha is steps from the local market and around the corner from the grocery store and the local drinks store. Enjoy!
JCB.

Room Tip: Try to get a room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelxbuluha, General Manager at Hotel Xbulu-Ha, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
To be more precise, Playa Norte is at 5 min walking from the hotel.
The port is also at 5 min.
The local market is at 3 min walking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    71
    19
    9
    5
See reviews for
30
107
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anoka, Minnesota
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

I have been traveling to Isla Mujeres for many years and have stayed at many places. Xbulu-Ha does not come with a lot of bells and whistles. It is clean, comfortable and affordable. I come with friend and we each get a single room. The beds are not large but enough for one. There is a TV and small refrigerator in the room. The hotel does have some rooms with kitchenettes. It is in walking distance of the beach and a block off of Hildago where most of the restaurants are located. During my stays I have met some of the nicest people and everyone seems to look out for each other.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

My Wife and I really enjoyed our stays at Xbulu-Ha! Clean, safe, comfortable, and a great location. Gabriel the owner is a pleasure to deal with and takes a lot of pride in his hotel. It's close to the action but far enough away from the late night noise on Hidalgo! Juan Carlos the manager is also there to help you with anything you need. Over all, a great place to stay at a great price. We have made a lot of new friends at the hotel, and love the way everyone gets together for a happy hour or to share food, conversation, and a lot of laughter!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelxbuluha, General Manager at Hotel Xbulu-Ha, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thanks for this rating. Now I must keep working to make other guest have the same opinion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmon Arm, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

My wife and myself have been staying at XBULA-HA for a month at a time every year for the last four years. All the staff are friendly and helpful to attend to all your needs.Angelica keeps the room very clean and tidy. Juan carlos is a very friendly and a knowledgeable person, every year his english improves quickly.Anything you need he will get for you. We stay in the large suite which has a king size bed which is very comfortable,a large fridge,4 burner gas stove,all the utensils needed to cook with,a flat screen tv,safe,microwave and a/c, the bathroom is quite large with a large shower,2 vanities a toilet. and a closet to hang your clothes in,There is also a table and four chairs to eat at and a small chesterfield at the foot of the bed.There is also a 9 drawer dresser to put all your cloths in and also free to use beach chairs The hotel has a large party room to accommodate all the guest gatherings and celebrations ,There is also free coffee and a munchie in the morning. Gabriel is very accommodating and will go beyond your needs and is always trying to improve the hotel for all the guests and it just keeps getting better. You feel very safe and comfortable in this little GEM of a hotel on isla mujeres. can hardly wait to get back to see everyone as they are our second family.

Denny & Rosita

Room Tip: The best little hotel in the downtown area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DennyRosita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morton, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

My wife and I have been coming back every year for seven or eight years now. We love the place. It is conveniently located, reasonably priced, and the staff and owner are just like family. I guess that is why we stay at the hotel 2+ months each year. When we stay we get one of the suites. The suites have a refrigerator, a microwave, a small kitchen area with a sink and table service. The hotel is well maintained; it has internet connectivity for their guests; and the owner and manager, Gabriel, speaks three languages - Spanish, English, and German. One reason that guest like coming here is that Gabriel is quick to respond to email questions. He is also always willing to accomodate requests or suggestions.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MortonTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelxbuluha, General Manager at Hotel Xbulu-Ha, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Both the long-stay guest as the one who stays one or few nights, are very important for the hotel. Everybody is welcome to the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

A excellent place to stay when on the island. This was our fourth year to say at the Hotel Xbulu-Ha.The hotel is always clean and well maintained. The staff treats you like family and they are always courteous and extremely helpful. That is why I say that this is my home when I'm away from home.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mickey851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hales corners, wi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

My husband and I stay here for an extended time. We just love it. Gabriel is the best! Always prompt in response to emails, always accommodating. He speaks perfect English. Juan the mg. is very friendly and there to assist in whatever you need or questions you want answered. He will assist in renting golf carts when needed. Our room is small but comfortable with TV, safe, apt.-size frig, ceiling fan and air conditioning. We wouldn't stay anywhere else. Community room has microwave and two toasters. Hotel provides beach chairs and towels. Beach is 4- blk walk away. Grocery store is two blocks away. Close to all restaurants. Hotel also has hair salon and dentist. Atmosphere is friendly and fun. Gabriel continues to build his business and is always adding amenities to please his guests.

Room Tip: If you're a big person you would want to get a suite as they are much bigger and have king-sized...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank leyladog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#19 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marina Paraiso
Marina Paraiso
#14 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#13 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Xbulu-Ha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xbulu-Ha

Property: Hotel Xbulu-Ha
Address: Calle Vicente Guerrero # 4 | Col. Centro, Isla Mujeres 77440, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Xbulu-Ha 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Xbulu-Ha is like your second home in your vacation. The staff is always ready to help you in what you need. The hotel is located in Isla Mujeres downtown. Both the ferry and north beach are no more than 5 min walking from the hotel. Also in two blocks you are in Hidalgo street where the restaurants and bars are. So you are close to have fun, but far to do not be disturbed with the noise. Hotel Xbulu-Ha has WiFi, beach towels and chair for the beach as complimentary service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Xbulu-Ha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing